EO no longer as active??

Submitted: Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 19:18
ThreadID: 60621 Views:3734 Replies:9 FollowUps:18
I've recently (6 days ago) returned from 5 months away 'on the road' and fishing in NT. Occasionally logged onto EO via Next G, but for short periods only.

Now that I'm home, since I watch little TV (in the 5 months away, I watched 3 shows - RL State of Origon 1, 2 and 3), I find myself in the office on the PC with EO on line in the evening.

Perhaps the memory has dimmed, but I seem to racall that 6 months ago I could take a break and click on EO after 30 mins and find at least 20 or 30 new posts. Now there are often just half a dozen (sometimes much less) in the same time.

Is my memory wrong? Are many EOers smart and 'on the road' themselves? Or are we running out of ideas with posts declining?

Have not tried to find stats, but am I right?

Norm C

Reply By: TD100 - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 19:38

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 19:38
Hi Norm,

no you are not imagining it,i have said it numerous times to my wife that is is extremely quiet compared to how it was 5 or so years ago. i think people are over the "crap factor" that is getting worse. also many are finding other forums to frequent but i find the others are no different, i prefer this one still even though i will probably now cop a right 'ol drillin about my comments but its the truth so i will now just pipe down and go back to sleep. cheers and happy return to us Paul
AnswerID: 319830

Follow Up By: socket - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 20:03

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 20:03
g,day yep crap factor is right, alot of dick heads on this forum , not all just alot . what do ya do dave
FollowupID: 586439

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:26

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:26
A good self assessment socket
FollowupID: 586496

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:34

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:34
JohnR,

FollowupID: 586510

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:33

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:33
G'day Al, I had just added you to my new Next G phone too, now I have got it there, I better use it. The old GSM couldm't seem to transfer numbers or was going to take ages one at a time. I had to transfer all the numbers from the PDA to Outlook, having previously taken the precaution of saving the normal Outlook email addresses. Delete the Contacts.... ahhhh, hope all is well.

Anyway al there but the ones in the phone so I am grabbing those as I go.
FollowupID: 586544

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 20:00

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 20:00
The system stats would not agree with this 100%. There have been a few periods of less activity in the forum however we have seen a huge increase in other page traffic. Places for instance has seen a 70% PV increase per month for the last 3 months, trader is busy as usual and has the standard average number of listings. We do find that traffic does slow down a little in this period as a very large number of people are travelling. There are ebbs and flows however traffic stats will only say that last week was less busy than the week before by about 10%. This week has been more busy however that does not have to reflect in the number of forum threads that are entered.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 319834

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 20:05

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 20:05
Norm

There are less questions about batteries, tyres and fridges....lol

Many of the old stalwarts have started moving on. Its like getting involved with something in earnest but then after a while, you lose interest. I have told myself to go and do something else but EO has a become a way of life...when I am home!

Lots of new Members and maybe they are just watching to see what comes up. I try to make interesting posts sometimes. Should do something controversial, eh?

I think most of the Topical agrguments have dissipated such as Global Warming, Gun Control, Aboriginal Lands and fridges, tyres, batteries.

Also the fuel price, which is still topical, is really biting into peoples pockets and so my view is that people would say Bugger I can't do as many trips so I won't get involved on the forum....

Dunno.... maybe its just winter and its too bloody cold to think!!!

AnswerID: 319836

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 20:19

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 20:19
gday all

dont let it get to the stage where it upsets you, just remember to have a laugh from time to time.

a dig at each other is what its all about :-))))
FollowupID: 586442

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T NT - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:06

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:06
Willem
( EO has a become a way of life ) is that why I returned,
Been feeding more photo's into "places" along the way too.

FollowupID: 586503

Follow Up By: Member - Leave_enough_space - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:22

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:22
"a dig at each other is what its all about :-))))"

And that's why there were so many problems on these forums about 3 to 6 months ago!

There's got to be more to these forums than that!

Bob Send
FollowupID: 586507

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 15:16

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 15:16
BOB SEND

its called a SENSE OF HUMOUR.

not sure where you can buy one but well worth having one.

FollowupID: 586576

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 17:30

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 17:30
and Mark, Bob Send HAS a sense of humour otherwise h wouldnt be called ... Bob Send, or Robert Send or R Send or Ar$e End.

