Toyota Oil Filters

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 20:50
ThreadID: 60368 Views:10606 Replies:18 FollowUps:14

As to keep the warranty for my new motor i must use genuine oil and fuel filters for the duration,does anyone know where i possibly could buy maybe a 6 pack or so of them to get them a bit cheaper as i think it is theft for OEM stuff like this.trade they want $44 each! OUCH i guess i am too used to using the sakura ones for $13 each.i still have a few of them but they will have to wait until the warranty has expired.any leads would be appreciated (none on EBAY!) cheers Paul

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 20:57

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 20:57
Try ebay. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 318377

Follow Up By: TD100 - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:02

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:02
Tried that Steve,nothing there.
FollowupID: 584833

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:04

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:04
Yeah just had a look myself, I have seen them on there from time to time. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 584835

Reply By: donk - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:05

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:05
Whrere are you located

Regards Don
AnswerID: 318383

Follow Up By: TD100 - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:41

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:41
i am in melbourne Don,S/E suburbs
FollowupID: 584847

Reply By: donk - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:27

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:27
When the 1HZ first came out in 1990 the dealership i was working at had lots of complaints over the cost of oil filters compared to a non genuine alternative that looked exactly the same but was less than 1/2 the cost (customers said they were a identical filter)

We bought a non gen one & cut it apart & compared it to a genuine that we had cut & they were completly different inside & on seeing the difference you would never fit the non genuine

The non genuine filter was a traditional pleated full flow filter compared to a genuine that has both a full flow element & a bypass element inside & the full flow element was aranged radiating from the centre of the filter so it had a larger amount of paper than the traditional method

I will have a look at the genuine pricing tomorrow & see if the $44 is on the mark

Regards Don
AnswerID: 318388

Follow Up By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:33

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:33
Donk,(and TD 100)
Refer below. I concur. Not all filters are made equal! They may LOOK the same, but inside they are NOT!

Yougetswhatyoupayfor!

Cheers, Matt
FollowupID: 584844

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:15

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:15
Heres a cutaway of the Toyota diesel filter in question:
FollowupID: 584872

Reply By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:29

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:29
TD 100,
Mate, you might be stuck with having to buy genuine. I have 2 diesel Prado's in the family and refuse to use anything but Toyota filters. Mine are $35 each - changed every 5000km. The dealer gives them to me for "trade" price, because I say "thats what I was quoted over the phone".

As for "geniune" oil - well, they stuck some Shell product in it, but it was available aftermaket so I buy the same brand, weight, etc.
I was quoted $220 - $250 through a Toyota dealer for an oil and filter change, so I continue do it myself for ~$70.

If you are uncomfortable with this, I suggest going to somewhere like Ultratune who do log book servicings that are recognised by manufacturers warrantees - at a fraction of the cost.

I mentioned on this forum several months ago about my dissatisfaction with dealer servicings, and that still stands.

Remember, companies such as Ultratune (and I'm ONLY using them as an example in this case), rely on repeat business, whereas the major "brand name" dealers dont give a toss - their money is made in SELLING new cars - despite what they may say otherwise. In other words, they dont give a toss whether your car is serviced properly or not, especially if its under warantee!

Cheers, Matt
AnswerID: 318389

Follow Up By: donk - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:41

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:41
As someone who has worked at various toyota dealers continuously since 1982 i do care how well you car is serviced

Mistakes do happen (we are all human) but no dealership i have worked at (i have worked at a lot as we are on the road full time) has the attitude you have described

