Congratulations to ExplorOz

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 09:36
ThreadID: 60663 Views:2912 Replies:2 FollowUps:4

Related Pages

Hi there,
finally had some time to have a look at the Fishing topic. This is really well done and useful. Finally somewhere that is full of useful fishing info. I have been a member of other fishing forums who have generally lost the plot and got into personalities and other petty private wars. Good to see one that is positive and informative. In my case one of my main reasons for 4WDing is to get to those out of the way fishing spots, take my tinnie and camp if convenient.
So from my opinion this Fishing topic is well done and appreciated.

Rgds

Rgds

Reply By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 12:22

Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 12:22
Totally agree, Nev....nearly time to dust off the tinnie in the shed and get the motor serviced. Doesn't quite feel right yet after snow this week in Mittagong!

Cheers, RayJen
AnswerID: 320107

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 13:11

Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 13:11
and burrier!.....nothing like snow on the tin roof!
FollowupID: 586767

Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 14:03

Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 14:03
Hi Nev,
was down in Tassie in feb and camped at Pine tier laggon for a few days and caught heaps up to about a kilo. Also had a lovely camp at the top of lake St Clair, one of the most scenic spots I have seen.
Have you heard how the new lake at Deloraine is going?
Have got a couple of mates in Launie , which helps.
You are right about the fishing forums, hardly worth the trouble, anyhow most of my mates are on here.lol

AnswerID: 320113

Follow Up By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 15:56

Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 15:56
Hi Pete,
What a great little place Pine Tier is. We camped on the grass (opposite side of water to the tree camp side) and had a ball. A 1kg fish is quite big for there so you did well. (on page 82 of Viv Moon's Travellers' Cookbook he has a photo of the main camping area at Pine Tier.) There are many great lakes to fish or just to view here in Tassie. Next time you are here try going to Lake Burbury on the West Coast near Queenstown. Make sure you have a boat and enjoy it. I will be up the Great Lake mid September doing a bit of fishing so will probably dodge across to the new lake and have a sqizz.
I am not a Tassie by birth (so don't have the scar) but it is a terrific place mainly spoilt by the old forest logging. If this could be stopped and turned around it would almost be perfect. Even now there can't be many people who live on 2.5 acres within 35 kms of their capital city GPO and have magnificent stream fishing available within a km and ocean fishing less than 20km.

Rgds

FollowupID: 586791

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 16:29

Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 16:29
I have yet to catch a fish out of great lake. The problem with Tassie you have so much water when we only have a week or so we drive ourselves crazy trying to decide where to fish next. Gee mate those pine tier fish are some of the best tasting trout I have come accross. We got most of our fish after dark on mudeye patterns, but managed a 1 kilo bow in the day on a emerger and did he go in among the logs.
Was going to take the boat but was a bit exxcy, extra $800.00 not including extra fuel to tow it. Mate in launceston has a nice Haines, but to flash to go where I want to.
Now my wife is not going overseas will try and get down their in feb again.
They reckon the mudeye fishing in Burbury is something else, next time lol.
We use to go to our local lakes throw the camping gear into the boat and head up the dam. Problem is we have had low water now for 8 years, so that is not very appealing.
Might still move down their when we retire, I cannot handle heat and my wife was born in England so we are in agreement on that front.
How is the Jack going?
FollowupID: 586793

Follow Up By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 16:52

Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 16:52
Jack is now fine with the correct motor oil. Set of drawers and an Engel fridge on its way from Vic (Ebay buy) and UHF gets fitted Friday week. Only done 700kms in 7 weeks so far, as I have a work vehicle during the week. Fishing season will see that increase.

Rgds

FollowupID: 586801