Public Showers

Submitted: Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 11:53
ThreadID: 60389 Views:11323 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
Anyone know of public showers in preferably Moree, Goondiwindi, or Warwick?? They MUST be CLEAN and tidy, and reasonably economical. At a pinch showers in Bourke or Walgett, might be possible, but that would be last resort. Showers at caravan parks will be okay. It would be nice if there were two or more shower stalls, 'cause there is a few of us!!!
While we are on the subject, there is a Public Toilet map Of Australia, BUT is there such a thing for showers????

Reply By: Vivid Adventures - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 12:01

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 12:01
Goondi - not free, but there are showers in the BP(?) servo next to Maccas. There is a carwash across the road if you're really dirty.

There is a Caravan Park on the hwy in Boggabilla that is pretty relaxed and would probably be happy to give you a shower for a bob or two... and there is certainly, I think, a couple of van parks in Goondi.
AnswerID: 318496

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 12:36

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 12:36
Go to the Artesian Spa in Moree and then have a hot(or cold) shower afterwards. Baths are 35, 38 asnd 40 degrees as I recall.

Walgett has showers at the swimming pool

Brewarrina has showers and toilets in the Main Street.

In fact many towns have some sort of facility like that.
AnswerID: 318499

Reply By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 12:50

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 12:50
Goondi,
Hot free shower in the aquatic reserve (where they ski when there is enuff water). New clean building. Room to park. Good place for a lunch stop too. Turn away from town at the big roundabout then first left, it is signposted.
AnswerID: 318501

Reply By: Ron173 - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 13:00

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 13:00
Be very vigilant with your gear in Moree.

Dont leave anything unattended even in daylight,

a brief look at the armoury on the average house windows should confirm this.
AnswerID: 318504

Follow Up By: Member - Damien F (QLD) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 17:45

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 17:45
That's the first thing the manager of the caravan park said to us when we stopped for the night a few months ago.
FollowupID: 584987

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:54

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:54
Showers at Shell Boggabilla, BP Gondiwindi, Catex Truckport Goondiwindi........ None that I know of in Moree. If you fuel up (good idea if you are northbound as QLD fuel heaps cheaper) you would be welcommed by most operators.

Happy trials.
Trevor.
AnswerID: 318566

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:57

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:57
Not a couple of weeks ago... Surprisingly Moree was cheaper than Goondi...
FollowupID: 585026

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 20:00

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 20:00
BLIMEY!!! first time I have ever seen that and I have been through there a few times.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 585030

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 20:04

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 20:04
Yep - that is what I said. "Bugger" because I had spent $400+ at Goondi... and despite the 8c a litre rebate from the Qld Gov.
FollowupID: 585031

Reply By: Diamantina - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 15:56

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 15:56
Thanks alot everyone!!
We're pobably heading south next week to SA, and then back again a week later.
When we went to Adelaide at the end of June and came back up the Birdsville Track, we were suprised how cheap fuel was, after everyone saying how expensive it was. If I remember right it was no more than, and I think maybe just under $2/l in both Leigh Creek and Birdsville - we were prepared for up to $2-30/l. Overall there was much less difference between QLD and the other states than we were expecting.
AnswerID: 318655