110 watt monocrystalline solar panel

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 16:04
ThreadID: 60578 Views:4951 Replies:3 FollowUps:15
G'day to all from a new member. This is my first post. There are some 110 watt monocrystalline solar panels on eBay for $768 incl. postage(buy it now.) Are they good quality panels and would 110 watts be adequate to run a 70lt evakool frdge/freezer, one or two 12v lights for 2-3 hrs and a 38cm lcd tv for about an hour per night? The panel would be charging a 100 amp/hr gel type battery. Also what would be a good solar regulator to match? Any help and advice would be appreciated.

Reply By: Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 16:24

Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 16:24
Hi Gary

If it is the one I am thinking of it is "Dimensions: 1100 x 670 x 28mm" and this would be more like a 90W panel as a 110W panel should be closer to 1400x670.

I would be very careful as you get what you pay for in solar. Any good regulator around 12A would be fine. Get one that shows diagnostics and battery voltage if possible.

Derek.

AnswerID: 319589

Follow Up By: Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 16:30

Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 16:30
P.S. Does the seller not have solar regulators to suit this size panel.
FollowupID: 586207

Follow Up By: Member - Gary H (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 16:54

Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 16:54
Your right Derek. The dimensions of the panel matched what you stated. I will be more careful in future. Would an 80 watt quality panel be enough for what i want or is it better to go 100watts or even a bit higher? Thanks.
FollowupID: 586211

Follow Up By: Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 17:02

Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 17:02
For the 70L Evakool 100W is best.

Derek.

FollowupID: 586214

Follow Up By: Member - Gary H (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 17:10

Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 17:10
Thanks Derek, will do some serious research on quality 100 watt panels.
FollowupID: 586215

Follow Up By: Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 17:25

Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 17:25
Where are you planning to use the panels. Mounted on the van in the picture or loose ? This too would determine the best set up.

Perhaps make a frame so they can easily be removed if needed.

More info and we can give you best advice and recommend your options.

FollowupID: 586218

Follow Up By: Member - Gary H (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 18:44

Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 18:44
Think i will go with a portable (loose) 100 watt panel, maybe a foldable one for storage reasons.(and a good chain and padlock to secure it when in use). Not to worried about not having it up on the van roof as the battery can still be charged from the alternator whilst on the move, plus i can maximise the sun tracking through the day by moving it around. I have a generator but would rather rely on solar power and only use the genie when it was nescessary.
FollowupID: 586235

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 19:14

Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 19:14
Gary, Derek might be too shy to say so, but he sells the kit you seem to need. 100W folding solar panel kit with carry bag, regulator and cables - ready to clip to battery for $1,195 (hope I have that right.ABR Sidewinder I've delt with Derek as have many other on this forum. Good reliable business.

The only system that seems to be as good a value that I can find is an 80W bifold system from Fridge and Solar. Also a good reliable business.

Norm C
AnswerID: 319615

Follow Up By: Paul Grabonski. Vic - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 07:02

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 07:02
what a ripoff price for 100 foldup kit $1195 is highway theft

you can buy 60w panels for $450 2 for $900
Sunsaver reggie $85
bit of cable and clips $40
hinges case clip handle Bunnings $31
bag sew up yourself from 90% shade cloth $20
total $1076 and 20w more panel capacity
made 4 up at 4wd club in 2 hrs
FollowupID: 586296

Follow Up By: Mainey (wa) - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 08:02

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 08:02
Mr Grabonski, it's not very nice to suggest it's a 'rip-off price' without nominating the comparative BRAND of the Solar panel you made up at in 2 hours in the 4wd club, and where GARRY H (nsw) can purchase same - if he feels they in fact are more suitable !!

Mainey . . .
FollowupID: 586302

Follow Up By: guzzi - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 08:28

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 08:28
A rip off eh.
A mere $120 more than you paid.
Cost of fuel to run around pricing and picking up all the required bits and transport to "The 4wd club" $30 ?
Cost of a sewing machine for bag $200? or get it run up at the local motor trimmer $60?
2 hours labour to put it all together $70
Oh look no warrenty on your assembled item.
No rent on the premises you built it in.
No provisional tax.
Well that's up to $130 if you dont buy a sewing machine.
All well and good to make sweeping statements and stand back and throw schitt and you are correct that if you have the equipment and time and knowledge you can save yourself some money.
So why aren't you selling your 120W system for $1076 delivered with a warrenty?
Oh thats right you might want to eat and there's no profit in it at that price.
Just to get you started Ill buy one of yours hows $1000 delivered and I want a 2 yr warrenty, they should be a lot cheaper since you'll be buying everything in bulk and have no overheads.
FollowupID: 586311

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 08:28

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 08:28
Paul your use of the term ' rip off' in this instance is somewhat over the top. For someone who has not done something like this before, you need to add time for research, then time for shopping etc, time for making up the carry bag (which I doubt is in your time frame), plus the issue of convenience, confidence, warranty etc.

