Bodhi1972
Hi all.
Just a bit of curiosity / advice.
I'm heading off to
Exmouth (From
Perth) on the 19th of this month for a family holiday. Myself, wife, 6 1/2 year old, 5 year old (Boys) and a 4 month baby girl. First trip in about 7 years and hopefully a trouble free one.
I will be driving my 1990 landy with a 18 foot ali boat in tow. Never been to
Exmouth before and was wandering if anyone has any tips on fishing (spots / rigs) 4wd tracks / beaches, things for the kids to do. Just trying to make it a eventful holiday. Don't want to be sitting around the hotel (Pot Shot Inn) all day thinking of things to do.
Any tips / tricks or advice would be much appricated.
Cheers!!!!!!
Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 19:31
Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 19:31
Hi there, We just returned from a 4 week holiday trip to
Ningaloo station with our boat. Michelle will in a few days be putting up the Blog entry for it. We spent 3.5 weeks sitting on
the beach at
Ningaloo station with the family and a few other families and had a great time. Not to mention my 2 x Marlin's over 2.8 mtrs each off the back of the boat coupled with about 12 makeral,
water skiing, knee boarding, snorkling, drinking and all round good times. Maybe hassle Michelle a little to get the blog updates done (but do not tell her it was me - michelle@exploroz.com).
Have a great time. How long are you going? Are you fully self sufficient, fridge,
water, tents etc?
Follow Up By: Bodhi1972 - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:02
Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:02
Sounds like you had a ball. Got to be happy with the catch!!!
We are staying for 2 weeks at the Pot Shot Hotel. Which I believe are self contained units. So we aren't doing it too tough this time. Hopefully get back into the
camping when bub is a little older. Looking forward to reading the blog.
Have a good one and cheers for the reply...
Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 15:47
Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 15:47
Hi David
Where do you guys
camp at
Ningaloo??
Reply By: Drew - Karratha - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:51
Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:51
There are heaps of shoals in
Exmouth gulf (Stuart, Wapet, etc) - I think they have the GPS coordinates for all of them in the book 'Australian Fish Finder' (I think that is what it is called). There are good Snapper, Trout, Bluebone etc on them. It is also good trolling either in the gulf, or anywhere along the outside of
Ningaloo Reef.
It is a good drive around the top of the cape and down along the coast through
Ningaloo Station to
Coral Bay - heaps of good swimming and
camping spots to explore along the way.
Have a great time - wish I was back up there!!
Follow Up By: Bodhi1972 - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:12
Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:12
Thanks Drew.
I have heard just to fish the shoals. I will try and get hold of the co-ordinates and give it ago.
Can't wait to get up there and get amongst it.
Cheers for the reply......
Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 15:58
Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 15:58
Forgot to add fishing off
Learmonth jetty and out the front of
Kailis Fisheries at the prawn offal line for anything from Bream and Whiting to big Golden Trevally...
Reply By: revhead307 - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 15:14
Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 15:14
Ive been to
exmouth a few times (tho its been 3 or so years since the last trip)
For some interesting/relaxing fishing check out wapet
creek. its about 30 kms out of
exmouth (on the way in) near the RAAF airport. track was not that
well marked when i was there, so make sure you get a local map or advice.
nice fishing for finger mark bream, the odd mangrove jack, flathead etc etc in amongst the
mangroves. plenty of fishing spots and you can also drop a dingy in it. lots of fun. just dont walk in there cos of the stonefish. brilliant little place.
Jeff
Reply By: Dave Thomson - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 18:08
Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 18:08
Got back a couple of weeks ago ,fabulous fishing from
the beach , 5 mile beach in particular was fool proof with 16 fish in 16 casts !!! good trevally breem rockfish parrotfish all from
the beach using a float over the reefs with squid went great,you'll have a ball mate enjoy,
regards,