The cost of helping out

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 15:30
ThreadID: 60352 Views:3369 Replies:8 FollowUps:2
Started cleaning up the gear from the trip out to Innamincka. I haven't had any weekends off since I got back. Pulled all the gear out to clean and repack an discovered my snatch strap is stuffed.

When we were almost home from the trip, came upon an old Holden broken down on Victoria Pass on the western side of the Blue Mountains. Cars backed up as it was on the very narrow section of the old convict bridge (1 Lane each way).
I supplied the tow gear & a truck towed the young girl & her car to the top. When they arrived, I was in the servo getting some drinks so the car was unhooked when I came out. The truckle handed me the strap all rolled up. When I pulled it out last night, about a 1.5 m from the end was a BIG cut where it had been run over.
I will still help other people out, BUT, it would have been nice if someone had said" we had a bit of a problem" I would have said forget it. But it would have been nice to be told.

Vince

Reply By: Member - shane (SA) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 16:21

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 16:21
hi mate. it could be that they were not familiar with the problem of driving on a snatch strap or the damage that can be caused buy not using it probably. most people would not be able to tell the difference between a snatch and a tow strap so would not think anything of it.
cheers Shane.
AnswerID: 318318

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 16:58

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 16:58
They can be restitched, it will only be a little bit shorter. Don't know who does it near you but someone else on here should be able to help with an address.
AnswerID: 318325

Reply By: kiwicol - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 17:32

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 17:32
my snatch strap tag says never use as a tow rope, also learnt that at a 4wd club. Col
AnswerID: 318331

Follow Up By: disco driver - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 18:57

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 18:57
So does mine ,and I did learnt that too.

But what if it is the ONLY option?

Do you just p*ss off and leave the poor bugger to his/her own resources coz you don't want to get your strap dirty and maybe damaged or do you say "Poor bugger, I'll tow him/her out and worry about the strap later if necessary".

If it's the only option, I know I'd do the tow.

Disco.
FollowupID: 584800

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 19:51

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 19:51
No i wouldnt just bleep off, thats why i carry a tow rope as well as a snatch strap, i was just making comment as some people wouldnt be aware of it, and i have done my fair share of helping out where ever i have been able, and sometimes at a cost to me, but thats life. Col
FollowupID: 584806

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 19:07

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 19:07
Don't let it leave a nasty taste in mouth Vince, you did the right thing. The young lady would have appreciated your assistance and no doubt all the other motorists for being able to get on their way.
Truckies are pretty good blokes & maybe he was not aware of the damage. Nice to know there are blokes like you with the good old Aussie spirit.
AnswerID: 318354

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 20:02

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 20:02
Thats funny I got criticised a couple of days ago on this forum...topic was snatch straps.

I said if I came across someone stuck who did not have recovery gear I would charge them a fee for using my gear.

Some people thought it was wrong to charge for the use of my gear.

So how much out of pocket are you now?

AnswerID: 318366

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:04

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:04
Hi Vince........

Our mutual friends Geoff and Jo said you're a good bloke and there you are proving them right!!!!!! LOL..... Good on you mate for helping out! Shame about the strap, but the good deed will outweigh the cost of the strap in years to come!

Cheers & thumbs up!

AnswerID: 318382

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:36

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:36
When we were in the Territory, going back home from a day out at Kings Canyon via the Merinee Loop Road it started to rain, and as you know rain in the top end / Alice can swell rivers pretty quick. Well we winched a few people to safety that didn't make it across a river crossing (one lot who tried to cross after seeing us winch someone else out) and in that time the road turned to a river as well.
Anyway it was a nervous night in the back of the ute on a high bit of land on the side of the road waiting for the water level to go down (and hoping it wouldn't keep rising). We had our camping gear (ute with canopy was set up for sleeping in the back) so I lent my favorite shorts, some other clothing & sleeping bag to the other couple who seemed pretty cold and seemed not to have much with them. We gave them a lift into town the next day (I think their car was a bit drowned) and gave them our contact details but never saw our gear again.

I still remember them rolling up the sleeping bag and thinking/ hoping they were going to give it back. Guess I should have asked for it, but really you shouldn't have to. Those sort of things are always a bit disappointing.

Anyway no bad feelings - just a vivid memory really and I would still do it again, after all it's only stuff that can be replaced.
AnswerID: 318420

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 00:59

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 00:59
Put it down to a life experience and buy another one.

AnswerID: 318424