Working Holiday

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 22:26
ThreadID: 60735 Views:2593 Replies:7 FollowUps:1
How Viable is it to go on a working holiday. Wouldn't it be hard to find a job for a couple of weeks then just leave. Wouldn't you have to stay in the major centres ?? some of my friend's have just gone on the dole and did it that way. I think its not the right thing to do tho. has any one done it.

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 22:34

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 22:34
There are heaps of casual work opportunities in the bush.

If you can pull a beer, fix a car, do some electrical, plumbing, building, cut hair, pick fruit, drive even teach (the list is almost endless) then you would be able to find work in most country towns for as long as you llike.

Many years ago two mates one an electrician and the other a mechanic financed a lap picking up work here and there.

AnswerID: 320481

Reply By: Member - Rooey (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 22:38

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 22:38
G'day Unko,
Give it it a go champ it great!!!! There is plenty of work around at the moment despite the media carring on as though the world is is going to end, everyone has headed off to work in the mines so most places are screaming for workers!! me and my girlfriend are doing it at the moment and have been too some unbelivable places. Home is always going to be there it a'nt going anywhere!!
You won't regret it one of the best things you will do.
AnswerID: 320482

Reply By: NewNomads - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 23:19

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 23:19
Well..i am 6 weeks away from giving away my job as an operations manager for a fairly big company in Perth (Notice given), my wife is three working days away from finishing her job in Real Estate.

We have a Landcruiser just traded against a Jackeroo, and a 23ft Roadstar ready to go!!

Where are we going?, what are we doing? Dunno yet..lol..but there will be no probs finding work as we head off around Oz, take a look at various work/job sites on the web, there is heaps of work around. Might be filling shelves at a Woolies, or planting trees in Myrtleford.

Shouldnt wish your time away i know...but the sooner these 6 weeks go the better!..having spent a few years working around the North of WA several years ago, we cant wait to get back into that lifestyle again.
AnswerID: 320489

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2008 at 15:03

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2008 at 15:03
I'm envious.....enjoy!
FollowupID: 587333

Reply By: Mainey (wa) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2008 at 09:27

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2008 at 09:27
unko,
do it .....
Experience and enjoy the life on the road, meeting terrific people doing the same thing as you and seeing new and exciting places every where you go.
I left Melbourne in 1996, have never looked back, have moved into a 'normal' home this year, with-out a solar system and 12v appliances.

As mentioned above there is work everywhere over here.

Mainey . . .
AnswerID: 320512

Reply By: Russ n Sue - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2008 at 14:50

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2008 at 14:50
Well, my sign-off says "Finally retired, now to see Oz" but in reality you'd go nuts if you just travelled all the time. Sooo.....

The Missus and I have been travelling Oz for 15 months now and have worked for just over half of that. We've had no trouble finding work and we actually save more money now than we did when we were sedentary at our former home town.

As stated in a previous post, so many people have left to get work in the resources industry that there are job vacancies all over Oz where they used to work. Not all of them are for skilled people, although if you have a trade you will be in demand almost everywhere you go.

The key is to stay a reasonable time at various places so you aren't always digging into your pocket for fuel money. Most smaller towns have comfortable caravan parks at reasonable rates, so a camper-trailer or a caravan is a good idea. I think that a tent would be a trial over an extended period.

We find that if you get work in a town, the locals open up to you and start to tell you about their "secret spots". These are often out-of-the-way places that tourists don't visit and are often unspoiled.

We're loving it and have no plans to go back to our "careers".

Russ.
AnswerID: 320545

Reply By: Member - Kevin R (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 12:22

Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 12:22
We have just returned from 3 weeks in Central oz. There were jobs everywhere.

Kevin
AnswerID: 320669

Reply By: Poida4x4 - Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 19:11

Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 19:11
Check this out:

http://jobsearch.gov.au/harvesttrail/default.aspx

Various trails, following the harvest season. No skill required, outdoor work....
AnswerID: 320706