Take the good with the bad I reckon

FollowupID: 586600

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 19:55

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 19:55
BONZ

a big :-)
FollowupID: 586625

Reply By: guzzi - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 20:39

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 20:39
Off hand I'd say at this time of year a lot of the lucky barstools are off actually travelling, not sitting behind a desk, starring at a bloody computer wishing they were travelling, like me :(
AnswerID: 319843

Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 20:55

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 20:55
Ot Norm, but welcome home you lucky buggar. Are you going to give us a run down on your 5 months away. The fishing down here is very quite, most lilely their encased in ice. Max temp today in Bathurst was 8, Orange would have been colder, brrr.
AnswerID: 319845

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 21:40

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 21:40
Pete, we had a great time. Spent most of our time at King Ash Bay on the McArthur River. Very relaxing. Plenty of fish, but you sometimes had to work to get them. Lots of crabs and a few good feeds of prawns.

Apart from the fishing, we just like being out there.Camp fire every night. Cooking on the fire most nights. Light the fire and put the billy on first thing in the morning (if not fishing)

It is such a great life, we are heading back to the same area as part of our travels next year. If the wet season lets us, we plan on heading off late Jan/ early Feb.
FollowupID: 586465

Reply By: Ozboc - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 21:03

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 21:03
maybe all the wowsers here have scared people off asking questions , after all , how many times have someone asked a question just to get a reply like " Check the archives "

maybe thats what happening now ..

Boc
AnswerID: 319848

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 21:13

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 21:13
Seriously , if someone gets "SCARED" off by someone saying " Check the archives " or anything else for that matter , then should they really be on the internet??....For christ sakes man , we are all friggin adults...aren't we??

Surely not everyone that visits EO are sooks!!

Cheers......Borgy
FollowupID: 586459

Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 21:19

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 21:19
Agree Ozboc,

and Borgy, yes we are all adults but that is no excuse to be arrogant and rude.

FollowupID: 586461

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 21:25

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 21:25
equinox

I seriously believe some people read to much into other peoples replies...and some people are just natuarally arrogant and rude without even meaning to be...

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 586462

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 21:44

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 21:44
Well to me I read the "check the archives" as a hint that there is a lot of information there that the poster wants to make you aware of but doesn't have the time to repeat.

Like the question on the Wilcannia-Bourke roads - that was discussed a week ago or so, so I just said thread xxx because that is all I had time to do at that moment. If I had more time I might have elaborated on the "scenic" part of the question.
FollowupID: 586467

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:27

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:27
Yes i agree , we are all adults and sometimes should take it on the chin - But there have been a few new posters to this site that did not know how to use the search function - and when they posted there first message - they were hit with " This has been asked millions of times did you even bother to check the archives." And as a first time poster , this impression sticks.

The more polite way , and helpful way would have been to maybe do a quick search yourself ( as the respondent) then say something like, i had a quick check of the archive and found a post that may be helpful to you (quote link) . This is far more productive than giving them the finger and telling them to go figure it out yourself..

This site can be sensory overload for any new comer, and correct me if i am wrong BUT the idea of an open forum such as this is to help others in an informative way rather than a "find it yourself" attitude

Ok , i will step down from my soap box now ..

Boc
FollowupID: 586497

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 07:33

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 07:33
Good to see you back Norm glad you had a good time, did you manage to do the rudder for your boat when you use the electric?

I feel it also has been quite I just figure people are out and about this time of the year.

Still enjoy the site and am still learning plenty and I get help when I do ask even if its is a stupid question to some.

AnswerID: 319886

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:12

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:12
Thanks Brian. No I didn't bother with the rudder idea. Decided I didn't really need it.
FollowupID: 586491

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 07:49

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 07:49
Welcome back Norm,

We're looking forward to catching up with you as soon as we can.... but to answer your question..... I do think it's a bit quieter here, but I think a lot of people are travelling at he moment as well. Some older members have moved on as well...
But the "crap" factor is definitely more than it used to be, because of that I actually let my membership go early this year, then came back to EO for help with trip planning for our Birdsville sojourn. So of course then I remembered why I joined in the first place and so re-joined! Just got to ignore the "crap".... LOL.....

Anyways, we'll talk with you soon mate.

AnswerID: 319887

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:17

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:17
Hi Brian, look forward to hearing about your recent travels.

When we left on our trip (March), there were few 'Grey Nomads' on the road. All the talk was about fuel prices and how it had stopped a lot of travellers.

On our way home (late July), the roads were full. Vans everywhere. So yes, the smart / lucky ones are on the road.

Norm C
FollowupID: 586492

Reply By: skulldug - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 18:18

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 18:18
Norm,

I'm with the di@k head theory. This site remains the best I have ever seen with the exception of a couple of real cupcakes.

Skull
AnswerID: 319997