Cost of living 2008 for these Pensioners

Submitted: Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 18:21
ThreadID: 60398 Views:3819 Replies:9 FollowUps:27
Post 60375 'How much money do you need 'got me thinking about the cost of living and so in a moment of escape from the cold outside, I wrote it down

Pensioner Income for Couple 2007/2008 $21,654
(We have no debt)

Where the money goes:
Rates 474
Dog Rego 18
Nissan GQ Rego 400
Nissan GQ 3rd Party Property Ins 95
Nissan Xtrail Rego 457
Nissan Xtrail 3rd Party Prop Ins 70
2 x Trailer Rego 100
House Ins 330
Phone Landine/2 Mobil/Sat 2000
Internet & website 650
Food inc Alcohol 6000
Power 700
Water 400
Fuel x 2 cars x 30,000km 5000
House & vehicle repairs/service 2000

Balance left over 2960
Small nest egg investments and odd jobs bring in a little more.

Life's good

Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 18:26

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 18:26
I am a bit short at the moment.....can I borrow 3K??? I know you have it spare :):)

AnswerID: 318549

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 18:31

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 18:31
LOL, your a cheeky bugga.......
FollowupID: 585002

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:34

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:34
Better go to the bank, Stephan as my interest rate is unaffordable...lol
FollowupID: 585017

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 18:36

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 18:36
Good on you Willem for putting that up. It just reinforces that you can adjust your living costs to fit your income if you be prudent with how you spend your money, and more importantly, continue to do the things you like to do, as you obviously do. Good luck to you.

Just an observation, but if you were to cease drinking water & put the $400 into Alcohol would seem a better option to me. LOL. Cheers
AnswerID: 318553

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:39

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:39
But thats only 8 bottles of Scotch!!!!....lol

FollowupID: 585019

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 08:48

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 08:48
$400 = 8 bottles of Scotch? That is expensive tastes Bro on $50 bottles.

You said the other day you weren't good on maths, but that is extravagance. LMAO
FollowupID: 585090

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 17:11

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 17:11
Bro

Johnny Walker $54

Semetimes you can get 2 for $50 when there are specials on.(Not JW though)

VB this arvo was $40 for slab of 24

You fellas who live near the big centres get stuff cheap. Here on the edge of the outback we pay more for everything. Further out you don't want to know.....LOL

FollowupID: 585163

Reply By: Member - Axle - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:14

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:14
Well!!, Wot ya saying is i'm in the black, BUT!!, one small F@@ up might change that!!. Bit like being in business in 2008!....LOL.

AnswerID: 318557

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:38

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:38
Yeah...Murphy came to visit this arvo. I arrived home from town and missus was in garden. She decided to close the gate. Gate is welded steel frame with corrugated iron covering. Gust of wind took the gate out of her hands and ripped the bottom hinge out. Had to take all the iron off, straighten the steel and then weld a new hinge on. Luckily I had all the gear and it didn't cost anything.

FollowupID: 585018

Reply By: Lotzi - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:14

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:14
That means you have $60.00 left over pw, with odd jobs, that means party at your place )))))
Lotzi
AnswerID: 318558

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:41

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:41
Always a party here.

People coming and going...lots of ExplorOz mob drop in or stay over on their way past.

:-)
FollowupID: 585021

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:58

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:58
That's why you are what I think of as the "Grand Pa" of this sight!!

I hope to be one of those visitors one day & I now know to bring a bottle of holy water to help liven up the yarn around the camp fire. Cheers.
FollowupID: 585027

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 20:34

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 20:34
Ahhh Barry...methinks you and I are of the same vintage or so I deducted from an earlier post....lol There are more senior fellas here on this site. We are but babes in the wood...lol

Holy water, White Lightning or Barbed Wire is always welcome around here :-)

FollowupID: 585042

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 21:34

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 21:34
why does the x trail cot less to register? from memory SA rego goes on cylinders so the 6 should cost more?
AnswerID: 318585

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 07:12

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 07:12
Davoe

GQ cost less to register as I get Pensioners Concession. Normally rego is about $550.
FollowupID: 585075

Reply By: Paul Grabonski. Vic - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 21:39

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 21:39
my folk with the stock market going down are managing to live on their pension of $56k a year down from $61.5k a year. They are doing it pretty tough and are hoping the investments dont go down much
AnswerID: 318586

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 11:31

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 11:31
Doing it tough on $56k a year???

