Lakefield NP low 4WD

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 13, 2008 at 22:28
ThreadID: 60757 Views:3786 Replies:5 FollowUps:13
Hi all, Can anyone advise on the road conditions for Lakefield NP, on Cape York. I plan to travel through there in mid Oct 08 in a Subaru Outback which has 4wd, but are wondering if I REALLY need the clearance for the main Lakefield track. I am well aware that I need to take provisions with me, but can anyone advise on additional recovery gear etc required for this part of the Cape. I plan to take 2 spare wheels/tyres. I have seen photos of the Park tracks and they look really good, arbeit corrigations. Suspension has just been replaced. Genuine thoughts & advise please.

Reply By: Angler - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2008 at 22:58

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2008 at 22:58
It has been a little while since I have been through the park however I don't think you will need 4WD at any time. All the roads are fairly easy to traverse. The worst bit is into Laura as it is at times quite rocky and can damage types. Once you get on the lakefield road the surface is generally pretty fair. The far end has a couple of creek crossings that are shallow and not in any way a problem. Any real crossings have bridges over them. If you are going all the way through to Musgrave the long way then watch for small washouts if there has been any recent rain.

Pooley
AnswerID: 320642

Follow Up By: CeeJ - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2008 at 23:05

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2008 at 23:05
Thanks for that.

CeeJ
FollowupID: 587405

Reply By: davegelli - Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 10:46

Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 10:46
Hi, a friend and I rode through Lakefield NP from Musgrave to Laura in late July on our trail bikes.The section from Musgrave to the Ranger station at the North of the Park was very good. From there to Old Laura was becoming badly corrugated with a few large holes, and Battlecamp Road from Old Laura to Laura was even worse, although we met a Road Crew who were about to start work on that section.Your Subaru should be fine for this trip, high clearance is not needed.
AnswerID: 320660

Follow Up By: CeeJ - Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 11:47

Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 11:47
Guys,
Thanks for the positive reply. Very helpful advice!
Cheers CeeJ
FollowupID: 587445

Reply By: Towie - Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 11:42

Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 11:42
Yeh i concur with the others.
We spent 2 weeks up there in July nothing for you too worry about except the coro's, rocks and washouts, slow right down we had a few vehicles us and those of us who drove sensibly had no puntures...
The others however had several so have fun....
AnswerID: 320666

Follow Up By: CeeJ - Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 11:50

Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 11:50
Thanks also for tips. My confidence is so instilled, that I may be tempted to take on Cp Melville. Nah jokes.... Don't have the time. Will save that for round Oz trip when we have a big 4WD.

Many regards CeeJ
FollowupID: 587446

Follow Up By: Fnqt2 - Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 18:18

Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 18:18
Gday Towie , hay was that your ute parked out side of arb in cairns yesterday? I had a white 79 series rv with new carry me camper parked next to the doors...wayn'o
FollowupID: 587473

Follow Up By: Towie - Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 19:53

Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 19:53
Hey there wayno, absolutely was us. I had a quick look at your carryme camper as we almost orderred one last year..
We live in Port Douglas and want to modify the truck alittle more so thats why we were there...
Im guessing you live up here also?
FollowupID: 587480

Follow Up By: Fnqt2 - Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 20:11

Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 20:11
Yeah mate i live up in weipa , i just came down for a couple of days to pick up the camper and do a bit of shopping , i said to me work mate im sure i have seen that ute and number plate from here and your post previously to my question. I wasent sure weather i should say hello or not thinking it may be the wrong person or some thing. I was the bloke covered in tattoos...might see ya on the road some time! .. wayn'o
FollowupID: 587485

Follow Up By: Towie - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 07:36

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 07:36
Nice camper that wayno, ran into 2 tradies on the Crebb Trach a couple of weeks ago with one and they loved it.. Had been using it for over 12 months...
Dont remember seeing some rough nut like myself in ARB but next time will look out for you...
Planning an early Cape trip for May next year so will look you up in Weipa..... cheers & good fun with the camper
FollowupID: 587518

Reply By: Cape York Connections - Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 12:50

Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 12:50
Should be fine in the suby
The only thing I would yhink about is some realy good rubber.
But that will start another topic.

Have a good one
AnswerID: 320672

Follow Up By: CeeJ - Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 13:45

Thursday, Aug 14, 2008 at 13:45
Thanks for tip Eric. Will take onboard, and to take the ride sensibly and slowly !
Regards CeeJ
FollowupID: 587454

Follow Up By: Andrew - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 15:44

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 15:44
Agree with Eric on tyres
My Forester had tyre troubles on the standard H/T tyres ( stones through the tread) and have had zero problems since switching to A/Ts (bridgestone 693) a lot more traction and the vehicle tracks a lot better in the rough stuff.

FollowupID: 587559

Follow Up By: CeeJ - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 15:53

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 15:53
Thanks Andrew,

Sounds like I got some $$$ to spend on tyres.....maybe! Or maybe I will fit the spares with A/T's.

Ceej
FollowupID: 587561

Reply By: kiwicol - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 17:59

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 17:59
If your looking for a nice quite shady camp spot, try cat fish camp area, right on the river, was there couple of weeks ago, top spot. Col
AnswerID: 320808

Follow Up By: Cape York Connections - Saturday, Aug 16, 2008 at 09:25

Saturday, Aug 16, 2008 at 09:25
plenty of good camps.
If want to see the biggest mozzies in the cape camp at saltwater crossing plenty there.

all the best
FollowupID: 587673

Follow Up By: Angler - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 21:05

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 21:05
Talked to a guy Saturday (16th) and was told the track in from Laura was very bad. OK from Musgrave end though.

Pooley
FollowupID: 587860

Follow Up By: CeeJ - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 13:34

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 13:34
Thanks guys. Will take on advise, and poke around abit if conditions changed over the next 2 months.

Regards CeeJ
FollowupID: 587917