diesel/petrol debate...60458

Submitted: Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 23:01
ThreadID: 60495 Views:2408 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
Thanks to all those that contributed to the diesel/petrol debate....probably at this time more than ever before we are faced with an uncertain future in regards to fuel availability,carbon taxes,higher maintenance costs and many other issues..etc etc.

But it is good to see that you are all acutely aware whats going on and eager to keep the dream alive (thanks Law'sy) and to do whatever is possible to keep 4WD'ing as much and as often as possible.

There has been news that the goverment is being lobby'd to drop the excise on diesel....a whole 38 cents....watch this space BUT don't hold your breath....cheers Redbakk

Reply By: Member - Doug T W/Qld - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 01:06

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 01:06
Redbakk
Let em BRING IT ON

AnswerID: 319094

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 05:04

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 05:04
I think there is more than one government grab on diesel. One is excise and the other a levy. One is a number and the other a percentage.
This does not include GST which makes three.
All just another attempt for Government to treat us like mushrooms.

Neil
AnswerID: 319097

Follow Up By: hl - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 06:57

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 06:57
Yep... that levy you can thank Meg Lees for.....
Vale Democrats
FollowupID: 585597

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 06:27

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 06:27
I doubt they will drop any taxes on diesel Firstly it would create a revenue hole, secondly it will only benefit a few, and thirdly they will argue that price acts as a rationer. Make it cheaper and usage will increase. This would be counterproductive to its carbon reduction agenda.

AnswerID: 319100

Follow Up By: Hairs (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 06:58

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 06:58
"create a revenue hole"

Hi Landy,

I agree with you andThis I would believes as the biggest reason they wouldn't.
All tiers of government fight tooth & nail to keep their revenue base.

"This would be counterproductive to its carbon reduction agenda"

And hasn't Rudd jumped on this wagon. I know something has to change, not to sure if a lot of thought has gone into it.

Still the pump price has come down a tad, Per Barrel has drop a little again.

Our little local servo has dropped 10 cents to $1.76lt Diesel, $1.52 lt ULP on Saturday morning with a new tanker load, The shop actually ran out Friday arvo of Diesel and ULP. I believe the delivery was two days late. On a full tank that allowed me to fill up the Mower Jerry can this month. Here comes summer, time to start mowing again. :(

FollowupID: 585598

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 09:07

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 09:07
It would be great if one of the 4WD magazines did a trip in a couple of 200 Series which had similar weight on board - one petrol / gas V8 and one diesel V8.

They could give us the comparison and settle a few arguments .

I am looking at buying a new 200 and am seriously considering a petrol / gas V8 . A year ago I would have scoffed at the suggestion , but .......

Willie .
AnswerID: 319117

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:39

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:39
You go for it Gnomad...as for the article...one of them did one not so long ago...I think I might still have it , I will have a look later.
FollowupID: 585664

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:14

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:14
Thanks , that would be great .
FollowupID: 585673

Reply By: Hairs (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:23

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:23
A mate just rang me from Springwood QLD to brag that ULP at one servo this morning was $1.29lt.

Not fair. (^~^)
AnswerID: 319167

Reply By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 14:10

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 14:10
Hmmm.

I put up a post about the economic benefits of LPG a few months back and copped a horrible bollocking. I'll admit it was somewhat provocative, but hey, that generates robust debate.

Seems more and more are beginning to realise that an LPG fuelled 4wd is by far the cheapest to run.

Disclaimer: LPG may have limited availability and/or be expensive in remote areas.

AnswerID: 319176

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 21:34

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 21:34
Agree Jim but unfortunalty both our vehicles( 3.5 Jack, 30l Paj) do not like gas, and would most likely result in head damage. So no econimic advantage.
FollowupID: 585826