70 Series Snorkel sealing

Submitted: Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 17:03
ThreadID: 60695 Views:7899 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
On reading a post on another forum about how Toyota Snorkels are not very well sealed I decided to pull mine apart and silicone it up myself, from the factory they are only sealed for dust and would let water through very easily I was quite suprised how poorly they are sealed, the seal tape that they use looks like that it would actually soak water up. I notice that no one makes an aftermarket snorkel for the 70 series cruisers, now that I have sealed mine up it would be just as good as an aftermarket one now anyway, although I like the idea of something like a safari snorkel with only two joins instead of the standard toyota one.

I change my oil every 5000 and do the airfilter at the same time, the filters get full of dust very quickly here in the Pilbara.

Anyone else pulled thir snorkel apart?

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 17:27

Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 17:27
Yeah it's a bit of a disappointment. The snorkel has a number of poor features and is of no value in water in my view. This is probably why the wading depth is still only 700mm. It is probably misleading for the uninformed thinking they have a margin of safety in water but I acutely mindfull of the limits! Cheers
AnswerID: 320271

Follow Up By: willo82 - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 21:23

Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 21:23
hey leigh
i siliconed my snorkle and i found the silicone didn't stick too well!! i still won't trust it. Air bags are awsome, put it through it paces on the corros and was very happy. thanks mate
FollowupID: 587084

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 08:45

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 08:45
Hi Willo. Great news that you got them fitted and doing well. A lot of mucking around but now you are set up properly and ready to go!! Cheers mate. leigh
FollowupID: 587153

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 18:11

Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 18:11
What about that infamous video of the bloke crossing a flooded river in QLD towing his boat???

He pushed a bow wave up his windscreen.

Maybe he should have raced off and bought a Lotto ticket !!

AnswerID: 320280

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 18:37

Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 18:37
Yeah saw that and was most impressed...just a question of time though!!
FollowupID: 587022

Reply By: donk - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 19:17

Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 19:17
Toyota Snorkles are listed by Toyota as dust snorkles and do not need to be watertight for dust

Regards Don

AnswerID: 320293

Reply By: REV'S - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 20:20

Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 20:20
Hi Christian P,
Thanks for bringing this to my attention. Have you come across any other problems with the 70 series?? As I have a 70 series, I would be interested to hear.

Cheers Rev's
AnswerID: 320304

Follow Up By: Member - Christian P (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 11:12

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 11:12
Gday Revs,

No mate I have not come across anything else, nor heard of anything else to watch for, all and all I love my Ute, in fact I havent met anyone that has had a bad thing to say about them at all, most of the people ive come across who own them, love them, and I cant blame them, there are quite a lot of 70 series getting around up here, the lack of airbags hasnt stopped Rio tinto buying them, we have had quite a few turn up here at work.
FollowupID: 587183

Reply By: Member - Rodney B- Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 22:20

Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 22:20
Go to 70scool this is the site for 70 owners and has some great info on the forum

Cheers Rod
AnswerID: 320346

Reply By: li'l rusty - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 09:29

Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 09:29
Christian,
As my wife and I are thinking about purchasing a 76 series in the future, could you tell me at all what you have heard on fuel economy figures, be it loaded up and touring and maybe around town and highway figures. Thanks.

Rusty
AnswerID: 321939