Pajman Pete (SA)
Hi Jack Owners out there.
It is getting neat time to retire the
heritage listed Paj.
I am being tempted by a nice clean Jackaroo 2001 3.0 TD.
Are there any known issues with these I should look out for?
Pete
Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 21:12
Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 21:12
Hi Pajman,
I have a mate that has a Jackaroo, loves it he does!! I'm not sure what year it is though, but I have heard him say that transfer cases hang down below the chassis line in them, and a few that have been around our clubs DAP track don't have a lot of rear end flex. Apart from that, Ii have heard some good things about them.
Reply By: adventra - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 22:14
Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 22:14
Hi Pete,
I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but unfortunately there are a stack of problems/issues with the late 90's/early 2000's diesel model Jackaroos...that's why they tend to be so cheap compared to other similar 4WDs. The diesel models (petrols were ok as far as I know) of this era were basically one big LEMON.
We've had 3 friends who've had that model diesel Jackaroo & they've had a lot of trouble with them, & needless to say they don't have them anymore. I can't remember the exact problems they had as it was several years ago but they weren't exactly minor repairs - all in the thousands to fix. At least one of them had the turbo go at about 70,000kms & I'm pretty sure another one had the turbo go just before 100,000km. The one where the turbo went at 70,000km also had $5,000 to $10,000 worth of other repairs (on top of the turbo) done on the vehicle in the time they had it (purchased at 50,000km, sold at 100,000km).
We have also heard the same kind of thing from our mechanic - that that model diesel Jackaroo tends to have a lot of problems. You might be lucky enough to get a good one every now & then (or one whre someone else has already spent heaps of money on :-)), but personally I wouldn't touch one.
Stay with the Pajero (or a newer one)...you just can't beat them!
Rachel
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 13:48
Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 13:48
Pete
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 22:41
Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 22:41
Pete,
Although I have the petrol version, the only problem I am aware of was with the injectors in the diesel engine, which were subsequently subjected to a recall notice.
Just
check that the recall has been performed (there will be a sticker affixed to the front door frame) and you will be OK.
I don't believe the diesel Jackaroo has any negative issues when compared to other marques.
Bill.
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 14:04
Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 14:04
Thanks fellow red back.
The recall is done. It is still tempting me because I drive past the yard every day on the way to work.
Pete
Reply By: walruz - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 22:57
Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 22:57
Hey Pete,
Don't listen to the knockers with no actual experience LOL
The TD Jackaroo's are a very underated truck and like most
benefit from regular maintenance and
services.
Walruz
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 13:49
Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 13:49
Thanks Walruz
Pete
Reply By: adventra - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 07:33
Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 07:33
Walruz...I have plenty of experience so I don't appreciate your ignorant comments...is it because I'm female you don't think I could possibly know what I'm talking about??? I'm guessing it is.
All my comments have come from seeing what others have been through with that model.
You might have found yourself a good TD Jackaroo of that model but there are many that aren't & there are plenty of people who've been burnt by these vehicles who'd be happy to back me up.
ALL the vehicles I mentioned were regularly serviced etc. (2 were company cars) & of low mileage (less than 100K km).
Rachel
Follow Up By: adventra - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 07:53
Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 07:53
I did NOT write just to 'knock' the Jackaroos - apart from that model I actually like them. I wrote out of concern that someone might go and buy one without realising the problems they may have.
I didn't say anything to the people who had the Jackaroo with the turbo that blew at 100K km before they purchased it (they were tossing up between the Jackaroo & a Pajero). This I something that I now regret. Within a couple of months of purchasing the Jackaroo the turbo went, & they were stuck with a car that they could barely afford to fix but was pretty much worthless if they didn't - incidentally they sold it a few months later (thousands out of pocket) & purchased a Pajero. This is something that I don't want to see happen to others.
Follow Up By: walruz - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 22:18
Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 22:18
Yep, you're guessing alright....
"As far as I know"
"I can't remember"
"Every now and then"
"Because I'm female"
Givemeabreak
Walruz
Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 20:01
Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 20:01
Rachel are you aware that in THE DOG AND LEMON GUIDE they do not recomend the Paj 2.8 because according to them it has a habit of running on its own oil. Do your self a favour and get a copy from a newsagent.
Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 12:31
Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 12:31
G'day Pete, the mention of diesel Jacks can stir up some people,
as you can see, but I believe if the injector seal recall has been done & the correct oil used, generally you have a good vehicle if
service has been adequate.
