Landcruiser 100 GXL Petrol

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 19, 2003 at 20:44
ThreadID: 6064 Views:4005 Replies:6 FollowUps:10
Ok. I decided on a Nissan diesal today - then before final decision drove a Landcruiser 100 GXL Petrol. She's a beauty! The cruiser diesel is over priced (yep I know, so are all the cruisers) but the V8 Cruiser (petrol/gas) will come in at par with the Nissan diesel. Any thoughts?

Reply By: Member - Wherethehellawi - Saturday, Jul 19, 2003 at 21:07

Saturday, Jul 19, 2003 at 21:07
I have had petrol 4.5 since 1993
Drove a friends turbo diesel 100 just after I go t the missus a new 4.5 100 and I am now convinced that my next will be diesel....cant wait ...it had more grunt than the petrol!!!Wow! am I cute
AnswerID: 25370

Follow Up By: Fred - Saturday, Jul 19, 2003 at 22:55

Saturday, Jul 19, 2003 at 22:55
Where, I'm just a bit amused that both you and your missus have large fuel guzzling petrol 4wds! Do you think it might be a good idea to rationalise your vehicles? (Only stirring)
FollowupID: 17197

Follow Up By: Member - Wherethehellawi - Sunday, Jul 20, 2003 at 12:33

Sunday, Jul 20, 2003 at 12:33
Fred,

Mine is used for company and has shelving and work tools. with the load I carry together with trailer it is much safer than using a standard ute. Then theres the boat! no just kidding abot the boat but mine is a work horse and not really suitable for trips to the theatre dining etc. My wife calls it the pig mobile. Then theres the inlaws who are getting old and dont like driving themselves and an eight seater is required. And further more she wanted one ...you know whats its like...they must be obeyed!

We go away in hers with the kids and it suits us just fine. If we can afford it why not.......I dont want a porsche......cos it wont go where I want to go!

No offense taken Fred, just thought explain to try and justify my wants, needs and Toys. Petrol guzzling 4wds you say ...thats why I am going for diesel next.Wow! am I cute
FollowupID: 17217

Reply By: Mick - Saturday, Jul 19, 2003 at 21:08

Saturday, Jul 19, 2003 at 21:08
Just a couple of thoughts Twandy. Yes the Cruiser is a beauty as you put it. It's far superior to the Nissan, although they're OK but just a generation behind. If you're serious about off roading diesel is the best choice and gas is at the other end (I guess that means worst!). Petrol is OK but in that size vehicle the consumption is such that your range is limited with petrol and even more so with gas.
AnswerID: 25371

Follow Up By: Member - Wherethehellawi - Saturday, Jul 19, 2003 at 21:12

Saturday, Jul 19, 2003 at 21:12
Furthermore, diesel engines should last longer ??? should'nt theyWow! am I cute
FollowupID: 17192

Reply By: Big John (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2003 at 23:08

Saturday, Jul 19, 2003 at 23:08
Twandy
I currently own a GU Patrol, 100 Series 4.5 petrol Cruiser , a 100 Series TD Cruiser and several others and yes the TD is worth every cent extra. The TD has several mods which makes the car just awsom. Spend $3,000.00 extra and you will have over 200kw at the fly wheel, (Dtronics unit, 3" exhaust, small turbo bust and twik the injection on the dyno). The front and rear air lockers also help.
Another mate has just bought a V8 and claims to get 15lts/100 on the highway, not bad considering The TD gets 14lts/100.
By the way I picked up a new Suzuki XL7on Friday, the very first of the new model in Australia to be delivered and so far am very impressed.

P.S. In relation to the extra cost of a cruiser I have alway said you own a Landcruiser because you can.
AnswerID: 25376

Follow Up By: tristjo - Sunday, Jul 20, 2003 at 01:04

Sunday, Jul 20, 2003 at 01:04
Geez, mate, i'd love to have a look at your shed!!! How do you decide what to drive???

Tristjo.
FollowupID: 17204

Follow Up By: Allyn (Pilbara) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2003 at 09:55

Sunday, Jul 20, 2003 at 09:55
yup - green with envy here !!!so many places, so little time !!!
FollowupID: 17210

Follow Up By: Mick - Sunday, Jul 20, 2003 at 09:59

Sunday, Jul 20, 2003 at 09:59
Oh Big John you make me smile!! 200kw WOW!! Go to a Toyota dealer and order a Prado - 185kw - no mods, no tweaks, no $3000.00 worth of mods!!
FollowupID: 17211

Follow Up By: Big John (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2003 at 11:16

Sunday, Jul 20, 2003 at 11:16
Tristjo,
It's not hard as most are not in my shed, I provide them to my staff and family. I just pay the bills that's how I know which ones break and which don't.
FollowupID: 17216

Follow Up By: Geoff - Sunday, Jul 20, 2003 at 22:26

Sunday, Jul 20, 2003 at 22:26
"Spend $3,000.00 extra and you will have over 200kw at the fly wheel, (Dtronics unit, 3" exhaust, small turbo bust and twik the injection on the dyno)"
On top of what you've already spent? Why? To get to the bank quicker to pay it off? Is it a race? Relax. Smell the flowers!
FollowupID: 17237

Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Monday, Jul 21, 2003 at 09:14

Monday, Jul 21, 2003 at 09:14
John, surname wouldn't be Laws by any chance?
FollowupID: 17249

Reply By: Big John (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2003 at 11:05

Sunday, Jul 20, 2003 at 11:05
mick,
There must be a new Prado diesal that I dont know of because 185kw is about the same as the Patrol 4.8lt. petrol, I am sure Toyota would want to tell the world.
AnswerID: 25393

Follow Up By: Member - AndrewPatrol - Sunday, Jul 20, 2003 at 16:57

Sunday, Jul 20, 2003 at 16:57
He's talking about the petrol DK
FollowupID: 17223

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Sunday, Jul 20, 2003 at 19:40

Sunday, Jul 20, 2003 at 19:40
Mate, at LPG1 they are putting computerised gas injection on cruisers, fully computer controlled like the motor its going onto, more power than petrol.
Aslong as you have a sat phone and NRMA plus, your laughing!
I heard that gas is going to be taxed at thesame rates as petrol in the near future, was it in the last budget? (Might put a dampner on the cost of running the v8)
When you say Nissan, was it the 6 or 4 diesel? (the 6 would be my choice if i towed).
Suggest b4 u buy, togo to the nearest servo and look for the oil stain on the ground, go stand in it and grab the nozzle of the diesel bowser. Get back in to your 4b and drive around a bit, but be forwarned, the pedals will get slippery and the diesel on your hand will be under your armpit even though you wiped it off with paper at the servo. This is the only negitive for the diesel, if you can live with that, get the Nissan, the 100 has IFS and needs the difflocks to keep up with a std Nissan in the bush.

wheredayathinkwer mike?
AnswerID: 25420

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 21, 2003 at 10:44

Monday, Jul 21, 2003 at 10:44
IFS=toorak taxi or george st farmer.. no thanks ever!
AnswerID: 25467