Gold Coast couple to sue over savannah cat ban

Submitted: Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 10:57
ThreadID: 60467 Views:3906 Replies:15 FollowUps:34
The other side of the coin ?

Only on the Gold Coast.
From a business point of view I can understand it, but there's no way I agree with what they were trying to do, even if the cats were supposed to be desexed.

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:10

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:10
FOOTLOOSE

are these people just sore cause they missed out on a quick buck?
if so ,inst it fair that our native species suffer because of it?

whats the difference between what they(couple from the Gold Coast) and importing exotic plants?both will be harmful to Oz.
AnswerID: 318944

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:21

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:21
Totally agree.
FollowupID: 585414

Follow Up By: Ranger75 - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 12:54

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 12:54
In my opinion, these people are un-Australian in their behaviour. They want to make money out of something that has the potential to harm many Australian native species.
FollowupID: 585434

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 13:20

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 13:20
Perhaps we can blame the culture of a quick dollar, but they are far from th only ones that will trample the interests of the citizen or indeed the country to get a leg up :((
FollowupID: 585441

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:26

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:26
Gday Footy,
I agree there is absolutely no way these cats should be allowed into the country.
But if some peanut gave them permision to start they should be reimbursed any costs and legal fees.
Which ever pollie agreed to it should pay the costs out of their super fund!

AnswerID: 318945

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:42

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:42
From the article.

"The written approval to import the cats dates back to 2006 and the Parkers said they were commended for their efforts."

Says it all really.

FollowupID: 585417

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 12:17

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 12:17
I wonder which minister at the time sanctioned it ?
FollowupID: 585430

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 12:19

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 12:19
I wonder if it was approved in principle pending an Environmental Impact Assessment??

FollowupID: 585431

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 12:35

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 12:35
SIR KEV

EIA?

huh............oh.... Educated Idiot Assessment, right o'.
FollowupID: 585432

Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:36

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:36
This couple should be told to simply shut up.

I would imagine they have a $2.00 company so suing them wouldn't amount to anything. Besides, they suggest that they MAY be sued.

I agree with the decision to ban their import. How ridiculous to think that in this day and age you could bring an animal into the country that has the potential to decimate our wildlife and get away with it. As if we don't have enough cats in the country already. I can just see in 10 years time the gov't of the day establishing a shoot to cull the savanah cat problem in the bush.

Just look at the cane toad. Nip it in the bud now and avoid spending millions on eradicating the future problem.

AnswerID: 318946

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:36

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:36
I dont want them here.. its just a new way to turn a dollar.. They had permission since 2006...so what!! its a new government and its 2008 now.. Its the only sensible change this new Fed govt has done and im right behind them on this one.. Michael
AnswerID: 318947

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:45

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:45
Its alright for the Americans to have them and suppy them to us!! They have nothing to lose, except for a few Deer and the Bald Eagle and bears, they dont have a lot of small animals that can be prey to those big cats.. Its Government doing what is right for a change!! Michael
FollowupID: 585418

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:53

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:53
MICHAEL.

"They have nothing to lose, except for a few Deer and the Bald Eagle and bears, they dont have a lot of small animals that can be prey to those big cats."
well said, how would the yanks like it if we send over some of our deadliest snakes? i think by memory we have about 8 or so deadliest out of the top 10.
FollowupID: 585422

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 13:23

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 13:23
Does anyone remember the fuss caused when some of our redback spiders hitch hiked to Japan along with a shipment of wood ?
FollowupID: 585443

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:43

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:43
Totally agree with the ban. These cats are pure hunters.
I would understand these people wanting to claim expenses incurred following govt approval of the importing and prior to the ban, but I can't see how, if the cats were going to be de-sexed, how they could claim $2M!! This has got to be breeding stock.
Gerry
AnswerID: 318949

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:47

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:47
it would only take 1 undesexed male cat to get through and that would be it.
FollowupID: 585419

