Oziexplorer Question
Submitted: Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:27
Cruznoz
I've been trying to get my head around Oziexplorer since I installed it. It's probably just me but I can't get a couple of features working. I've downloaded the latest upgrade but I'm still having the same problem. I can put comments, features, waypoints, events and manually made tracks on a map and save them ok, but when I reload the map to work on it again the features and comments are still there but the waypoints, tracks and events have gone. Does anybody have any idea whats going on/
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:42
Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:42
What you describe is normal.
If you want these features to remain on the map every time you load it, go to
File > Check Calibration of map
Then on the right, click on on "options" and then "attach files to map"
I use this feature to attach tracks to maps, so I can then follow a previous track file, but I expect you can keep waypoints on there as
well.
Follow Up By: Cruznoz - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:57
Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:57
Phil,
your a legend. You solved my problem
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 22:19
Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 22:19
No worries Steve,
Took me about 4 years to work that one out :-)))
Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 07:29
Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 07:29
Thanks Phil. The ability to load a follow a track has been a problem for me. You have solved my problem too!! Thanks mate!
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:01
Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:01
Hi Phil ,
At the risk of asking stupid questions , if you go "attach files to map " how do you reverse this situation and clear the waypoints etc from the map ?
If while you have the map open with those permanently shown details on it and you add a new waypoint , do you just go in and hit "attach files to map" and it updates the old file ?
I used to use this method but now find it easier to load waypoint files each time I use the map .
Thanks ,
Willie .
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 18:07
Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 18:07
Gday Willie,
I do the same as you. I prefer to just load waypoints from file as needed. But I often attach track files.
I reckon the only way you can modify an attached waypoint file would be to open it separately, modify it, and then save again.
I prefer to keep it simple with Oziexplorer. I love using moving maps, I like checking the different maps for marked features, and I use the above method to follow someone else's or my previous tracks. It is a great program though.
phil
Reply By: The Explorer - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:47
Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 21:47
Hello - try using the Project Manger (Options - Project Manager). Read the help file for details
| I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874 Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message Moderator |
Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 22:04
Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 22:04
G'day Explorer Greg,
if you are a Giles fan, maybe I could send you a happy snap of Circus
Water if you send me an email addy. I took it about 4 weeks ago - it had a filthy green liquid in it that I took to be
water!
Rick (S.A.)
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:15
Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:15
Hi Rick ,
Like Greg , I am a huge Giles fan . Could you email me a picture too please .
jigalongjigalongatgmaildotcom
Thanks a lot ,
Willie .
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:21
Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:21
Willie,
when you were over here (WA) recently did you go to Ularring Rock (also called Ularring Soak) north of
Coolgardie?
It's in
Places on EO.
Giles built a cairn of stones there and had a bit of a blue with the locals apparently.
It's a big
granite outcrop. Great overnight stop. It's even got some
toilets there now. Progress eh?
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:52
Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:52
Hi again Mr Bush ,
I know it sounds a bit odd , but I have been to WA each of the last five years - two times twice in a year BUT , when I am on a
camping / driving trip I have always got to
Norseman and turned North . My interest has always been in the deserts , The
Pilbara and The
Kimberley .
So no , I have never seen Ularring Rock , but I will drop in if I ever get near there now that you have mentioned it .
I would love to get into the Rawlinson Ranges for a look around . I heard that last year a tour company was granted day access ( with a local guide ) to some of the spots on the south of the Ranges .
Regards ,
Willie .
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:53
Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:53
Greg ,
Have you finished your new
Pilbara maps yet ?
Willie .
Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 21:48
Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 21:48
Hello - currently working away form home will get back to you regarding Circus Waters pic when I get home.
Willie - yes
Pilbara maps are out - available in exploroz
shop.
| I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874 Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message Moderator |
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 22:14
Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 22:14
Well done Greg . I have just ordered it .
Thanks ,
Willie .
Reply By: Zebra400 - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 04:24
Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 04:24
If you look up in the right hand corner of your screen, you will see icons for Map, Waypoint, Event, Track & Route. When you add a Waypoint, Route, Track, Event, Comment or a Map Feature you will see these icons change from black to red. By clicking on the red icon, you will get a pop up window to save the relevant data. All Event, Comments & Map Features are saved with the actual map file (.map) you are viewing at that time.
If you load another map, this items will not be seen. However, events, waypoints, tracks &
routes will be viewable on all maps.
Project Manager helps you automate loading any of the above quickly.