Should I name them - poor service!
Submitted: Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 00:23
Member - Captain (WA)
I had my ARB bullbar fitted today (not by ARB) after a 2 month wait from order to delivery. We had agreed on a price that included fitting and wiring the fog lights in the bar. For various reasons, I fitted my complete wiring harness (relays, switch etc...) and had the wires left cable tied behind the bumper ready to hook up.
A few days ago, I asked the sales manager for a bit of discount as the original price included the wring harness and fitting - he said he would work out a discount on the day.
I drop the vehicle off today, remind him that the wiring is cable tied behind the bumper, ready for connection. When I return to pick it up he says it took longer to fit than expected so couldn't afford to give a discount - I frown and think to myself hmm.. didn't expect that, NOT.
Anyway, I get home and go to check out the fog lights and guess what - THE WIRING IS STILL CABLE TIED UP!!!
Now to connect it up you now have to take all the splash guards off and contort your hand up to reach the wiring. I ring them straight away and all I get is a "sorry mate". No, "bring it back and we will fix" or anything about rectifying it. When I reminded him that I had PAID to have the whole wiring job done yet they couldn't even connect it up, the line went silent. After ~30 seconds of this I asked what were they going to do, "I already said sorry mate!".
Would you want to take your vehicle to this place and have over $2600 of accessories fitted and get this type of treatment? So, should I name this company or am I being niave in expecting a different response?
Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 01:16
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 01:16
Does the name start withan "O" or a "T"
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:18
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:18
Umm. NO!
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 01:33
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 01:33
your fault you should have checked it out would only have taken 30 sec.
you have paid and taken the vehicle away. So you cannot expect prompt rectification.
If you had not paid and left it with them to fix you would have got the phoncall saying all was fixed with an hour
- been there done that.
after taking vehicles in to get replacement radiators and getting them back still with a hole in them , taking vehicles in with fuel lines ripped ff and getting them back still with no fuel line you relize a job isnt done unless you can prove it wasnt done
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 01:34
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 01:34
oh
yea
your probabally lucky they even put the bullbar on before charging you
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:31
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:31
I did try to check, in fact spent several minutes but as it was totally behind splash plates, its not until you remove them that you can tell. I was happy enough with the rest of the job I could see so I paid up. My beef was more the attitude I got when I phoned back, they just really didn't want to know about it.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 15:34
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 15:34
sorry had few befor posting that. My point was Ive xperienced the same attitude when ringign back about work not done. The place we were taking the work vehicles was so bad KALGOORLIE TOYOTA tat I had to start dong full inspectons of the job seets as they were filling them out then inspecting the work according to the job sheet. I found work got rectified much quicker and courtiously when you refused to take possesion of the vehicle or pay until work was carried out as per their job sheet
Reply By: Member - Effie C (ACT) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 02:19
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 02:19
I would suggest taking the matter up with the owners / managers, if this is who you have already spoken to then suggest place your grievence in writing and include copies of any documented evidence of the quote given, when you informed staff of wiring already installed etc. and suggest if they can not rectify the problem that consumer affairs may be the next port of call.
I would assume you recieved a tax invoice from this company stating what they supplied and work carried out,requried if you every need warranty repairs etc.
Are they an accredited agent of ARB?
Naming them on a public
forum will not help your case in getting the wiring connected or a refund of the difference in the quoted works and the actual works performed.
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:34
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:34
Hi Effie,
Its easy enough to fix, just a bit of time. In fact probably less time to do myself than the time it would take to follow it up. Just aggrieves me that I actually paid to get something done, it wasn't done and they don't care.
Reply By: troopyman - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 05:26
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 05:26
They sound like complete jerks . On the other hand i have nothing but praise for my local 4x4 (QLD ARB
shop) . Personally i wouldnt name them for legal reasons . Its a real PITA when this happens . Always get quotes in writing before work is carried out . The quote should have stipulated what work was to be carried out . If they wont give a detailed quote then you know something is up .