I suspect that many people would see the relatively small saving (given the circumstances) you have achieved as being hardly worth the effort.

For you and your 4WD Club, it clearly was worth while, so well done on that, but for many (most?) others, the complete system is probably fair value.

FollowupID: 586312

Follow Up By: Member - Gary H (NSW) - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 08:44

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 08:44
Thanks all for your help. Will take it all on board and do some more research and hopefully find a good system at a fair price.
FollowupID: 586318

Follow Up By: Paul Grabonski. Vic - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 18:49

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 18:49
Guzzi "A rip off eh. A mere $120 more than you paid." yes well mate you get dodgy traders everywhere and because they advertise on Exploroz does not give them the right to ripoff potential customers.
a $120 more for 20w less which is one major ripoff. work out the price per watt. 100w to 120w is 20% more for less money.
wakeup and stop been ripped off by dodgy overpriced traders. Get out and do a little homework. Is a no brainer to put 2 solar panels together in a suitcase setup.
FollowupID: 586422

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 20:26

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 20:26
Paul,
I hope you can reconsider your posts.

Sure, you could get a better price per watt than what companies like Derek's or eg Energy matters charge if you DIY. But it aint that simple. Not everyone is an electical engineer.

And maybe your solution isn't as schmick as you think.
FollowupID: 586444

Follow Up By: guzzi - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 20:32

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 20:32
PG,
You have missed my point.
Yes, if you have the skills and time you can build a cheaper system, as it happens so can I.
However many people cant so they will pay someone else to do it for them.
This is apparently a "rip off" ?
No , it's how the retail system works.
Yes 4x4 is largely a recreational pastime, yes a lot of things are priced until it hurts, that doesnt mean they're "dodgy" they just dont have any competition to bring the prices down.
As to the 2 busniness's involved in this thread, if either was dodgy they wouldn't be in business for long.
People will pay what they feel is a fair price and these business's will accomodate them, they will also offer a warrenty and advice and backup their product.
Dodgy business's will only take your money, supply dodgy equipment and disapear with your money.
Go talk to the dodgy traders that sold you all the components to build your system, you've paid at least 3 times what they paid, is it still dodgy? Nope thats just about the margin required to cover costs and make a profit.
And as you've proved you dont have to pay full price all the time, if you have the time and skills to do it yourself.
FollowupID: 586449

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 20:46

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 20:46
Exactly Guzzi

PG, as it happens I am an electical engineer. ( are you?)

I have spent about 20 - 30 hours looking into what is the best solar system for me, I *think* I have found it but am not sure yet.

At $100 per hour that is about $2700 I would have billed myself on top of the hardware. Either
a)you know a lot more than I do about this stuff, which is possible
b)I have the need and ability to take an extra step
c)Suppliers and myself have it all wrong and you know better.

One thing is for certain, you are wrong to indicate to most people that companies mentioned are rip offs. I bet your system is sub optimal if you are not qualified, this IS complicted stuff for people who know what is going on, maybe not for you though.

You don't know what you don't know. Especially with engineering.

Please don't slur people unless you have grounds. What are YOUR Qualifications in this area?
FollowupID: 586452

Reply By: Mainey (wa) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 20:32

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 20:32
If you type 360075859437 into the e-bay “fast find” address bar you see the panel specifications:

Brand “X” ?? Monocrystalline 110 Watt panel
1100 x 670 (0.74 Sq Mt)
Weight: 13.5kg
17.82 Volt
6.4 Amp

Below I’ve printed the (respective) specifications for BP & Sharp 80 Watt Solar panels
(for comparison purposes only)

“Sharp” Multicrystalline 80 Watt panel
1214 x 545 (0.66 Sq Mt)
Weight: 8.5 Kg
17.3 Volt
4.6 Amp

“BP” Polycrystalline 80 Watt panel
1210 x 537 (0.65 Sq Mt)
Weight: 7.7Kg
17.6 Volt
4.8 Amp

What I (DON’T) see about the Solar panel on E-bay is the manufacturer’s BRAND name, you want to know who is going to honour warranty claims – don’t you?
After all it’s not the seller giving the warranty, it’s the manufacturer.

The technical Specifications on the ‘site’ are assumed to be correct because they are printed there for prospective customers to read for comparative purposes, so you expect them to be true.
However, I find them difficult to believe, or should I just say I don’t believe them !!

Mainey . . .
AnswerID: 320026