canopy for dual-cab hi-lux

Submitted: Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 16:44
ThreadID: 60479 Views:7088 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
gday all,
im in the market for a fibreglass canopy for an 05 hilux (old shape) ive spoken to ARB ,TJM,flexiglass and carryboy,ARB were the cheapest at $2350 fitted,the ARB canopy is colour coded with a roof vent and brake light,i also want one lift up side window and one sliding side window (for the dog)
Iam wondering if there are any more companies around that make canopies?
Idealy i would prefer a metal one but just cant afford to fork out that kinda dough.
cheers Jezz

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:05

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:05
Jezz,

Have a look at the Ironman canopies as well

AnswerID: 318993

Follow Up By: Jezzainthehilux - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:36

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:36
found an ironman canopy on ebay,they look good and are well priced,i will research further tomorrow,thanks for that
Jezz
FollowupID: 585551

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:46

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:46
Hello Jezz, We have a colour coded TJM unit and are more than happy with it. Up until recently the tail gate got a frequent daily workout as I used it for my work & it is still good as new. But.......... there are people on this site who have had unhappy experiences with TJM & have gone to ARB, so check with a few more TJM owners.
I have not heard of the "Ironman" as mentioned by Kev, but assume it is made in NSW & consequently would be tuffer, cheaper, more durable, more user friendly & of course probably has a life long guarantee!! LOL & good luck with your choice.
AnswerID: 319006

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:59

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:59
Barry,

Ironman is Mexican I think LOL

If I was in the market for a fibreglass canopy again I would not touch a TJM made canopy even if you gave it to me ;)

FollowupID: 585499

Follow Up By: Jezzainthehilux - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:41

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:41
the TJM canopy was a fair bit dearer than the ARB one mate so not quite sure about it.thanks though, Jezz
FollowupID: 585554

Reply By: Twinkles - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 19:06

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 19:06
I have a colour coded TJM. Had problems with the back handle/lock. It is really neat as it pushes in to become flush, but mine kept sticking. They replaced it but the new one does it too. Have to press a button to make handle pop out. On mine you have to thump it. Other than that I like it. It has lift up windows both sides for easy access and an interior light. You can see it in some of my photos. I like the fact that the front window is recessed in so no chance of connecting with cab and it opens and folds down internally for cleaning rear window. The side locks are flush to which looks neat, but you have to make sure nothing stops them on the inside when closing.
AnswerID: 319010

Follow Up By: Jezzainthehilux - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:45

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:45
the fault sounds fairly minor but at the same time would be annoying.
Jezz
FollowupID: 585557

Reply By: Member - John G- Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 20:31

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 20:31
G'day Jezz

We have a Carryboy canopy that was on our 2000 Hilux when we bought it in 2003. No problem with rear door, or windows, and it's watertight, but the outerskin of the paintwork began gradually peeling about 12 months ago and it is fast approaching the stage where the canopy will have to be resprayed or retreated or whatever (just left?). The Hilux has been garaged since we bought it.

Disappointing thing is that Carryboy in Melbourne had no advice whatsoever to offer. Communication terminated as soon as they established that the canopy was out of warranty.

If we were buying again I think I would go for the ARB canopy because of its squarer rear end, and the option of the raised rear end. Others may have both features of course. We have a drawer system and fridge slide in the back, and the Engel just makes it under the roof of the Carryboy rear opening. More air around the fridge would be an advantage, as would the lift up side windows.

AnswerID: 319035

Follow Up By: Jezzainthehilux - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:48

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:48
considering the carryboy is about a grand dearer than the ARB thats very dissapointing,i wonder if the latest ones are still doing it? either way the communication breakdown would peave me off.
Jezz
FollowupID: 585558

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 13:45

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 13:45
We had a Carryboy on our Hilux. Paint stayed perfect for the 3 1/2 year we had it. Sold it just the other day to move up to a LC 79 series.
The Carryboy was rated to 100KG on top and we tested it to the limit with boat and lots of other stuff on top on a number of trips.

Norm C
FollowupID: 590185

Reply By: Member - Moo - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 22:25

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 22:25
Hi Jezz,
We have just done the same as you and found sports range 4x4 in wangra wa.they match your colour to your vehicle .I'll be picking mind up in two or three days and looking forward to it
AnswerID: 319078

Reply By: beelzebug - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:08

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:08
Try the Alpha canopy from Blueys Ute World. Made in Thailand and painted here.
We have one on the D40 Navara. Well made, colour coded, interior light, roof bars included etc. All up though I think it was near $3K
AnswerID: 319144

Reply By: Member - John G- Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 10:24

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 10:24
G'day again Jezz

You will recall that I responded to your question with a comment re our experience with a Carryboy canopy. You've probably made your decision by now but your question prompted me to do some more work on what's to be done about our peeling paintwork.

Consensus from two panel beaters / spray painters is that insufficient "product" was applied in the finishing of the job when it was colour matched to the Hilux paintwork. Neither could say whether this was a fault of the Australian distributor, or a paint shop used by a dealer who would have purchased the canopy unfinished from the distributor.

One guy says $800 to remove, strip, repaint. The other guy said he didn't want to do the job, and added that no-one would be able to guarantee that a repaint wouldn't go the same way. All a bit of a bugger.

I haven't seen any other complaints about Carryboy on this site, so it may be that we got the bad job. Still, when the Carryboy is much more expensive than other canopies, you should not expect this sort of problem.

AnswerID: 323093