GU Nissan Patrol brakes
Submitted: Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:06
Old Mal
My 2004 GU 4.2 Litre ST Turbo Diesel Nissan Patrol tray back ute's brakes have never seemed anywhere near as good as my old '60 series Landcruiser. I've had the Patrol 2 years and it's done 103,000 km and a recent brake check by Midas found pads, discs, servo etc ok and the brake fluid was changed as per servicing schedule. I find I've always had to "lean" on the brake pedal a lot harder than with the Landcruiser. Is this a common trait with Patrols or do I have a problem ? Maybe I'm getting weaker as I get older ?
Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:46
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:46
Hi Mal,
I assume that they're not ABS. I think it's a Patrol thing. They don't feel as strong as the Cruiser brakes and have a spongy feel, but surprisingly, will still pull up in good distance and in a straight line if laid on. All part of the feel.
Interestingly, I've just checked my front pads, and they're still about 50% after over 180,000. Replaced the back ones around 130,000, and bought both front and back pads at the time. So I have a new pack of front pads still sitting around waiting to go in. Nissan dealer wanted to replace them at 90,000.
Gerry
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:09
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:09
Mal,
I agree with Gerry, it is a Patrol thing.
Mine has ABS and the rear pads were changed for the first time at 330,000km. Amazing considering it has towed and been loaded to the eyeballs it's entire life. Front one's were replaced at 210,000km but still not been replaced a second time and it has 365,000km on the clock now.
Cheers, Trevor.
Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:44
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:44
Mate, if your pads are lasting that long then I suggest they're too bloody hard.. Maybe putting some softer ones on would make for a better "feel"... ;-)
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:48
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:48
Hi John,
I am not bothered by my feel and I would rather the pads be lasting as long as they are to be honest. If I stand on them they really pull me and the van up quite nicely in my opinion.
Cheers, Trevor.
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:54
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:54
GU Brake pads are hard and with that you would think that more disc wear would be normal, but it doesnt seem to be a real problem. My front were replaced at 150,000 and the rear at 200,000.. Not to bad.. Michael
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 14:39
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 14:39
I replaced my rotors and pads late last year. Fitted slotted DBA rotors and Ferodo pads. Seem to have much more feel now than before, but the brakes tend to work better when they are hot.....a bit like a race car.
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 20:25
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 20:25
Those are the brake parts whioch gave me all the grief last year. Things have settled down though and no more grease is leaking out....maybe its all gone.... lol
Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:39
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:39
Yeh, Willem, dunno what you've done there, but I've re-packed my front bearings several times and never had an issue. Have found the grease seals damaged more often that not, so have made it a rule to change the seals regardless (Nissan would charge me for them if they did the bearings, anyway).
Gerry
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:52
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:52
G'day Gerry
Iy was
well docuented on the
forum late last year. New bearings, new rotors, new brake pads. All fitted by local mechanic. Eventually there was a littlke disagreement between me and the Mechanics boss and there our association came to an abrupt end.
'Nother respected outback mechanic reckons the seals could have been fitted the wrong was around. My thohgts are that the new rotors and brake pads were incompatible, caused excessive friction, heated up and melted grease. Anyway, have been on a few trips, parts are worn down a bit and it all seems to have settled down