New rates for Next G Telstra Data Packs

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 15:42
ThreadID: 60418 Views:4173 Replies:5 FollowUps:9
Travellers will be pleased to know that Telstra has reacted to some competition and of course, about plurry time.

You can download Pricing PDF which is a 6 page PDF. The worst case is a $5 one remaining the same with a 5mb download and $1 thereafter but the improvement is to the $10 pack now with a 150mb download, $0.50 thereafter and $29 pack with 300mb and $0.25.

You would need to call Telstra to proceed with any of these.

Hope soon the Next G other broadband plans will become more competitive soon instead of Telstra having me over a barrel every month.

Reply By: Dunaruna - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 16:14

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 16:14
THREE recon they are about 12 months away from giving telstra a serious kick in the butt. In the meantime, the piggyback download rates are a downright ripoff. I'm waiting and watching..................
AnswerID: 318656

Follow Up By: wheeleybin - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 16:38

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 16:38
Im not into phones although I have to have them but my grandson has a 3G or Next G thing with optus and he has wireless broadband to his laptop for $39.90 and gets 5GiG download.
How come Telstra cant do the same.
Wheeley
FollowupID: 585149

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 16:38

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 16:38
Will THREE be offering Next G?

FollowupID: 585150

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 16:59

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 16:59
Dunaruna, you have to look very hard to find a tower of theirs around my part of the world. The point by Duncs is valid too as all the Whirlpool forum coment is subscribers vacating them for the poor quality of service - overuse for the network.

Wheely, son't BIL has just taken on an Optus modem and broadband plan. The only data he can get at his home (SW suburban Melbourne) is on the Optus GSM network {:-(((( Has been advised to take it back. I agree with you on the charges and low download with Telstra, but their network DOES perform. As I said above, they have me over a barrel.
FollowupID: 585158

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 17:42

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 17:42
*Wheely, son't BIL has just taken on an Optus modem and broadband plan. The only data he can get at his home (SW suburban Melbourne) is on the Optus GSM network {:-(((( Has been advised to take it back. I agree with you on the charges and low download with Telstra, but their network DOES perform.*

Hiya John

Friend has Optus wireless modem for his clothing work,What a piece of crap,Disconnecting all the time etc etc and he live's halfway between Seaford and Frankston on Nepean Hwy.....

Yep Telstra are the ducks guts when it comes to connectivity but gee you hav to pay for it !

FollowupID: 585169

Follow Up By: Dunaruna - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 17:43

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 17:43
Duncs, they already have, it just called not called nextG.

John, Telstra got a massive head start because of the existing CDMA towers. 3 are working their little butts off trying to catch up. When they do, watch for the price war. Vodafone are also expanding their coverage. There is another issue here, when the 2100 networks are viable, there are heaps more phones to choose from.

Have you noticed that Telstra are signing up deals for 3 years? They want us locked in to contracts when the other 2 players make a move on the coverage.
FollowupID: 585170

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 18:07

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 18:07
Hi Duncs,
I can't see anyone else other than Telstra offering Next-G. Telstra own the license for the 850MHz frequency band, which has a significant distance advantage over the 3G 2GHz band. Since all other major operators have their own 3G networks, Telstra can't be said to have a monopoly on the 3rd-gen network, so I doubt if the ACA can force Telstra to wholesale out their network, so they hold the ace cards and charge accordingly.
Different with fixed lines, as Telstra virtually own the lot, and as a monopoly can be forced to wholesale out the lines to other operators.
Re their charges, there has been a lot written on Telstra's data charges, and Whirlpool has lots, esp on the outrageous costs with the new I-Phone (guess they're making the most of the gee-whiz factor and charging accordingly; eg, up to $1000/GB excess data, or might have been $2000). But Telstra seem to be getting away with these charges. Mind you, the other operators can also hit you with outrageous excess charges, too.
I'm in no hurry to get internet-connected for my travels, and my forays on the internet will have to wait till I get into a town to an internet cafe.
Gerry
FollowupID: 585179

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 20:30

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 20:30
Optus's new 3 G frequency is 900mhz so be careful when you buy a phone as most of them only work on one or the other.

EG a Nokia 6120 is an 850mhz Telstra phone whereas a

Nokia 6121 is a 900mhz Optus phone

Look exactly the same and even the sales people sometimes dont know the difference
FollowupID: 585215

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 15:32

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 15:32
"my grandson has a 3G or Next G thing with optus and he has wireless broadband to his laptop for $39.90 and gets 5GiG download. How come Telstra cant do the same."

Can you imagine how much money Telstra had to spend to install NextG in hundreds of basestations Australia-wide ?

Being a business not subsidised by the Govt to provide an essential community service, they have to collect money to pay for this investment.

You have the choice -
- pay low fees for a network with limited access.
- pay more for a network with wide availability.
FollowupID: 585475

Reply By: Notso - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 17:26

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 17:26
That'll do me, I was using the casual 80 mb plan for email whilst travelling, The $10.00 plan with 150Mb will be more than enough and let me do internet banking occasionally.

AnswerID: 318659

Reply By: Ray - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 19:54

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 19:54
We have a problem now that could have been avoided when Telstra were privatised. Telstra should be on the same playing field as the other carriers. The lines and other equipment should have been left in the hands of what used to be known as TELECOM and Telstra and the others pay TELECOM for the use of the lines and equipment, then we would have true competition
AnswerID: 318681

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 21:21

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 21:21
well,

G'day John,

this is one company that will get no more currency from me. I can do without nextg and if i am stuck for contact coverage, will use my satphone.

stuff telstra.

(sorry mate, not to constructive a response eh?)
AnswerID: 318699

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 22:14

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 22:14
I have the misfortune to have to rely on them, by virtue of location and need to keep modern comms. Sat phone included, sometimes.

The company has monopolist tendencies and screws people with their prices in my opinion. I have to deal with them and all of that, but of late I have found there are some in the company who can guide to a softer line sometimes. The structure of their plans makes it easier to decieve customers and have them fall into traps. There is not too much difference to their competitors.

Bushfix, I believe I am an ethical person and work with ethical people, buut that doesn't mean I can always do business with people equally as ethical. I understand where you can be coming from
FollowupID: 585234

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 17:28

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 17:28
Telstra is cheap! You should try Bgan,$10 a meg! :)
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 318812