darling river run

G'day planning to do the darling river run at christmas with my son. After looking at some of the posts in the archive, is there any where you can pull up and roll out the swags beside the river and enjoy a cold beer?

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 17:06

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 17:06
Not wishing to sound off-handed, but if you do some searches in the archives you will quite a lot of info on the subject. No point in me repeating it all for you after all you're the one travelling the area.
AnswerID: 321001

Follow Up By: Member - Dick (Int) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 17:49

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 17:49
Useful reply DIO
Dick

FollowupID: 587808

Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 17:13

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 17:13
Are you comfortable with plus 40c temps?
AnswerID: 321002

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 17:18

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 17:18
ryno, have a look here.Darling River Run
AnswerID: 321003

Reply By: Member - Dick (Int) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 17:56

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 17:56
Ryno

It is very uncomfortable out west in the middle of summer and I doubt you will find it very enjoyable unless you normally live in very high temperatures. Expect 40+ temps at that time of the year.
Dick

AnswerID: 321010

Reply By: ryno - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:18

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:18
Thanks for everyones concern about the temp,however I'm now serving in the middle east where the temp averages 50 - 60 degrees so I'm not really worried about the heat,and my son wants to experience the temps that myself and my infantry section are now working in.
AnswerID: 321014

Follow Up By: Mobi Condo - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:55

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:55
Took us 5 attempts over about 6 years to complete the Darling River run!
Why? RAIN - yes even in summer the road gets closed!
However we did spot a few places where river access camp sites are available. Some times it seems like hours between water sitings though.
Depending on water level complicated by rain, irrigation draw off etc and even blue/green algae blooms, there were sites near Pooncarie, Tilpa, Louth and between the last two places where one could get down to the river.
I reckon that I would stay up on the plains level rather than drive down to the water level though.
That flood plain silt gets real slippery, gluey and down right boggy should a decent shower fall when vehicle is down at the water level and needs to drive up some steep banks!
North of Tilpa on the 'west' side there are some properties offering camping for a fee and some acquaintences were positively impressed by the experiences they had there.
Cheers - Mobi
FollowupID: 587837

Follow Up By: Member - John G- Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 13:36

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 13:36
G'day ryno

Trilby and Idalia Stations have riverside sites and you can get away from those using the small number of powered sites

Keep your head down
FollowupID: 587918

Reply By: George_M - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:13

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:13
I'd suggest you throw in a tin of aeroguard and a couple of fly nets as well....
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

AnswerID: 321034

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 21:12

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 21:12
As mentioned above, very hot time of year! We were there for a few days last year, temp was around 46-47c IN THE SHADE!!
Won't do that again :)
Oh, and it didn't cool down at night either, still in the 30's!
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 321050

Reply By: Scoof - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 16:42

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 16:42
Hi we did it last year we recieved good info from the little pubs along way. One of the places we stayed unless it was pointed out we would of driven straight on . It was right next to a wier greay fishing spot.

Happy camping Scoof
AnswerID: 321137

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 21:12

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 21:12
sounds like the weir at Tilpa.

Ryno, can I suggest you do a forum search. As a suggestion just put in the word "darling" and commence your search from May 1st; 2008.

I have just done the run and got heaps of info on the very questions you asked. I will not make any comment re the heat as you appear to know what to expect. I do however suggest that you pack fly veils, the little bastards will drive you insane long before the heat gets to you.

FollowupID: 588006

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 23:50

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 23:50
Have a look at http://www.darlingriverrun.com.au/

AnswerID: 321234