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:45
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:45
I have a detailed quote for the job. It was me who had the wiring done in advance and while I "should" have got a discount for it, I was not holding my breath and really, they had my order for it so should still get their margin and I should only be discounted the trade cost of parts.
All I want to do is find a 4X4
shop that does QUALITY work for an agreed price. And if mistakes occur, just sort them out quickly and easily. At the price I paid, they had plenty of margin to cover a very minor issue like this. Its more about attitude in this case.
Follow Up By: troopyman - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 16:36
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 16:36
I know its annoying when the
shop is convieniently located and maybe not another
shop around and you really want to go back . You could always hope for new owners i guess LOL .
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 06:24
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 06:24
Absolutley. If this
forum can't serve as a place to discuss good and bad service from different
places then how will be know where to get good service or not. For everyone who bags a place there will always be someone else who replies with a positive for the same place.
Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 08:11
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 08:11
Personally I'm not a great lover of bagging a company on an open
forum. I can understand why you are pis$ed off, I would be as
well.
I would take the vehicle back and speak to them (the boss) in person having a letter to hand to the boss stating the facts and why you feel they have not honoured what you both had agreed on. If this does not help indicate you intend to take the matter further.
Of course if you don't have a written quote detailing they had to do the wiring,
well it will be simple your word against theirs and name and shame may get you into some legal area you don't won't to be in.
If that is the case slip it into the bag of experiences (I have a big bag of these) and just wire it up and no more stress :) life's to short.
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:50
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:50
Hi Brian,
I do have a detailed written quote and the fact I had the wiring done in advance is not their fault. I don't mind paying them the margin they would have made on the wiring, but it would have be good business sense to have refunded me the trade cost of the parts, even if it was only a token gesture.
This has already taken up more time than it does to fix, its more about the attitude. I just want to find a 4X4 place that I have confidence in to take to get work done and not have to check every last detail. I don't mind paying a fair price, but I do expect a proper job to be done.
Reply By: brentos - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 08:40
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 08:40
NAME THEM!! i say.
i along with many other people have had enough of the ripp off
scaming,profitiering companys.send em broke,the customer is always right,if you can't do a job properly don't do it at all,especially if you ar charging top dollar for the service.
you expect the job done right the first time and once only.
as the old saying goes if you want somthing done properly do it your self.
regards Brentos
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:52
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:52
Hi Brentos,
Thats what I think, but its their livelihood and at the end of the day its only a small matter really - just some time to fix. Its more their attitude when I phoned them back that really pee'd me off.
Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 08:49
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 08:49
if it were me...
i'd take the car back, have the work finsihed accordingly after telling them that I expect a partial refund for the work that they didnt have to do and your wasted time and travelling.
If it doesnt eventuate "Demand" the refund for your time and travellingl ..if that doesnt happen waste their time in the small claims court sueing them for time wasted and expenses getting the car back to them...
you'd be supprised what a little official scare can do ... "scare" meaning its the first lot of court papers served on them informing them you intend to sue...In SA this makes room for negotiations between to the two parties before going to court....but you must be prepared to continue if these negotiations do not get a result...one never know who the magistrate will favour...and if you win you get all your court expenses back also
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 09:01
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 09:01
Excellent advice Nudie.
The only thing I would add is that all communication from this time forward be in writing. This will help with your legal action Mark.
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:12
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:12
Id go with Member No 1,
Trying going in their first and making sure you have been dealing with the boss and not some desk fairy though.
If all else fails and you end up in court....Id name them so no one else gets caught out by the same mob.
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:23
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:23
If I was behind the counter I could probably handle Member No 1 but if Hairy walked in I would duck for cover.....hahahahaha
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:37
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:37
Gday Willem,
Come on...people might get the wrong impression!
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:55
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:55
Hi Nudie,
At the end of the day, its only going to take me less than an hour to fix properly. If I had the time to follow up legally I reckon I would win, but I am time poor :(
Much easier and less stress to fix it properly myself and get on with it. I still have
suspension,
snorkel, draws etc... to fit and guess who is not getting that work!!!'