Regards Don
FollowupID: 584848

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 22:09

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 22:09
Hi Donk......
You must have in the dealerships when they had good blokes working in them.
I worked in 3 dealerships when I finished my apprenticeship (in a service station) all 3 were very shonky and one of them told me I had to make the vehicles last only 3 months. I was the used car mechanic. I was that appaled after seeing numerous cars come back because I had to reuse gaskets and scrounge around the workshop for dodgy parts, I left the trade.
My hilux dropped the layshaft bearing at 70000 kms was repaired under warranty. Box blew up after 50 000kms. Cost 4 grand to replace. I was not around to have a look but I was told that the inside of the box was destroyed due to not being put back together correctly.
Now my nissan has had loads of warranty issues for which I have had to repair things after I have picked it up. Only because I was on a dirt track somewhere and was not going back to the dealership in a hurry.
One example was I went to use my winch after the third bullbar cracked under warranty. Whinch would not work? I pulled of the front cover and the power was not even connected.
I have never had the Nissan service by a dealership and do them myself, but I do insist on putting in nissan oil and filters.
I would never trust any dealership to do any of the work on one of my vehicles again. You have been lucky that other "technicians" have cared.
And you are a rare breed to care.
FollowupID: 584855

Follow Up By: Splits - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 22:42

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 22:42
I agree with you Don. I have worked for three Toyota dealers plus two Holden and one Ford with one of them also selling Renault, Peugeot and Alfa Romeo. All of them made every effort to do services properly.

One of the Toyota dealers was located near a long hill on a freeway leading out of a capital city. During every holiday period, without fail, we would get a few overheated and overloaded Toyotas with blown head gaskets towed in off the freeway. The story was always the same: upwards of 80,000 ks on the clock, every service in the book completed by a dealer until the warranty expired then either a few services from small workshops or nothing at all after that.

The problem was always a restricted or blocked radiator. The service book said change the engine coolant and it looked like that is all the small workshops did. Our regular customers never had these problems because we would add cleaning chemicals to the system before commencing major services then later on remove all hoses and the thermostat and reverse flush the entire system with compressed air and water. The system was pressure tested, the radiator condition and flow rate was checked along with the condition of all hoses and it was refilled with the correct coolant.

Non genuine oil filters, the subject of this thread, were another problem, particularly with the 18R engine. I replaced many rattling and badly worn timing chains. Most were on traded in cars while the occassional one was from a non regular customer. It was common to find the little oil jet that lubricates the chain rectricted with particles of one particular and very popular brand of non genuine filter. I can't remember ever seeing this happen to our regular customers because we always used genuine filters.

As someone once said, you get what you pay for and that does not always apply to parts only.

FollowupID: 584861

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 13:54

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 13:54
You will also find a dealer will look for known faults when the service a vehicle, a backyarder may still find the problem...when it's to late and from a cheap rectification it becomes an expensive repair.

We spend about $15000 a year on being members to different industry organisations and staff training locally and interstate.....find a home handy man or backyarder who does that!

So yes there is a big difference in who does what.
FollowupID: 584948

Reply By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:37

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:37
Get one for 44 bucks. Hide it in garage. Keep use Repco or Burson ones. Should (unlikely) any problem arise, put “proper” one and drive to Toyota.

Serg
AnswerID: 318391

Reply By: Member - sdr00y (Beecroft) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:42

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:42
TD100,

try another Toyota dealer, if that is another option.

I am lucky living here in Sydney there are a few to choose from. I visited the closest one to my place and was quoted $45.59 per oil filter for my 4.2d troopy. Drove 4 km down the road and visited my usual dealer and paid $32.51 for the oil filter.

Fuel filter $71.52 vs $51.00
Fuel filter element $31.28 vs $22.31

As I bought 2 oil filters, and 1 of each fuel filter (mine has 2 fuel filters) I saved myself $44.17 by driving 4km down the road to a different Toyota dealer.

