Appreciate some help for anyone in Alice Springs or who knows the place well
Submitted: Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:00
Member - RFLundgren (WA)
Well we have made it across the Gunbarrel through Uluru and now onto Alice.
A few issues along the way, although nothing major. Tracy had started to get sick with a cold the day after we left, which got progressively worse and worse. Popped into the clinic at
Warburton, but they didnt really do too much there at all.
Went to see the nurse at Kings Canyon, what an awesome nurse she was. We walked in and she said - " no wonder you are not feeling
well, because you loook like bleep " ....LOL....now there is a nurese getting straight to the point.
Got various medicines for severe tonsilitus and severe infections in both ears. Happy to say she is coming good now finally.
Couple os other small things, like a smashed rear windscreen and what appears to be some deep cycle problems, which bring me to the subject of this post.
For any of you
Alice Springs natives or ex natives, I need some advice on a few things as I dont really want to be taken for a ride.
1) Best place to get replacement rear windscreen
2) Place who can check my battery to see what is happening. (Sometimes holds charge and sometimes doesent)
3) Best butcher to replenish out cryovac meat stocks.
4) A nice restaurant in town so I can take Tracy out for our 21st wedding anniversary.
Think thats about it for now, so any help with the above would be very much appreciated.
Will post more about the trip later in my blog as to date after about 12 days I have something like 18 pages written which I am not going to type while here in Alice.
Thanks all and will check back soon.
Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:03
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:03
Sounds like you had an eventful trip.
Send Hairy an MM and he should be able to point you in the right direction.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - RFLundgren (WA) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:18
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:18
Thanks Kev
Yes I was thinking of Hairy, so will most likely send him a message once my fingers thaw out. -1.1 here at the moment so says my thermometer...LOL
Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:13
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:13
Richard ,
I went to a nice tapas restaurant in tha Todd Mall a couple of weeks ago . Very nice meal .
Willie .
Follow Up By: Member - RFLundgren (WA) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:19
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:19
Willie
Will be in town today so will have a look at see. Thanks
Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:21
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:21
Richard,
Sorry to hear of your woes mate..... I can't help with your questions but as stated above Hairy should be able to..... but what I can suggest for the remainder of your trip is to protect your rear windows like I did on our trip to
Birdsville. we cut some 3" thick foam mattress into window panels and taped them to the rear windows of our Patrol with race tape, from Supercheap. It didn't come off, or move or even flap..... brilliant. Copped a flogging from the stones as
well! We counted 5 broken rear windows the day we arrived in
Birdsville. And lots of people asked how/why etc we did it.... many wishing they had done the same.
(Click my rig pic below to see it)
Hope Tracy recuperates fully and good luck for the rest of your adventure
Follow Up By: Member - RFLundgren (WA) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:28
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:28
Yes I did think about rear window protection before leaving, but thought,
well I havent broken one in 9 years so why this trip. Murphy's law I guess. I will see what I can find here in Alice, before we head up the Tanami.
Tracy is getting much better and now I have it and am getting worse. What can you do except soldier on I guess. Another one of those Murphy's law things :)
Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:45
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:45
Morning Richard
Have sent you a MM
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:46
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 08:46
PS
Woolworths butcher will cryovac meat for you for free.
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:23
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:23
You tight ar$e......LOL
Suprised you didnt suggest putting raod kill in an old shopping bag with a whole in it and sticking it over your exhaust pipe...
Sorry, thats how you smoke your meat isnt it?
I sent them to Milners
LOL Cheers Hairy
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:33
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:33
At least you've done something good today. Thanks for helping out.
Whats tight about spending oodles of lolly at Woolies and getting a freebie?
Cheers, you stirrer!!!
Follow Up By: Member - RFLundgren (WA) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 13:14
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 13:14
Appreciate both your suggestions. Will check out both on Monday to get meat ready to pick up on Tuesday morning.
Reply By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:03
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:03
Geoffery Roe or Jimmy Harris in Hele Crescent should be able to do your battery check.
There used to be a windscreen guy called Trustys.
As to eating dont know any more there used to be a few good ones around like overlander steak house and the golden inn on undoolya.
Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:06
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:06
Just as an aside if you want to see what a working station is like Richie Hayes at Undoolya Station does a few different
types of tours and they also own
The Gardens and Deep
Well stations. Could be worth checking out.
Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:13
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:13
Haven't lived there for a couple of years, but we thought the best butcher was the one in the Milner Rd shops. Also did cryovaccing. Also used to get the best oysters I have ever tasted sent in by air.
Hairy and I both recommended the same auto electrician to another similar post a few months ago, Can't remember the name but you will find them just off Larapinta Drive in either George or Fogarty St.
Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:18
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:18
Wouldnt be Don Grants would it ?
Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 15:05
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 15:05
No, it wasn't Don Grants. Nothing against DGs, I just have never used them and the place I did use looked after me
well.
Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 15:21
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 15:21
Re better eateries. Depends a bit on price. Jimmy Schu's Thai place, Hanumans at the Crown Plaza is outstanding. Upmarket decor. His
places in Alice and
Darwin are widely famous. Not cheap, but good value for what you get, if you like Thai. They have variations on Thai food that aren't the normal. If you go there, don't miss the Hanaman oysters.
One of our favourites was Case Nostra. Looks like 70's Italian inside. Warm friendly. family sort of place. Sort of middle price range. Very Italian. Some of the best pasta sauces I have had anywhere. They also had a sort of vanilla slice dessert to die for. We always rang for a booking and ordered
the desert in advance because it is very popular and often runs out. Every guest we ever took there said it was the best vanilla slice they had ever had.
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 16:47
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 16:47
Gday again,
Forgot to say in the MM...
If you go to Milners..get some marinated lamb shanks! Excellent in the
camp oven!!!
Also there lamb cutlets are great.
Reply By: caddz - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 21:40
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 21:40
Richard, did a rear window on the LC 100 coming back from Chalbers Pillar this time last year, The people at Trusty Windscreen Service @ the Alice were very helpful, even rang the insurance co on our behalf to
check cover etc. Same day service & also gave us their solution!! (the cardboard the replacement glass came in to cover rear window)
Caddz
Reply By: Member - Bob of KAOS - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 22:40
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 22:40
Bluegrass Restaurant has been good. It may not be the cheapest place but food and wine are good, and it has that special feel for an important occasion.
Reply By: Bagwon - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 16:46
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 16:46
If you like interesting old things go to Bojangles in centre of town.Foods not bad either and cold beer.