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:48

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:48
It was the intention of the importers to have breeding stock and breed from them. Nice little perk if you got in first, so all cats sold would be desexed.. Sole breeders for Australia,, I can see why they are upset. Upset their little monopoly.. Michael
FollowupID: 585420

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:53

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:53
Its not just the one undesexed male escaping, its the damage to our wildlife for the 20 year life span of an animal like that, just to survive.. even a desexed cat. Michael
FollowupID: 585421

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:57

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:57
Imagine waking up in the middle of the night with something like that standing over you in your swag, a ferel, having spent its life in the bush!! LOL!! Michael
FollowupID: 585424

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:59

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:59
LOL , enter one smelly swag!!
FollowupID: 585425

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 14:23

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 14:23
"Imagine waking up in the middle of the night with something like that standing over you in your swag, a ferel, having spent its life in the bush!! LOL!! Michael "

Onced tanned they would probably make a good swag!
FollowupID: 585464

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:48

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:48
Let 'em go at it. Precedent could allow them to pay government costs too.
AnswerID: 318951

Reply By: Best Off Road - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 12:12

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 12:12
I don't have a problem with them being adequately compensated. They were given approval and thus went ahead with their business venture.

Because the approval given was was a poor decision, and has since been rectified, is no reason not to cover their out of pocket expenses. Loss of future income may also come into it, but I'm no lawyer.

AnswerID: 318953

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 12:17

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 12:17
best off road

i see what you are saying but what ever happened to the import laws in OZ? introduced species surely cant be introduced EVER?
FollowupID: 585429

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 12:30

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 12:30
Maybe there is a simple answer that I'm missing but if they supposedly had government approval since 2006 to import these cats, why then have they waited until 2009?

If there was so much money to be made, I don't know about the rest of you but I would have been straight off the mark importing as soon as approval was received.

Something smells with this claim, particularly if they were still awaiting a decision in 2009 from the responsible Minister?

AnswerID: 318954

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 12:41

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 12:41
Why do people want to import anything. This country has suffered enough over imports and their diseases .They are probably imports them selves. Bad luck about the Gov. We all get bleep on by them every day.
AnswerID: 318956

Follow Up By: DIO - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 14:22

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 14:22
Wot, NO imports !! Gee, better be careful the Toyota and Nissan owners don't read this.
FollowupID: 585463

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 14:25

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 14:25
always contributing something useful arent ya?
FollowupID: 585466

Follow Up By: Member - Longtooth (SA) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:34

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:34
Geez DIO,

Got a long way down this thread and was becoming quite concerned that there wasn't a stupid comment from you. Thank heavens you are alive and well.......stupid.
FollowupID: 585550

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 14:09

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 14:09
Sorry . Not the cruiser.
FollowupID: 585709

Reply By: brushmarx - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 13:20

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 13:20
In one way, the ban will be a loss.
You can get a good set of car seat covers from an average of 16 cats(front only, not including arm rests). With the Savanna cats, only 7 would be required.
Savings from less lead in "humane" euthenasia, and time saving with less stitching required would have been good, but I guess the supply of feline drumsticks to the local Chinese restaurant will balance out the loss of importation.
AnswerID: 318961

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 13:27

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 13:27
Thinking along those lines might suggest that the cane toad invasion of the NT has given the Territorins another sport. LOL
FollowupID: 585444

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 13:48

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 13:48
Import desexed cats only - oh yeah.

The NSW Govt also promised to thoroughly quarantine all horses brought into Australia to prevent an outbreak of equine influenza.

Look at how much it's cost Australians to counteract the damage resulting from the selfish idiots who decided it'd be a good idea to import foxes, rabbits, cane-toads etc.
AnswerID: 318968

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 13:50

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 13:50
your bloody right there
FollowupID: 585452

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 13:51

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 13:51
that was Fed Gov't got EI wrong...
FollowupID: 585453

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 16:05

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 16:05
They didnt say they were importing desexed cats.. What they said that were only selling desexed cats..so they were actually breeding in Australia but not selling breeding cats.. A mate of mine left his dog at a kennel over the holidays at a place that told him that it was impossible for a dog to escape from there... Two days later, the dog escaped... It turned up 10 days later in another suburb. so could a cat escape being more agile than a dog....