Cheers......Borgy
FollowupID: 585109

Follow Up By: Krakka - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 13:15

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 13:15
Well they may have financial commitments Borgy. Not every one is debt free.
Cheers Krakka.

P.S. 56K is not a lot of money in todays world
FollowupID: 585123

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 13:30

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 13:30
Krakka
I wasn't aware that i had directed the question at you?? Im sure Paul can answer the question himself, People who continuosly answer questions that dont concern them annoy the bleep out of me!!

Borgy
FollowupID: 585124

Follow Up By: Krakka - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 17:48

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 17:48
Correct me if I am wrong, KING BORGY. This is a PUBLIC forum. If I or anybody else wishes to contribute, I don't see a problem.
If you wish for a private answer, send Paul a Member Message.
I know people struggling o 300K, The bigger the income, quite often is followed with bigger financial commitment.

Regards Krakka
FollowupID: 585171

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 18:41

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 18:41
Thanks for the KING comment wanker...yes this is a public Forum as you put it , but i still fail to see how my question was directed at you...why do people like you persist in jumping to the defense of someone you probably dont even know??? is it a feel good thing or something?? please enlighten me oh Mr KRAKKA!!
FollowupID: 585183

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 18:42

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 18:42
Actually dont bother , i cant be bleep ed talking to a wanker like yourself
FollowupID: 585184

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 18:45

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 18:45
>why do people like you persist in jumping to the defense of
>someone you probably dont even know???

I think it's because you come across as a bully.

FollowupID: 585185

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 18:51

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 18:51
Cool down Fellahs!! I'am of the opinion that it is a public forum and therefore do not need an invitation to respond by way of comment to a post or a follow up. Thought that was what it was all about actually?
A shouting match wont solve much, but then again it is a bit of entertainment on an otherwise quite night. LOL,Cheers & good wishes to you both.
FollowupID: 585188

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 19:00

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 19:00
Harding

Coming from a tosser like you , i'll take that as a compliment
FollowupID: 585190

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 19:18

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 19:18
Yes... I suspected it's something you would be proud of.
FollowupID: 585195

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 19:31

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 19:31
Harding

Just having a quick look through the archives , i actually find it amusing that you call me a bully......HYPOCRITE!!
FollowupID: 585200

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 21:49

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 21:49
I got this at a another webb site....it's from a person called Pelbo

Please don't give people the wrong impression you need to be a millionaire to enjoy this lifestyle.

YOU DON'T

We have manged this lifestyle being self funded for less than $400,000 in our funds.

We spent quite a bit of money in the last two years adding things to our van, such as $2,500 for a Webasto heater, $500 for extra spare wheel, and another few thousand on smaller things we founde we needed. Plus the money we lost in selling our new Pajero and buying a Pathfinder to tow the weight of our new van. That cost $20,000 to change over.

Plus we have private health cover. Plus we had all 3 kids get married. Plus airfares to visit all 3 kids scattered over Oz.

We don't go out to dinner at restaurants very much, but don't want to - my wife and I are better cooks than most restaurants. My Lobster Morney is the best you would ever have. We also enjoy a beer and a glass of wine every night. We do most museums and paid entry tourist trips. Even the $95 per head boat trip in Tasmania. Oh! And of course, our expenses included shipping over to Tasmania and back.

We have done it all for less than $36,000 per year for the last 2.5 years. We do bush camp most of the time. And from now on, we dont have any more wedding expenses!

We are not due to draw a pension for another 4 years. We aim to have enough cash left in super to suppliment our pension income to keep life comfortable. Keep in mind you don't need a lot of capital to die! You can spend some of it before you cark it. If your goal in life, to be considered successful, is to leave your kids a million bucks each, then my plan can't help you. If I get it close, my kids will have just enough money to bury us. One of my super funds I kept going was because there is a death insurance fund included to cover our funerals. Because of cancer, I cant get any other insurance to cover it!

