toyocrusa
Reply By: Willem - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 20:48
Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 20:48
Crazy South Africans!!!!
Saw another clip where a Range Rover is coming down
The Rock(Tsogwe)and another where a Disco 3 goes up. Stops halfway, and then takes off again.
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 20:57
Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 20:57
Hi there Willem, thought it was a Disco or Range, couldnt remember. Wonder how the new 200 series with
hill decent would go coming down it, reckon it would do its job ?? Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 21:25
Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 21:25
G'day Stephen
Yeah T/C is a must. Don't think my old GQ would get up there unless I had the tyres down to 5psi and my eyes closed.....lol
These days I stick to the flat country...bugger those steep ups or downs.
Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 20:53
Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 20:53
That is one steep mother of a
hill,I wouldnt be game enough myself to go up it, secondly you wouldnt want to stop halfway, although I have seen the same
hill been driven up in a I think was a disco/rangie one of the two and he did a stop and go. No roll back nothing. Reckon if you started going back it would be the end of you ?? The only disadvantage my mate has been told is in his prado which has T/C he cant add diff locks which he wants to, something to do with the traction control/computer etc bit of a bummer as he really want's at least one for the rear as when we went out last time he got no further then me which I dont have T/C this is based on our 95 series. Have seen a few other brands of 4wd's with T/C and seems to work extremely
well. Wonder if that prado would have got up there if it didnt have T/C or I suppose there would have been a lot more wheel spin no doubt ?? Regards Steve M
Reply By: T-Ribby - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 21:26
Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 21:26
Comment. Traction control - does this mean that a 4WD can go where 4WD's were not meant to go?. I have some experience of driving on steep hillside farms in Landrovers. When the Holden motor conversion came in for the series II & III, the rate of injury and deaths amongst professional operators in my area went up - makes me think that the lower powered motors put limits on where you could safely take the vehicle.
High power and a high centre of gravity? - hard to imagine crabbing around the side of a
hill in one of these.
T.R.
Reply By: unko - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 23:21
Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 23:21
didnt 4x4 acion do the same test with the same car. one was standard the othe had TC and the other had lockers
TC was not a good as locker but heaps better then stock
Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Saturday, Aug 16, 2008 at 00:13
Saturday, Aug 16, 2008 at 00:13
There was a report in one of the 4WD magazines of a jurno driving vehicles on Toyota's test range in Japan. He reckoned the new Prado with its traction control was climbing the test hills heaps better than a Cruiser with 2 diff locks.
Follow Up By: Goona - Saturday, Aug 16, 2008 at 22:04
Saturday, Aug 16, 2008 at 22:04
Correct unko,
There is no substitute for both front and rear lockers. It will leave TC for dead.
Goona
Reply By: Member - Bob of KAOS - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:27
Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:27
I reckon get rid of the chain at Uluru and drive up. Uluru's not quite as steep as that though.
If you got a bit sideways it would be an interesting trip back down again.