Follow Up By: autosparky - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 20:42
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 20:42
auto sparkies are charging $70-$100 an hour ,reclaim it
Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 08:53
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 08:53
Hi Captain
It is disappointing when things go pearshaped with the fitting or with repairs to a vehicle.
I do not think that naming this company will serve any benefit as we have just heard your side of the story and it is difficult to ascertain just what was said. I have been dudded many times and have mentioned these transgressiomns against me here on this
forum without naming names or company profiles.
Best thing is to get over it. I know, it sits in your gut and you get angry, but it really isn't worth the stress.
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:59
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 10:59
Last night I was all steamed up, but after a good nights sleep your right, just not worth the stress. Will fix it myself and not go back. As for naming them, its their livelihood and the job they did do was OK. I have decided not to name them, but if someone was to MM me to make sure they knew who to avoid,
well that would be OK wouldn't it?
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 11:41
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 11:41
send them a bill at least for finishing off work they should have done....I can send you a invoice to forward on to them if you like...have some fun arguing your rights at least
and if a national chain write a letter to their head office (franchise or not)
Reply By: DIO - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 08:58
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 08:58
You might feel that by naming the company it will afford you some degree of satisfaction or revenge. As you've only stated your side of the story (there's always two sides to any argument/disagreement) and without hearing all the facts from the company, naming them would be inappropriate and may result in legal action against you, I would suggest you either go back to them and get it sorted or fix it yourself and forget about settling any score you believe you may have with them..
Reply By: Member - peter C (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 09:52
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 09:52
while agreeing that naming companies on an open
forum that do the wrong thing is not necessarily productive i think we all should praise those that look after us
well as this is the best thanks we can give. I will start the ball rolling by naming TJM dandenong[vic] Prestige towbars dandenong and Southern towbars
adelaide as 3 companies that have worked on or fitted accessories to my 4x4 and given excellent friendly helpful service peter
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 11:06
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 11:06
Thats the disappointing thing. Up till now, these guys had been reasonably good and I was hoping to find a 4X4 store I could get work done that I was happy with, not have to double
check every last nut and bolt and have confidence in. I am particular about work to my vehicle, it has cost me a lot of money and I want to make sure things are done right - I don't think that is too much to expect, especially if I am paying a fair price for the work.
I would have been much happier to be in a position to praise them, but
well... it could have been so much different if on the phone call they simply said "sorry, bring it right back and we will fix it". I would have not bothered to take it back (didn't have the time) but at least I would have felt they had pride in their workmanship and thus had the confidence to go back there again.
Reply By: plusteck - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 12:21
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 12:21
If they are a member of MTA a quick phone call to their office, MTA are not happy when they receive bad complaints about any of its members. I had issues with my gas when it was installed, wouldnt even pass the pit inspections the company that installed the gas virtually said tuff luck, I made the camplaint to MTA, the following week the car was back in he workshop getting fixed and no cost to me .
Reply By: Rod W - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 14:48
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 14:48
I say name em, you may be only the tip of the ice berg. I'm sure they watch this site so they could offer their side of the story
Reply By: d04 - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 21:09
Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 21:09
name them I might be going into their
shop tomorrow.
Reply By: Ozboc - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 08:56
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 08:56
If you dont get any joy from them - then spend $29.00 register a complaint with Department of fair trading and organize a day to have your case heard -- choose a location that is not handy for the
shop as they will basically have to spend most of the day going to tribunal and a large loss of time on there behalf ... There is a very good chance you will get what you want
most times this is enough for any company that does not have the time to come to the table and repair any stuff ups at no cost with maybe some additional
services to compensate for original stuff ups
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 11:01
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 11:01
Hi Ozboc,
I agree that there is every chance I would get from Dep of FT what I want, but its simply not worth my time, I am in the same boat as the
shop - I am time poor and from a simple financial point of view I would lose even if I won!
All I really wanted when I phoned back was for the company to say "... no problem, bring it right back and we will fix it..." Even then I would have done the work myself (harder for me to be without vehicle while they fixed) but been happy that at least the company stood behind their work.