IVE GOT GAS

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:48
ThreadID: 60449 Views:2091 Replies:3 FollowUps:3
Hey guy's n girls, i bought a offroad wind up camper not so long ago so am new to this van lifestyle (we call ourselves apprentice nomads lol ), anyways, after a six week jaunt though NT and across the Gulf there is a significant amount of gas leaking from the vent on the regulator, is it telling me the gas bottle is near empty or is there a problem.

Reply By: Notso - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:03

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:03
You've got a leaking diaphragm in the regulator, I would suggest you get a new one ASAP.

AnswerID: 318834

Follow Up By: Notso - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:04

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:04
Yeah well and congrats on the Vanning Life.

Keep it up, and you'll stay young.
FollowupID: 585338

Follow Up By: motor_head - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:26

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:26
Thanks heaps, this one looks very near new but a new one is on the shopping list.
FollowupID: 585349

Reply By: Member - shane (SA) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:12

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:12
Mate chuck it, for a few bucks its not worth it. mate had the same thing and nearly lost his dodge.
It was leaking a small bit, (if there is such a thing) he said ill get one at the next town. we stopped to have lunch on the side of the road on the way to the town and the fridge ignited the gas leaking. lucky it was in the Ute tray but it still caught on fire.
AnswerID: 318838

Follow Up By: motor_head - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:27

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:27
Thanks heaps, consider it chucked.
FollowupID: 585350

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 13:35

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 13:35
I had gas too a couple nights ago.......As for burning gas in the van I got rid of the gas oven/burners , bought a fry pan for use when on mains power , the fridge is all electric, and I have a microwave the the gennie will run, got rid of the 2 gas bottles on the front and installed a good size box $99 at Mitre 10 when they were on special and it's handy for 10Ltr jerry cans of petrol and other gear that usually had to be placed inside the van ,

AnswerID: 318966