Right now, with the market slump, we have lost 3 years supply of super. (My financial adviser made a big mistake - have a new one now). So we are sitting still and surviving on just $20,000 per annum. Yes, I may have to go to work next year if the market continues to slide. But just for one year. Until our funds are back up to where they almost were.

So you CAN enjoy this lifestyle without being too wealthy!
Don't let the doom merchants put you off. You only get one chance at life. I try to live by this poem, which I have 'published' here before:

The clock of life is wound but once
And no man has the power
To tell just when the hands will stop
At late or early hour.
Now is the only time you own.
Live, love and toil with a will.
Place no faith in time.
For the clock may soon be still.

They have been on the road for some time and doing OK.....so are lot's of others
AnswerID: 318587

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 18:50

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 18:50
I like his poem - I'll add this quote to it:

---------
I hate a Roman named Status Quo! Stuff your eyes with wonder, live as if you’d drop dead in ten seconds. See the world. It’s more fantastic than any dream made or paid for in factories. Ask no guarantees, ask for no security, there never was such an animal. And if there were, it would be related to the great sloth which hangs upside down in a tree all day every day, sleeping its life away. To hell with that, shake the tree and knock the great sloth down on his ass.

Ray Bradbury - 1954 - Fahrenheit 451
---------
FollowupID: 585187

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 00:01

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 00:01
I luv reading this stuff cause I have 'almost arrived' at this stage in life and have wondered how its all going to pan out especially when you take the following into account:

May 08 - wiped out the front suspension on the Troopy.

Jul 08 - wiped out the front suspension on the Troopy again (kid you not - lasted 6 weeks), however did a proper job this time and bent the diff housing like a banana.

Bit of a residual bend from the first time I think/hope. (LOL)

Both times included a front right wheel, HOWEVER! get this you COOPER critics.

Never marked the COOPER STT and both times the licenced repairers couldn't get an Ins claim for a new one because there was absolutley nothing adverse to be found to claim on.

If you saw the wheel/s, your first thoughts would be - the tyre must be gone - but not on your life. More lifes than a black cat.

Only thing now is I think I will be paying a $30,000 insurance premium which means I am going to have to stay working until I can afford to retire. according to the figures quoted above.

AnswerID: 318598

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 07:49

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 07:49
Lucy baby

You are still rushing to get everywhere.

Slow down and a lot less will go pearshaped.....lol

When you want to retire you have to consolidate your assets, decide what you really want to do for the rest of your life and then live with the decision.

The poem above in this thread is a true reminder of life.

FollowupID: 585079

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 14:53

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 14:53
Would you believe that both of these happenings/events took place at night involving a wash out/deep drain on the side of a hill, a spoon drain, all in the middle of no where at very low speed.

Its the 3tonne impact on the suspension/wheels that have come to a sudden stop that causes the ugly stuff.

I am just going to have to stop this 'night travel' stuff as I obviously can't see the contours of the terrain as well as I once could until 'sudden impact' tells me I missed something. (LOL)

Plus it's an exensive way of driving - by touch.

FollowupID: 585136

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 17:09

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 17:09
Ms Lucy, you are excusing yourself with night as a reason, despite you carry enough lighting to dim Broken Hill when you charge your batteries?

The servos up there must enjoy your visits too. Towing, lighting the district all help your frequent flyer points total.
FollowupID: 585160

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 19:55

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 19:55
Hey John, I reckon you're on the right track....it's all to do with lighting (or lack thereof). It's a well known fact that Lucy does NOT have anywhere near enough lights for safe reliable night time travel!!!!! Maybe he should just stay home with his feet up and a blanky over his legs and watch re-runs of Coronation Street....hahaha
FollowupID: 585205

Reply By: wicket - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 14:49

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 14:49
Willem

I think you've made a mistake by making your budget public........if kev07 sees it you'll never get any more !
AnswerID: 318649

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 17:03

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 17:03
wicket I think you have made a mistake by posting crap.
FollowupID: 585159