Sounds like you want to buy your stuff in bulk, you mentioned buying 6 oil filters, so it could be worth while trying a different dealer or seeing if they will post a bulk order to you if you ring a dealer in a major city.

sdr00y
SD

AnswerID: 318392

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:53

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:53
Hi Paul,
If it's any consolation, Nissan filter prices are just as outrageous.
Re the Sakura filters, I've used them and prior to fitting one, I found a nasty shaving of metal on the thread of the filter (didn't part during the thread machining process), which, if undetected, would have found its way into the guts of the engine.
Gerry
AnswerID: 318395

Reply By: donk - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:56

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:56
A lot of people say it was only a oil & filter change but when i do a basic service i always check all the lights & wipers are working,check all the seatbelts are working correctly,lube the door hinges & door & bonnet locks,clean the air filter & empty the dust bowl,fill the washer bottle,check all the belts & ajust if needed,check all the underbonnet levels,check the battery levels & top up if needed,check & clean the battery terminals ,clean the aircond pollen filter if fitted,remove the wheels & check the brake pads,check all the driveline levels (sometime you have to remove underbody covers to get to everything) ,grease all the nipples,check the unis for play,check all the driveshaft bolts & nuts,check tyre pressures including the spare (a bugger to get to when the boot is full of stuff) ,check all the tyres for damage & for nails,check the brake & clutch fluid condition with a electronic tester,drain the fuel sedimenter,clean the accumulated dust & mud of the oinside of the rims,have a good look underneath from front to rear,drain the oil,replace the filter,degrease all the stuff that the engine oil ran over when the filter was removed,replace the sticker,degrease the engine,road test the thing & all of this takes around a hour sepending on what type of vehicle it is & how many extra's are fiitted that get in the way (extra batterys,etc) & give it to the detailer to wash,chamois & vacuum

As you can see even a basic service takes time to do even if you find nothing wrong with it & this is why it costs $220 to $250 to do a oil & filter change

Regards Don
AnswerID: 318396

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 20:32

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 20:32
Hi Don, I have worked for Toyota and mate you deserve mechanic of the year. I know for sure as sh#t that there was a certain dealer ship That was

"up on the hoist, mmm never been off road, come on guys we have another 30 to get out the door, has this thing been off road ??? Na drop it down wont need wheel bearings repacking, diff oil changed or gear box as it hasn't been off road park out the front and grab that hilux next will ya "

Saw this over a 4 year period. I wasn't a mechanic but worked next to them fitting aircons etc so saw it all also (pre delivery manager). The only time my wife's car or the old lux went there was when my mate was still working there. As he has left now neither of my cars will ever be driven in that dealers driveway. You are one of the few who obviously does his job properly and gives a sh#t and good on you for that. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 585041

Follow Up By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 20:44

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 20:44
Don,
Sorry mate, that dog wont hunt. The price I was quoted was for a 75,000km LOG BOOK service.
And I quote from my Toyota Warantee & Service book:

* Replace engine oil
* inspect the following - air filter.

THAT IS IT! Nothing more. Do you think Toyota mechanics are going to do more than have too? No, because time is money! If Bloggs spends 2 hours doing this service instead of the 30mins allowed, do you reckon he'll have a job next week? Nup.

When I service my own car, I check more than I have too - it's been ingrained in me after 18.5 years as an Aircraft Technician to "spot the obvious".

My comments aren't spwaned from heresay mate, why? Read on:

My wife's Prado had its 35,000km service stamped for by a major dealer. When I checked, the oil was still black and the air filter cover (ibcluding the release clips) were still coated in an undisturbed layer of dust. When questioned, my "service was promptly carried out with no questions asked - and a new oil filter included for nix.

Secondly, my Prado went in for it's major 80,000Km ($700 worth) and when I checked post service I found; engine oil not changed (black), oil filter not changed, fuel filter not replaced and brake fluid all over the underside front end of the car. Again, when questioned, the rest of service was carried out and I received a free loan car for the day!

As for service bullitens and recalls, either Toyota send me a letter iinforming me, or I ask the mech's what other work needs to be done. They are obliged to carry this work out whether your car is booked in for a service or not.

No doubt there a good and bad mechanics working at dealers, but if I served up the same crap to my customers as i have outlined above - I wouldn't have job!

Each to his own.