This can only be the correct outcome. Garrett cant sing but he got this right.... Michael
FollowupID: 585479

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 03:55

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 03:55
If I remember correctly, the " selfish idiots " who imported the cane toad was CSIRO or Govt.

Silliest part was - the cane toad couldnt eat the cane beetle ( imported earlier ) because sugar cane in their natural overseas environment grew horizontally and and matted ... not vertically and cultivated as in australia ......... lotsa research went into that one .... clowns
FollowupID: 585593

Reply By: Vivid Adventures - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 13:53

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 13:53
Normal business risk - the regulatory environment.

They did not have approvals forever and like anyone in business, some change to the regulatory environment can affect your business.

They are simply "special pleading" and as a taxpayer I'm happy to see them in court so long as they have some assets to go after when the costs get awarded against them.
AnswerID: 318969

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 14:54

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 14:54
The ban saved these two from going broke . Read this quote from the guy involved with the breeding in the US .

""I have anywhere between $10,000 to $500,000 tied up in this,'' Mr Stucki told the brisbanetimes.com.au from his home in the US.

This guy does not know if he has $10,000 or $500,000 tied up in the deal . What a loser . I think we may have saved the Parkers from a financial disaster .

18 kg - that's serious pussy . I could just see that strolling in front of my .222 .

Willie
AnswerID: 318975

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 14:57

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 14:57
Strolling or falling over in front of your .222?? ;)

FollowupID: 585473

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 15:56

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 15:56
"This guy does not know if he has $10,000 or $500,000 tied up in the deal . What a loser "
What a buisness man!

ROFLMAO
FollowupID: 585478

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 15:03

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 15:03
Any of you guys want a few of your opossums back ?

I know where there are a few million of them. There's several helicopter trips planned over the next few days with the 1080 bait for them :-))

AnswerID: 318976

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:10

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:10
Aw go on! You love 'em.
Cute, cuddly, what more could you ask?
And the fur makes fabulous pullovers!
LOL!
FollowupID: 585489

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:21

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:21
Hi Joc45,

They have real sharp claws so I would not try cuddling them.

The fur mixed with merino wool makes great dbl sleeping bag liners :-))

I met a real tame one at a camp area around the Wyvern lake north west of Brisbane a couple of months ago and I almost gave it a massive kick ! Remembered where I was just in time. There used to be reasonable $ to made by trapping them in NZ some years back but the anti fur coat brigade has ruined the export market.
FollowupID: 585491

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 19:06

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 19:06
Actually, they're even more of a menace when they're tame! In a camping area, they go thru everything, crawl all over your car, scratching the paint, upend all your camping gear, p!ss on it, etc.
Note you also have stoats, as well as all our imports. Poor buggers!

But seriously, even moving fauna from one side of the country to the other has its problems. In Perth, someone let out some pet rainbow lorikeets about 20 years ago. These are the beautiful ones you see on the east coast. Well now we have them all over the metro area of Perth, and spreading. They are aggressive birds, and have forced out the local timid ring-neck parrots (28's), honeyeaters and lots more. The only things resilient to them are the ravens and magpies.
Come to think of it, you've got our magpies as well, haven't you?
FollowupID: 585502

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 19:19

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 19:19
Yep got them blooddddy magpies and it's always open season on wallaby's (including the ones wearing rugby jerseys) :-))

FollowupID: 585507

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 19:29

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 19:29
opossums????

Can't be ours........................

Dem must be de Irish ones

;-)))))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 585511

Reply By: Jezzainthehilux - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:56

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:56
sorry cat lovers and dare i say it but "the only good cat is a flat one!"
AnswerID: 319071

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 04:02

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 04:02
Was a fella several years ago advocating death to feral cats and controls on domestic ones.

His slogan was;

" Hat your Cat today "

looked like a modern day Daniel Boone in the photo .... LOLOL
FollowupID: 585594