You're in good company.
Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 09:36
Member - Footloose
Just a tad worried about rising fuel costs ? Putting off that long distance outback trip until you can save more money to cover the fuel cost?
I wondered what effect rising fuel costs were having on the tourist industry...and now I know.
Driving holidays
Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 09:55
Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 09:55
G'day Footy. A couple of months back my daughter did a school project on rising fuel costs and the associated social impact. One of the things topics was this exact subject. We posted on here (I think you may have replied) and got some good responses. About 80% of respondents said they would not let it affect their travel plans.
From the article "Most motorists said it was not interest rates that would stop their driving holidays but the cost of filling their cars; 70 per cent said they would have to spend less on attractions if they traveled."
I wonder how many of the people surveyed actually go on motoring holidays. We run a boat during summer - we use about 30L fuel per day on average. Used for 25 days a year equates only about $500 - $600
Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 10:34
Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 10:34
Goodday Footie,
I have cut back on fishing trips, or arrange to go with a mate to share costs.
Went fishing with my mate on monday, and used his 2.8 td rodeo to tow my boat. Got us their slowly and economical, but felt as though the boat was a bit heavey for it coming down some windy twisty bits. Reminded me why I brought the Jack which does not know its their.
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 10:41
Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 10:41
I see that many in the US have cut back on their motoring, and that fact has been cited as one of the contributing factors to the falling oil costs.
Now if only the Chinese and Indians would walk a bit more, we could drive a bit more LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 11:40
Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 11:40
Footy watched a program on the ABC called the cars that ate bejing . One problem I see is the Chinese govt is subsiding the price of fuel. Petrol and diesel $1.00 per litre. The noveau rich are driving arround posing wasting fuel. Bit like us in the seventies. lol.
Problem I see is because they are subsiding the cost they are using more fuel and forcing our prices up, the same way the yanks wasted millions of gallons with their big tanks years ago.
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 16:05
Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 16:05
Some asian nations have been subsidizing the cost of guel, but seem to be withdrawing that suport recently as it's too expensive (perhaps the IMF weren't impressed either ?)
There have been riots and demos in some
places.
Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 11:31
Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 11:31
G'day Footy,
I wonder if today's US$118 per barrel price will do anything to improve travel costs here.
I wonder if we will even get to see the fall in bowser prices any time soon. If we can believe the authorities they said that a $1 fall in the oil price per barrel equated to a 1c fall at the bowser. Given that we were paying peak prices when oil was near $150 per barrel this means that the bowser price should be down around 32c in the near future.
Did someone say they saw a flying pink pig go past their window ? I thought I saw a swarm of em...:-)))
Back to the subject at hand.
Anyone who says the high fuel prices wont have any impact in any way on their travel plans is still in denial.
I was staggered to read in the
forum about the cost some people expended getting to the EO gathering at Innaminka and back home. Did I read correctly that some people spent over $2,000 on fuel just getting there and back. For a few days that's a huge expense. I'm not saying that the gathering wasn't worth the expense and I probably would admit that I wish I had of made the journey myself however, I bet the impact of higher fuel costs on those members who did attend will have an impact on further travel over the ensuing weeks and months.
I'm sure tourism operators all over the country are feeling the impact of higher fuel costs.
Never mind countries like China and India reducing their appetite for fuel consumption to get our costs down, bring on the alternative fuel methods of transport I say. The sooner we start seeing viable alternative methods of transport on our roads the sooner you will start to see genuine reductions in fuel costs. There is no way those towel wearing dudes in the middle east want to loose their oil markets to alternative fuels and they will quickly reduce the oil costs to ensure markets remain loyal to fossil fuel consumption.
(Just my opinion)
Reply By: Member - Porl - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 13:16
Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 13:16
Courier Mail today has an article, some
bright spark in the Health department who noticed a lack of nurses available for relief work in the outback thought - what do retired nurses do in cities? They buy a 4WD and hitch a caravan and go travelling.
So thus the plan, Health Department now offers recently retired nurses a 4WD and a caravan, and no doubt fuel, if they travel the outback doing relief work for nurses. And of course, they can do what they like with the 4WD and the caravan when they are not on duty.
Very clever.
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 13:24
Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 13:24
The devil is probably in the detail but yes, a good idea and probably a whole lot cheaper than training new nurses and then convincing them to do the same job.
I could see a few retired from Govt jobs who would love to be given the same opportunities...perhaps teachers for a start ?
Follow Up By: al - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 18:29
Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 18:29
hi
my wife a nurse and say's she will go if they supply a winabago fully decked out. lol
al
Reply By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 13:56
Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 13:56
I am retired and on a pension, but love travelling.
I have recently completed a trip through the Qld Channel Country, and is some of those more remote locations fuel was around $2 per litre.
Because I do not usually have a time problem, I now find that if I want to "stretch" my fuel usage, I stay longer in
places where I don't need to drive much. This will be a new approach for me, but it will keep me on the road.
Being retired makes its easier to do this, but I do feel for the travellers and families with limited time trying to get a holiday in and needing to refuel on a daily basis.
Jack
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 14:02
Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 14:02
G'day, Jack. I have often wondered if this approach does actually achieve the savings necessary. Would not the cost of a site, and extra food etc end up being counterproductive ?
Good luck with it and I sure hope that I'm wrong!
Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 14:20
Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 14:20
Hi Footy:
Good point.
I think it does. You spend the same, but over a longer period of time. I spread it to cover the fortnightly "pay days".
Luckily I am able to get concessions in Nat Parks, which helps a lot. I also like the free camps when available. I only hit Caravan Parks when I have washing to do. I have never factored in the cost of extra food, because even if I am home I still have to eat. But, having said that, I
cook most of the time, rather than hitting restaurants, and my cooking is greatly enhanced with a bottle of nice red.
The most important thing is that it keeps me on the road, which is what I want.
Jack
Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 14:02
Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 14:02
I suspect that its a combination of price rises which appear to be resonsible for people curtailing their travels.
Ok, fuel has risen, but so to has the cost of servicing the vehicle, provisions for a trip, booze and smokes, not to mention hikes in rents, the reserve banks increases in interest rates...etc....etc...
4wders as with all the community are getting hit every which way but loose these days. I suspect not only travellers and tourists are tightening their belts but everyone else is too.
I bought my usual pie, sausage roll and iced coffee for brekky from our local
bakery this morning, yesterday it cost me $5-80. Today I paid $8-90.
This is serious folks.....stuff the price of fuel.......my staple diet is under threat here......hehehe.
Cheers.....Lionel.
Reply By: Off-track - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 14:17
Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 14:17
It has it's positives - less traffic on the open road and less crowded
camping spots etc.
Reply By: Nuccaleena Cottage and Moolooloo Shearers Quarters - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 15:29
Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 15:29
As we dabble in tourism as a side line for our drought effected sheep station I could tell you that rising fuel costs are definitely having an impact on tourism (
Flinders Ranges tourism at least). Last year particularly we noticed a decline in people travelling around our area. We still get our usual groups staying at our Shearer's Quarters but our most popular attraction over the years,
Blinman Hut, is only receiving half of the guests it's used too - which is a shame really.
Here is something i posted on
my blog Hope you get a laugh!
Lisa
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 16:03
Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 16:03
Thanks for that Lisa and yes, I did get a laugh :))