Welding recommendation if you live in SE Melbourne

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 21:28
ThreadID: 60428 Views:2704 Replies:2 FollowUps:8
Gidday

I have one of those Aluminium shovel and axe holders attached to the back spare. Thought it would come to bits many years back, but it's hung on over the years.

However, a few cracks have appeared. I took it down to Darren this morning for a bit of re-welding. He did a great job, and a good fella to boot. His phone number is 0421332256.

Jim, if your out there I've decided to keep the camper trailer the way it is. Thanks for your help mate, and say Gidday to the missus for me.

I reckon small business is the way to go. Had some electical work done by a fella recently who's looked after the car for around two years now. Very clean job and never had a problem.

Kim

Reply By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 22:13

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 22:13
Hi Kim, Small business is the way to go!!!, I Agree, try and convince the government....LOL.

AnswerID: 318705

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 22:28

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 22:28
Axle

There's a fair bit of truth in that. More so than most people think.

The small business fella is given nothing, on the premise that 80% them will fail within 36 months.

More's the pity that if they do survive beyond that, nothing else is forthcoming in the way of Gov support.

Kim
FollowupID: 585236

Follow Up By: DIO - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 08:34

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 08:34
Many small family owned businesses are often under-rated when it comes to quality and performance. There are however many who have a dream and enter into ventures without adequate capital, poor planning, inappropriate advice and no business plan. Why should they receive government hand-outs?
FollowupID: 585254

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 10:38

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 10:38
For once DIO I have to agree with you.

A lot of businesses do fail because of poor planning, inappropriate advice and no business plan and lack of for sight.

A lot of new small business owners think the can start a business and under cut every one, this works for a short time but seeing they do not have the capital to purchase new equipment, hire new staff and keep up with the times they slowly fade away.

The government does offer a lot to small businesses help and advice but a lot of people think they know everything and never seek it.

Most business failures are from the stupidity of the owners.
FollowupID: 585264

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 12:21

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 12:21
I've worked in small businesses (engineering sector) for over 25 years. The main problem I've experienced with some owners is that a) they think they know everything so they are not receptive to the ideas of the people who work for them, b) they often involve their families (no offence intended here) in the decision making even though they don't have any industry knowledge, and C) they forget that they have a financial responsibility to their employees.

I work for a really good guy but I spend a lot of my time making sure he stays focused on our core business - providing value for money and getting the right money for our value. He's not a businessman.

Having said that, a lot are very good operators.
FollowupID: 585268

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 16:07

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 16:07
>Most business failures are from the stupidity of the owners.

Inexperience and a lack of understanding that a business, as a whole, requires more than their core, and usually technical, knowledge - I would prefer to say.

Additionally I think people underestimate the difficulty of establishing a customer base which will cover their basic costs (inexperience, again) and it's amazing how all those who, just a few months before, were saying "Great idea mate, that's exactly what this town needs" suddenly don't seem to need it any longer....

FollowupID: 585291

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:19

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:19
Well Mike you have just described stupidity....Inexperience and a lack of understanding that a business, as a whole, requires more than their core, and usually technical, knowledge - I would prefer to say.

What would you call it?
FollowupID: 585322

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:28

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:28
Gidday Mike

As you know my day to day job is looking after business. It's been enjoyable, but I've had my fair share of Dills. Three of the most memorial where:

1. This old Italian fella came in one day telling me about this splendiferous idea he had to keep motorcyclists warm on the road. To put it simplistically, the idea was to encase the rider in a full body rubber suit with a hose running directly to exhaust pipe.

2. I was called out to front desk one day to give advice to a lady. After a bit of a informal chat, I was asked what sort of business she should start up. For the first few seconds I thought she was having a lend of me!

3. We had a fella come in once, and started to carry on like we were long lost pals. It finally dawned on me that he was the husband of a girl who helped us setup the HBB Business Manual a few years back.

As the meeting progressed on, it soon became evident that he was flogging a Pyramid scheme and was a bit effected by the funny weed.

Having said all that we're helped a lot of first time businesses establish, and many of them now have a successfull operation.

I always reckon, if a fella gives you good service for a fair price he should be given a slap on the back.

Kim

FollowupID: 585327

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 21:02

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 21:02
Having been in business for over twenty years I have great respect for small business people. Funny thing is a few years ago I went to work for an old mate of mine, and discovered I have never been better off with more disposiable income. When you are in business you are lucky to get 5 cents in the dollar for yourself, now Its all mine.LOL.
FollowupID: 585363

Reply By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 09:42

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 09:42
Kim,

No worries. Pop in anytime.

AnswerID: 318739