Need to gets brakes system for off road trailer HELP
Submitted: Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 12:06
Kazz61
Hi can anybody point us in the right direction, we have a 98 Discovery to tow our off road
camping trailer that weighs about 40 kgs unloaded less than the max allowed for a trailer with out any brakes so we want to fit brakes & up grade it's classification & also be able to legally tow it & carry more equipment & stores than at present, any idea
where to start - also want to change the current
wheels on the trailer to the same size as the disco's & we are in country vic between
Bendigo &
Melbourne. Where do we go for more info or to find a business that can do the job & re classify it for vic roads.
Reply By: DIO - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 13:16
Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 13:16
If your current trailer currently weighs only 40 kg may I respectfully suggest to you that it will obviously be far too light (construction) to worry about upgrading it with brakes etc (required for >750 kg). I reckon it would be heaps cheaper to scrap the old one (sell it to someone with a very small car e.g. 1 litre as it would be ideal for such tow vehicle) and buy a new one with the capacity and brakes/
wheels etc - whatever you desire.
Follow Up By: Jeelan - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 13:40
Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 13:40
i think he meant it comes in at just 40kgs LESS THAN the max unbraked tow limit ie 700kgs or 750kgs whatever it may be.
so the empty trailer would be around 650-700kg mark.
Jeelan
Follow Up By: Kazz61 - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 14:21
Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 14:21
Thanks Dio but if had a trailer that weighed only 40kgs I would stick it in a back pack & carry it lol.
Yes thanks Jeelan the trailers atm (Aggregate trailer mass) is 860 kgs sorry if I didn't make that clear.
I believe this is about 40kgs less than the max allowed for a trailer of this type to operate without brakes hence when we put
water in the 60 litre
tank we are already overwieght.
Reply By: Member - Vic S (VIC) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 14:52
Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 14:52
I am at the start of building a trailer of about the same mass and have owned one previously,I had 10 inch electric brakes and will have them on my new one as
well as there are times on tracks when it is very handy to be able to control the trailer brake independant to the car to stop the trailer trying to pass the car.They cost more than override or hydraulic and you also need to have a controller in your car. With that size trailer you should already have a heavy axle if not you will need to replace that with a 45 mm square one.Looking around at prices Marshall engineering in Baccus Marsh (also on EBay) and Carac in Dandenong are very good and will help with size etc.
Vic
Follow Up By: Kazz61 - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 18:52
Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 18:52
Thanks for the advice Vic S - I will go and speak to someone at Marshall in Baccus Marsh
Reply By: nahor - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 15:52
Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 15:52
you need to fined a trailer builder or engineering place that can rerate the gross mass of your trailer and fit a new compliance plate with the new rating . When i fitted brakes to my camper trailer i visited my local trailer builded and he inspected the work done and replaced the old compliance plate with a new one, i then took trailer to vic roads for them to sight the new compliance plate and update their records and print a new rego sticker ( free of charge at vic roads )
Follow Up By: Kazz61 - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 18:54
Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 18:54
Thanks nahor - I am amazed that it's free of charge from Vic Roads - The governments slipping.
Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 23:17
Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 23:17
Good quality electric drum brakes with a prodigy controller would be the most effective to use. They would give you by far the most control, they work in reverse and in all situations.
But..the wires have a tendency to be hit with stones and break which isn't hard to repair on the side of the road. The magnets within the drums are suspended and are prone to rattle a lot. The wires on
mine severed at the magnet due to rattling and the right brake was useless for the rest of the trip. New magnet needed.
The override brakes may not be as effective and useable but if they fail out bush they can be fixed easily.
Only go top quality and heavy duty of road magnets, they may cost more but will be worth it. If you try to save money you will end up paying twice. Easy to get new hubs when the brakes are fitted.
Barnesy