Mine is the V6 & I love it, 2000 model
auto, man hubs. Big, strong, & not that hard on juice if driven
sedately. Got under 15L per 100k towing C/t with 4 adults & gear
on 13k outback trip. I personally cant find the dollar advantage
for the diesel today, 30 cents a litre dearer for fuel & usually a few grand dearer to buy as
well. The V6 may not be an ideal daily driver in the city but is a superb tourer & the best value 4WD on
the used car market today. I paid $14k for
mine with 87k on it,
like new. There are a few diesel owners on the
forum that may offer more hands on opinions, but I wouldnt be put off by the
doomsdayers , just do your research first.....oldbaz.
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 14:05
Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 14:05
Thanks for your input Oldbaz
Pete
Reply By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 18:27
Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 18:27
Pete
my brother in law has a 2003 TD model. nothing but trouble with it. Holden have done heaps of warranty work on it, still not solved. Just had a new turbo installed 2 weeks ago. good luck.
cheers Tom
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 14:06
Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 14:06
Thanks Tom
Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 21:39
Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 21:39
Goodday Pete,
We have a
heritage NH paj(90000ks) like you and a 98 3.5 Jack.
So I believe I can offer an unbiassed opinion.
Firstly lots of info at Australia 4wdforum, they have a special section for the 3lt td.
THe older 3.1td(92 to 97) are extremely reliable.
The 3lt dohc diesel was 10 years ahead of its time, But the catipillar injection system let the motor down, with many recalls. I spent many hours of research and decided it was a cheaper option to go with the 3.5 v6 which has a very good rep. Many earlier 3.2s v6s are now over 450000ks untouched
Because of expensive filters etc and twice as many
services their is no diff in runnings costs between the petrol v6 and the td.
The 3.5 Jack is quite a bit more fuel efficent then our 3lt v6 paj and MUCH smoother, quieter , and powerfull. The 3lt Paj can just keep up with the Jack towing arround 800kg.
Mind you swmbo loves her paj(pity that did not extend to paying to get it serviced LOL) and it has been very reliable over the last 3 years.
You should be able to pick up a 3.5 v6 Jack with arround 100000ks for $12000.00 in very good condition. Any more then this and the vendor is dreaming. Even Prados have now crashed in value since the fuel crises.
In the 18 months I have owned my Jack the only problem has been a dirty sensor in the inlet tract. Not even my toyotas have been that reliable
Any more info required send me a mm
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 13:48
Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 13:48
I have had a look at the
forum. The Jack I was looking at was a 2001 SE 3.0TD with a full service history. It has had the injector recall done and comes with a 5 year warrantee on the engine and drivetrain (for what that is worth!). It is a nice clean unit and tempting.
We do like the Paj. Ours was the last run of the NG with the same donk as yours. It now has 380,000 km on it (engine changed out at 200,000) and is still a dream to drive but it struggles with our new van.
Pete
Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 20:33
Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 20:33
Pete, if I can make a suggestion take a
well maintained v6, for a run you will be shocked at the available power. Everyone who has a v6 seems to love them. Its a shame the 3ltd gave them a bad name.
What price are they asking for the td ?.
The diff in economy between auto and manual is at lest 50 to 100ks pet tank. Best economy I have got from
mine was 8.6k per litre, that was 2 occupants loaded to the roof using cruise to sit on 105 down the Hume.
Reply By: garryk - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 17:05
Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 17:05
G'day Pajman Pete
The post by madfisher mentions the Caterpillar style fuel system , it is also refered to as a "Huey " style system
I have worked on Caterpillar engines with that fuel system , and no amount of recalls or mods would make them reliable
So in a nutshell if it has that fuel system ,do not buy it at any price , it will send you broke
BUT if is the model without that fuel system them it may
well be a vechile worth buying
Sorry but I do not know what year models had the dud system but
check I suspect the 2001 model MAY be after the dud one as the bad Caterpillar engines came out I think in about 1992 or 1993
Garry
Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 20:26
Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 20:26
Garry the 92 to 97 3.1 td where super reliable non electronic diesels.All post 98s had the huey system. Shame they did not stick with the lower power rodeo 3lttd.
One other piont Pete , and you should confirm this for yourself the injectors are $1000.00 ea
Thanks for filling in the gaps in my knowledge Garry
Reply By: bazza j - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 20:23
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 20:23
hi Pete short reoly in favour for jacks i have a 4cyl 3000lt t/d auto 2000mdl mate i have towed a 19ft van aprox 25000 km with not a hint of a problem bit slow on a steep incline from a standing start aprox avr15lt pre 100 verry comfy to drive i have leg artery prob but can still drive 300to 400k before stopping(and find a bush) hope this helps cheers Bazza
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 10:05
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 10:05
Thanks Bazza,
It is good to have
feedback from owners.
Pete