got one of these

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 12:55
ThreadID: 60639 Views:2896 Replies:9 FollowUps:14
Image Could Not Be Found are there any other eo members who own or have had one of these . this is my 1964 halflinger it was my first 4wd could never bring myself to sell it doesn't do much 4x4ing these days but she still goes. just curious if anybody shares my passion for them.

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 13:23

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 13:23
Just curious...is it called a Hal-flinger or Half-linger?

AnswerID: 319944

Follow Up By: Justin & Tracey (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 13:34

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 13:34
it is actually a haflinger sorry missed that spelling mistake they are the made by the same company that makes pinsgowers not sure of spelling on that one tho
FollowupID: 586565

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 13:40

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 13:40
LOL, thanks for that....i never knew the correct spelling anyway. :-)

FollowupID: 586566

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 13:44

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 13:44
Pinzgauer....LOL

My mates Dad had a Haflinger on his farm circa 1960 when we were teenagers, and we took that little thing everywhere and it was lighter than the later Suzuki soft-top and could be picked up and moved if we bogged it. Excellent off road machine but slow as a snail on the road :-)

FollowupID: 586567

Follow Up By: Justin & Tracey (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 14:00

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 14:00
mine sposed to do 44mph but dont think she would do that now . 600cc engine independent susp front and rear lockers ahead of its time
FollowupID: 586569

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 14:38

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 14:38
In the early 70's my first husband and I had a couple of VW Country buggies - we went everywhere in them - I used to do the Kindy run with a couple of kids and a baby in the bassinet behind the front seat. We would take it up to Double Island POint fishing. It was light and easy to move if in a bog hole.
The kids tell me their Dad still has one of them. There was a group of us who all had them - we must have been trendies. LOL
AnswerID: 319951

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 08:54

Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 08:54
Hi Ruth,

ahhhhhh the Country Buggy!!! I always wanted one of those!!! I have a soft spot for all things VW!!! (Classic VW's more so than the modern ones...) Had a 72 Super Bug that Gayleen and I restored, tremendous vehicle! Loved the old Kombies too!!!

FollowupID: 586730

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 11:18

Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 11:18
Hi Brian, the baby in the bassinet mentioned above (my younger son) loves VW's also - he has a combi, an old white hatchback of his Grandmother's, his partner has a beetle and when he was younger restored one of those ones (can't for the life of me remember the name) but he painted it shiny purple with silver sparkles - like a flatter more modern version of the country buggy. (it would be easier to ring him and ask him than dig myself in deeper here). There isn't any more room in their backyard for the chook house now.
FollowupID: 586757

Reply By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 15:04

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 15:04
If my somewhat withered memory serves me correctly there was also a similar thing made by Puch.

I think they were a German mob who specialised in two stroke engines and also dabbled in chainsaws.

AnswerID: 319952

Follow Up By: Justin & Tracey (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 15:19

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 15:19
haflingers are made by the company puch
FollowupID: 586577

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 15:28

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 15:28
Our 4wd club has a sort of "test track" at the Paskeville Field Days (held every 2nd year in September). A bloke rocked up in one of those (fully restored) last September and asked if we'd be interested in seeing it go through it's paces over the lumps and bumps of the test track. No worries, we said.
He took each of us with him for a few laps. It's an eirie feeling being at the windscreen, no seat belts and going down fairly steep descents etc.
The only thing it got hung-up on was a sharp jump-up which required more ramp-over angle than he had available. More gear sticks than you could poke a gear lever at!!!! hahahaha

The bloke actually drove it down from somewhere up in the mid north at a top speed of about 60 k/h I think he said.

AnswerID: 319957

Reply By: sfletch - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 15:40

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 15:40
Remember seeing a show on tv many many many years ago when a couple of blokes took something that looked like this to Cape York, had bobcat tyres fitted on it, might have been called a Daff or something ???
AnswerID: 319961

Follow Up By: Justin & Tracey (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 16:57

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 16:57
my father told me about that tv show it was a haflinger and they went east west across cape york putting the haflinger in a large punt when they came to rivers to cross them. and i have a set off sml tractor tyres for mine when i go playing in the mud
FollowupID: 586589

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 08:56

Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 08:56
sfletch,

Albie Mangels took a Daf everywhere in the 70's..... that might be what you're thinking of?? His first show was brilliant, but then the producers took over and commercialized it!

FollowupID: 586731

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 15:59

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 15:59
This from Wikipedia.

They were made by the Austrian firm Steyr-Daimler-Puch between 1959 and 1974 and were exported all over the world. A total of 16,647 were made, most of them being taken up by the Swiss and Austrian armies. Since August 2006, there exists a web-project that wants to document the different Haflinger types, the many many details and the changes that came with the years of production.

Steyr are still in business making Diesel engines and assault weapons. In 1979 they began making 4WD's for Mercedes Benz. Puch, as their own entity, closed in 1923. Daimler, as we all know, is now part of the Chrysler-Daimler group.
AnswerID: 319964

Follow Up By: Justin & Tracey (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 16:53

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 16:53
their is an official haflinger web site just google it and it comes up got all the info on them u ever want.
FollowupID: 586586

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 17:18

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 17:18
I saw that. Isn't it in German?
FollowupID: 586598

Follow Up By: Justin & Tracey (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 17:26

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 17:26
not the one i looked at last time but will try to find the page again
FollowupID: 586599

Follow Up By: Justin & Tracey (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 17:47

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 17:47
sorry louie but it seems to be gone the one i always looked at plenty off other ones tho if u are interested
FollowupID: 586606

Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 01:10

Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 01:10
About 20 years ago there was a number of them in Newman - apparently one of the stations had some and sold them - friend of mine had 2
AnswerID: 320058

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 09:01

Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 09:01
I'd love one! Just as a project y'know?? I can understand why you wouldn't part with it Justin.... but I'd still be driving it every now and then... LOL...

AnswerID: 320079

Follow Up By: Justin & Tracey (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 09:56

Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 09:56
its not registered any more so don't get out on the road but every now and then i trailer it up to the forest for a bit off a run maybe when i move out of suburbia might use it a bit more, u can still get all the parts for them
FollowupID: 586743

Reply By: turbopete - Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 11:01

Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 11:01
the mine workshop manager at Gove had one in the 70,s
AnswerID: 320095