Torque converter lock up switch "GU"

Submitted: Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 14:03
ThreadID: 60472 Views:9758 Replies:6 FollowUps:21
Gday all,

I am looking for a way to electronically lock the torque converter in a 4.8 GU4 patrol at highway speeds.
I'm not sure If I saw this info on this site but I can remember reading of a 3ltr GU that ran a toggle switch to one single wire running from the ECM harness.
In effect he could control the lock up stage of the converter for those long endless straight roads we have here in Oz, the only set back was remembering to turn it off when stopping.
On our last trip at 110 kph using my foot, I could keep the converter locked which dropped the engine revs a few hundred rpms but as soon as I activate the cruise control, It would go in and out.
Any Info, pros and cons of how this could be achieved would be greatly appreciated.

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 14:30

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 14:30
For 3L Auto GU details refer to Chaz's home page for his Patrol

Chaz's Patrol Site

Chaz provides some excellent Patrol input to this forum and hopefully this will give you some insight to your 4.8 box.

Hugh
AnswerID: 318973

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 20:06

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 20:06
Thanks Hugh,
They are a different box in the 4.8 but thats the info I was looking for. Will have to pull the kick panel off and see If i can find the right wire with a sparky

FollowupID: 585519

Reply By: mechpete - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 19:54

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 19:54
Iv,e got what is called a trans locker in my GQ auto .
it was made in whitfield victoria , and has a reastat to set the speed to which the convertor locks up .
mechpete
AnswerID: 319021

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 20:12

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 20:12
Thanks mechpete

Have done a google on a trans locker......looks good and takes the guess work out of it.
just out of curiosity what did you pay for the device ?
Are you happy with the way it works ?
FollowupID: 585521

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:51

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:51
Can you please post the URLs you found.

FollowupID: 585562

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 22:16

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 22:16
http://www.juland.com.au/translocker.htm
FollowupID: 585571

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 00:08

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 00:08
Thanks for that

FollowupID: 585584

Reply By: mechpete - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 20:57

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 20:57
I bought it about 5 yrs ago ,paid about $450 it works ok
it also has the ability to lock an unlock it the same as the factory
the difference being you chose the speed to which it locks
Pete
AnswerID: 319044

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 23:06

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 23:06
I just checked CD maintenance manual and there is a circuit diagram for the RE5R05A 5sp auto box. If you send me a fax # or email address I'd be happy to send a copy to you.
Regards, Hugh
AnswerID: 319086

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 09:53

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 09:53
That would be great Hugh,
email: chris@torchpublishing.com.au

Thanks mate
FollowupID: 585630

Reply By: Member - Woodsy - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 07:58

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 07:58
Hi Ingo57

Try Wholesale Automatic Transmissions in Bayswater, Vic.
Phone 03 9762 8004.

Had lock up kit fitted to my 4.8 in Oct 2005 for $250.00

Happy 4 wheeling

Woodsy

AnswerID: 319105

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 09:45

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 09:45
Thanks Woodsy

That price sounds more realistic, I shall give them a call.

How do you find it?
FollowupID: 585626

Follow Up By: Member - Woodsy - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:35

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:35
Hi again Ingo57

It works OK and definitely lowers engine speed 200 or so revs when activated.

I hoped that it would also be useful to add a bit more engine braking on hill descents but it is not that evident in high range.
I haven't tried it in low range yet.

You have to remember when it is activated as after a while you forget about it until you slow down or go to stop and the engine stalls.

Since fitting it I get the occasional A/T warning light after long driving in warm conditions with the lock up activated or towing the boat with the lock up activated.
The A/T warning light may just be co-incidental with the fitting of the lock up kit.
Had Nissan check it and no fault determined though they did fit a new Transmission Control Module as "Goodwill". That didn't fix the A/T warning light problem though but it did improve the performance of the cruise control, but that's another Nissan story.

The auto seems to be OK and there are no problems evident.
Happy 4 wheeling

Woodsy

FollowupID: 585642

Reply By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 09:48

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 09:48
Get manual.
AnswerID: 319128

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:15

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:15
In my opinion I reckon the Auto tip tronics are far superior these days, much more favourable in a lot of situations especially soft sand compared to manuals.
The lock up will hopefully make it better on those days when sitting on the black top 5 hours straight at 110kph.
Its all the little things that make a better tourer!
FollowupID: 585638

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:29

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:29
Well, everyone entitled on own opinion. And in my humble opinion tiptonic is worst choice because it combines worst parts from autos and worst parts from manual. Conventional 123D layout is far superior in my opinion because one can choose gear directly and with enough practice “by feeling” without necessity counting clicks or looking on instrument panel. In 95% of executions tiptonic is just a gimmick (in my opinion). Also I just cannot get this argument about “auto on sand” – gear changing on sand has about the same frequency as in most 4WD situations, so what the point?

Please, do not get offended – I just do not understand why to bother with such complicated modification when solution on the surface (i.e. to original post)

Serg
FollowupID: 585640

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:20

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:20
I guess serg my thoughts are the auto gives you more time negotiating over difficult obstacles by not having to keep the vehicle moving or depressing clutch.
As for the Tip tronic it is just a matter of getting used to it, and feel it is far superior when you need both hands on the wheel and when you need another gear tap it down or up.
Just completed a double crossing in the Simpson 5 weeks ago most dunes would go up in second 4H and If I needed a lower gear its just a click away without loosing momentum or depressing a clutch.

Just as a matter of Interest you cant buy manual in the 4.8 manual is discontinued when I bought mine so what is the solution on the surface?????
The new 200 series only come in auto tip tronic..... no manual I guess they have no Idea either (most vehicle manufactures have them now).

I have owned both manual and auto 4bys, they both have there place.

