Member's Progress on The Great Australian Cancer Bush Walk

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 13, 2008 at 21:43
ThreadID: 60756 Views:3318 Replies:2 FollowUps:6
Explore Oz Member, Michael Mitchell has now covered 1,900km of his 6,000km bushwalk from Cape York to Wilsons Prom to raise funds for The Cancer Council. Michael was vsited by many travellers who stopped to say G'day as they made their way up and down from The Tip, particularly along the OTL. Michael recently completed another interview on the 4WD Victoria Radio Show in Melbourne. He is now near Collinsville, following The Bicentennial National Trail, having left Cape York far behind and negotiating the unseasonally overflowing Burdekin Dam. Walking the BNT means Michael is rarely seen on major roads but welcomes any Explore Oz members who find themselves travelling up in those parts of the country stopping to have a chat. Further info, including how to make a donation or media enquiries can be found at www.thegreatcancerwalk.com.au

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 08:17

Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 08:17
Wow , I have been away , so we have someone walking from Cape York to Victoria ? is this right ? how do we support this , and why isn't it on TV morning shows . Have email gone out to these people ?
AnswerID: 320651

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 08:56

Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 08:56
Eric,

Mike took off in May. I had the pleasure of spending a bit of time with him prior to departure. He is a wonderful bloke.

I'm planning to organise a Vic EO gathering to meet up with him as he gets into Vic, but that will be some time off and planning the actual date will depend on where he is at with his planned ETA.

You can check out his website and Blog for details.

FollowupID: 587431

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 09:02

Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 09:02
Deserves support all right Rockcrawler.

You don't realise the efforts many ordinary people are making out there to make this a better country.

Recently we came across this mob at a critical moment and learnt over several days the dedication and commitment required.

http://thehardwayround.wordpress.com/2008/07/08/day-1/
FollowupID: 587433

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 12:27

Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 12:27
whats the web sight ?
FollowupID: 587448

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 12:43

Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 12:43
That was it - top page below

http://thehardwayround.wordpress.com/
FollowupID: 587450

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 20:26

Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 20:26
Why isn't it on TV you ask.

Simple really Eric, and for the same reason this thread has only attracted minimal views.

What most knobs like to watch on TV Reports is about......

Nicole Kidman's latest boyfriend

OR

Lleyton "please respect our privacy unless you pay us $200,000" Hewitt's new baby

OR

Kylie Minogue just lost her favourite pair of shoes

Sadly, that's the way of life.

FollowupID: 587489

Follow Up By: Member - Michael M (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:40

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:40
Gday Jim
Thanks for the support mate. Am about 20 days ahead of schedule and keen to improve on this before I hit the real montains down south. I reckon I'll be getting to the Prom at the start of May or even earlier which will make it far easier for anyone wishing to join me or call in along the way weather wise!
Was interested in your reasoning about the media. So far I've done the 9AM show on Ch 10, a couple of articles in The Herald Sun, spoken with Ernie Sigley twice on 3AW, several chats on the 4WD Radio show and had numerous local papers up here in FNQ do stories and the nett result donations wise is very little!

I'm doing everything I can but it seems there's not much interest out there at present and I'm simply not famous enough to attract attention or haven't needed a spectacular rescue! The pity of this is that it's not about me at all but rather raising funds for The Cancer Council. The people I've met on foot have been terrific and it seems just about everyone has a story about themselves or someone close to them regarding cancer,
Anyway, apart from the frustrations of not raising enough funds, everything else is going according to plan. The battery pack, now with the solar panel is really good. The body is just fine although I'm on my third pair of boots after 1889km.
Will most likely lose mobile coverage for a while after tonight. Will be walking to the Eungella Dam over next two days. Have crossed the Bowen River three times in as many days, crocs and all!
Take care and thanks once again for your great support. By the way, the drawers are holding up really well also!
Cheers, Michael Mitchell
FollowupID: 587830

Reply By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 08:52

Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 08:52
Great work Michael, hope the feet are holding up well.

Just think how hard it is to drive 1900 km people. Then consider doing it on foot.

AnswerID: 320654