Matt
FollowupID: 585043

Follow Up By: donk - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 21:14

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 21:14
Matt

I agree that you have been badly treated by dealerships in the past but to say that dealerships as a whole dont give a toss how well your vehicle is serviced isn't a valid comment

You have had bad experiences in the past but let me assure you there are good dealerships with staff that have pride in the work they do & don't cut corners with servicing

Regards Don

FollowupID: 585050

Follow Up By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 21:38

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 21:38
Don,
it goes past just the incidents I have had with dealers this year mate. The company I work for gets it's fleet vehicles serviced by the same dealer that did mine, and now after many problems that have been encountered with this dealer with respect to scheduled servicings, the company is likely to switch dealers. I'm looking for my 4th Adelaide dealer at the moment who may be able to provide the service that I PAY for.

If you can recommend a dealer here in Adelaide that will do the right thing, please let me know! Until then, I'll continue to service both my Toyota Prados myself.

I stand by my previous coments, so I guess we'll have to agree to disagree. By the way, your more than welcome to service my Prado's if your down this way. It appears your type are a rare breed!

Cheers, Matt.
FollowupID: 585055

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 22:27

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 22:27
Can buy a box of 10 genuine oil filters for $300 from a Toyota dealer on Ebay.
Link here
AnswerID: 318402

Reply By: donk - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:05

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:05
This is a link showing how the filter paper is arranged in the later toyota filters

By aranging the paper in this way compared to the traditional the filter can be small with a large paper surface area

Site Link

Regards Don
AnswerID: 318414

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 00:55

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 00:55
Dead simple.

Go to Lane Toyota Spares on Springvale Road, Mulgrave and ask for:

(a) 10 pack of filters

(b) 10 pack of sump plug washers

(c) trade price for the lot

and receive a nice surprise re the price.

Has to the 10 pack deal to get a good price.

AnswerID: 318423

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 15:07

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 15:07
We bought in bulk a couple of years ago from Toyota at Toowoomba. Have our last one spare in the draw now. Try getting your mechanic to buy at trade price. For god sake pay the extra. Also use genuine coolant.
AnswerID: 318520

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 16:47

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 16:47
Ballarat Toyota often advertise in their local paper for 'specials' on filters at GREAT prices.

I got a copy of this, took it to my local Toyota dealer and asked them to match the price. They did so reluctantly, so I bought enough to last ...quite...a while.

CHeers,

AnswerID: 318534

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 18:33

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 18:33
there is two toyota filters available one imported and 1 aussie made one is $40 one is $10
AnswerID: 318552

Follow Up By: donk - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:59

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:59
There is only one filter to suit this engine sold by toyota australia & that is a 90915 30002 made in japan (denso brand) with a retail price of approx $42 and a trade price of approx $36

Regards Don
FollowupID: 585029

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 20:22

Reply By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 12:47

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 12:47
Ballarat Toyota and Tumut toyota often advertise in the 4x4 trader mags and sell a 10 pack for $260 or so. they advertise with other crap and new engines. It would be worth ringing them and getting a quote faxed to you and that way your local toyota dealer should match it. I did this with a brand new 1HZ engine for a customer. they faxed me a quote and my local dealer matched it.
AnswerID: 318632

Reply By: Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 12:55

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 12:55
I buy mine from Neil at roodogspares:

Roodogs [sales_roodogs4wd@bigpond.com]

You might need to specify Toyota but I know he stocks them and is a great guy, great service, great price.
AnswerID: 318634

Reply By: donk - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 18:20

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 18:20
What i don't understand is it sounds like you are only going to fit genuine while the engine is under warranty (12 months) & then go back to the cheaper non genuine after this

In this time the average person will do around 20,000 klms which is 2 oil filter changes & 1 fuel filter change

You have probably spent somewhere around $12.000 on the new engine & pump (plus abour to fit them) so why are you worrying about trying to save a few dollars on discounted genuine filters

Regards Don
AnswerID: 318669