As to your last comment why bother modifying any 4wd in that case !!!! suspension upgrades, bigger tyres, driving lights etc etc.

Fairdinkum mate !
Regardless Thanks for your contribution

FollowupID: 585654

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:35

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:35
Ok, you been talking about wheel mounting gear change buttons and I do agree that they far more convenient comparing to traditional stick. It has nothing to do to tiptonic as a such though. And I would not buy 200 even if I could get one in manual form – frankly there is better 4WD from Toyota. I have crossed Simpson 2 weeks ago and still cannot get “auto on sand” argument, sorry.
And, mate, there are “modifications in suck of modifications”. I been doing some of those by myself and fail to see anything wrong with that – anyone has own way of having fun :-) Some putting Toyota engine in Nissan – I am sure lots of fun, but fail to see any practical reason. But for example with stiffer spring (suspension upgrade) it is impossible to get one from manufacture, thus there is necessity to do it. No manual Nissan? Get another brand or another trim or get diesel – still plenty of choices.

Serg.
FollowupID: 585663

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:20

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:20
No worries serg, Im not really bothered in covincing you about auto's and sand driving....works for me!

To drop 200 - 300 rpm over long distance for the cost of a switch and a couple of relays seems pretty practical to me.

"Get another brand or another trim or get diesel – still plenty of choices."

"Nissans are the best" dont need to change!

You bring nothing of Impotrance to me or the topic

If you dont like what I want to do with my converter.... dont read it!

FollowupID: 585675

Follow Up By: pling - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:42

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:42
Serg,

There is no comparison between auto's over 5 years old and auto's of today. They are fantastic driving in the desert and twisty tracks, mud or sand. The tiptronics are fantastic to drive on dunes and generally more fuel efficient in the desert. (direct comparison with 4.5 100 LC manuals on 3 Simpson crossings)
Get into the 20th century and buy a 200 LC.
The future is auto's - look at Formula one - all paddle operated.
FollowupID: 585685

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:47

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:47
OK, ingo57, I will explain what I meant by my sarcasm. Sure I like manual and you like auto – no necessity to any arguments here. But your proposal mod is far too complicated. As far as I seen (surely there are other methods, I have not disassembled each and every torque converter) torque converter is closed box (donut) and very difficult to repair. When it get damaged inside (fins get bend) it is even impossible to diagnose problem without cutting it. Probably they repairable but I guess that it is cheaper just put new one should old one became broken (rare condition though).

Now to “lock” it one need to put some kind of spindle inside strong enough to withstand all torque what your 4.8 capable to produce. Think of device like spindle in manual gearbox that comes inside clutch. Furthermore, those spindle mush be able to shifted back and forward to engage and disengage it. Even more there should be some king of actuator inside fully rotating unit to do shifting – think of something like ARB pneumatic diff-lick engage mechanism. Too much engineering if not done on factory by initial design.

Now imagine that you done it. Having one simple switch on dashboard not good enough. Earlier or later you (or your SHMBO) forget to disengage it and it *WILL* damage your tranny. Some kind of controller required that monitor gearshifting from tranny and disengage it if necessarily – think of something like cruise controller.

I am not saying that it is not doable – it is indeed. But considering amount of effort I fail to see any practicality in such mod – only mod for own fun. But then you have to be prepared to do your own research and engeneering, because with “mods for sake of mods” this is most of fun!

And last, but not least. Your *ARE SEEKING* a way to “manualize” your auto while defending that it is far superior to manual. It is contradictory in definition.

Sorry for negative post.

With regards and respect
Serg.
FollowupID: 585686

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:57

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:57
Pling,

I am die hard fun of own cog shifting. Nope, I will have 70 instead of 200- IMHO better vehicle for my needs overall, not just tranny. Surely doing it manually does require more effort, knowledge and skills, but I believe that most fun of 4WD-ing exactly here. Why people will be trilling to fly holding control stick while it is easier (and cheaper!) to get ticket on commercial flight? Because it is not the same! Modern auto much better then even 5 years back – forget 20 y.o. “oilshifter”! But yet I have not driven one to enjoy. Frankly autoshifting itself does not bother me as much (and even can be overridden to certain extend in some models) as torque converter where engine and wheels not mechanically locked one to other.

Serg
FollowupID: 585689

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:29

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:29
Ingo57,

For matter of curiosity I have a reading and find out that your Nissan may have locker already built-in. However it engages only in overdrive mode. If this is the case, then forget about my previous message – no mechanical mods required, only some switches and relays. However it may be too weak to handle torque in “non-overdrive” mode – you better check how it is done before depress your right foot to floor in locked mode in 3rd gear.

Serg
FollowupID: 585699

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:48

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:48
Ingo57,

Sorry, mate, to bother you again. You do not need to manually lock your converter from switch on dashboard, but rather need a relay that keep it locked as long as cruise control engaged. Simple, safe and no extra switches required. One solid-state relay (circa $30 for good quality one) and 3 meters of wire will do the trick.

Serg
FollowupID: 585703

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 14:40

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 14:40
Serg

As said in the original post "I am looking for a way to electronically lock the torque converter in a 4.8 GU4 patrol at highway speeds."
this means over 100 in overdrive, I never said I wish to change gears with the converter locked (dont know where that came from).
However If you have any info on where and how to wire it, I would like to see it.

FollowupID: 585714

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 14:59

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 14:59
Then it would be the best option for you to lock TC whenever cruise is active. No I do not know where you can patch it (I drive Toyota), but surely can figure it out from wire diagram.

Serg
FollowupID: 585720

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 15:08

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 15:08
After all that, I still didnt get anything out of ya except you agree with my original post.

FollowupID: 585721