Camping trailers

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 15:48
ThreadID: 60353 Views:5850 Replies:9 FollowUps:3
We are thinking of purchasing a hardfloored off road camper trailer, with a minimium of time consuming canvis to put up, but most if not all the options. I am drawn to the Kimberley & Aussie swag campers. I would appreciate all comments on their construction, dust & water proofing, wearability etc. We may even end up purchasing a second hand unit, are there any things we should look for. Thanks in advance for any and all replies.

Reply By: Kruzaman (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 16:07

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 16:07
Hi Lloyd
We had a track soft floor camper trailer which we sold and brought a Kimberley. We have found the Kimberley fantastic to use and no operation problems. It is fast to set up and pack away and practical. The only thing we have noticed is a lot less storage room in the Kimberley than the Track but other than that no other faults we have travelled around 10,000 k's in the Kimberley.
Cheers Lee & Nicole
AnswerID: 318316

Reply By: Member - nrb1748 (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 17:37

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 17:37
Lloyd Mac,

Following a lot of research, we purchased an Aussie Swag Rover LX two years ago. The decision was based on solid construction, top quality components, attention to detail, the kitchen design and plenty of stowage space. We have now travelled over 20,000 km including some very rough country with the AS and no problems at all. It takes a few set ups and pack ups to become familiar with the unit. We are really happy with the AS.

nrb1748
nrb1748

AnswerID: 318333

Reply By: Geoff M (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 18:44

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 18:44
In that level of camper I might suggest you take a look at Australian Off Road Campers Odyssey models.

I've no affiliation, just a happy customer who looked at the two you mention before we bought ours.

AnswerID: 318348

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 18:56

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 18:56
An excellent choice, another worth looking at would be the Pioneer Argyle or Onyx range.
FollowupID: 584799

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 19:22

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 19:22
I'll back up Geoff M's words about the Odyssey.
Lots of storage space and the kitchen is great too.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 584803

Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 19:34

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 19:34
G'day Lloyd,

I too looked at the KK's however, after a recommendation from this site also went and looked at the Pioneer C/T. I hadn't looked at the Pioneer C/T so I decided to wander off and check them out. I was very impressed with them so ended up ordering the Pioneer Onyx camper and must say I have been very pleased with it. It is very well engineered and built extremely tough to handle severe off road travel. I think what changed my mind about purchasing a KK (and I must admit KK's are a very nice camper) was the weight and the $$$$$ differences.

The Pioneer is worth a look. There was an Onyx for sale in the trader section however, I've noticed that someone has snapped it up because it was a bargain at the price the owner was asking.

Good luck in your search. There are heaps of very helpful threads on this site on what to look for and how to make a decision when purchasing a camper trailer and well worth a read.

AnswerID: 318357

Reply By: Member - SNAKE QLD - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:00

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:00
Hi Lloyd Mac,I have had a Pioneer Argyle for over 12 months and Im very happy with it,very well built and takes anything I give it.A dream to tow also.Cheers mate and happy camping. Snake
AnswerID: 318381

Follow Up By: Rocky_QLD - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 07:01

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 07:01
Gotta agree with Snake, we too have had our Argyle for just over 12 months, excellent unit.

Rocky
FollowupID: 584885

Reply By: Member - Au-2 - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:07

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:07
Lloyd M, I third the AORC Odyssey, can't be beaten off road and on.
You might also try the My Swag site which is mostly for C.T. travellers/owners.

http://myswag.org/forum/

Sheila.
AnswerID: 318384

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 00:41

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 00:41
I am also a VERY happy owner of a Pioneer Argyle SE camper trailer.Very well built and very quick to put up---3 minutes without the annexe.I have been across the top and up to Cape York and recently around Tassie with no problems---definately one to look at.
AnswerID: 318422

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 14:57

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 14:57
I try to avoid giving brand recommendations as its horses for courses... but in our personal opinin the best hardfloor offroad camper that suits a family that we've seen in all our travels is the Camprite TL8 - made in WA, so not sure if you've seen one. We don't currently own a camper trailer but if we ever do it would would be the Camprite (we regularly do trips with friends that have one so very familiar with it as our kids are in it all the time!). The Ultimate on the other hand looks like a very good CT for a couple but too much extra canvas to setup for more people. Good luck!
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 318518

Reply By: GaryW - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 21:23

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 21:23
We have an Aussieswag - fantastic camper. The slideout swing around kitchen is their main unique feature. A strong off road camper.

We took ours across the Simpson in 2004.

Would thoroughly recommend them.
AnswerID: 319263