DP Chip help for 1HD-FTE
Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 20:38
fester2au
Guys I picked up a second hand DP Chip for a 78/79 series ute. I want to put it into my 80 Series which had a 1HD-FTE converison by the previous owner.
I can't identify the plug and wire in the engine bay which I need to tap into. I have both the 100 series and 79 series instructions for the chip but neither show a clearer enough picture of the plug or identify the wire colour and of course being a DIY converison in a different vehicle the picture of the plugs location is of no real use.
Can someone help me with a photo of the plug, it's description, the colour of the wire or where I can track the wire back from. I assume if I take the cover off the pump I'd be able to follow it back to the plug from there but if someone can help with any or all of the above it would be appreciated.
Reply By: Kruzr - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 20:49
Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 20:49
I Think The Plug You Are Looking For Is Behind The Glove Box From Memory.
Follow Up By: fester2au - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:23
Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:23
No sorry kruzr wiring to ECU is fine it's teh pump connection I'm having trouble with.
Reply By: Member - Matthew C - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 21:26
Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 21:26
Ok i fit these for a living,what style DP is it.
The one that just two plugs on it and a thin
grey wire or has it got several thin wires.
If its the one that has two plugs then it is under the black plastic cover over the fuel pump and it is the rear most plug and the thin wire goes to the accelerator pedal wiring and the last two are power and earth.
The other style are a little more complicated.
Matt
Follow Up By: fester2au - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:29
Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:29
Thanks Matt. It's the DP34 and might be a little older as it doesn't have the USB port. It has 3 wires (from memory) for the ECU. 2 to trigger from the ECU and a brown earth. To the engine bay there are 2 out the end of the conduit (spliced from the sheathed single wire by the look) one is brown and I assume this is also the earth to match the ECU wires. I making that assumption on colour alone as the PO must have cut the eyelet off. The other wire is a dark
grey or black. I know where it's supposed to go but of course can;t identify the plug. There is no obvious plug but the PO could have run the wires up under the pump and tucked them in the pump cover from what I guess without digging. Just no point digging till I know what I'm looking for.
Your further help is appreciated.
Reply By: Member - Matthew C - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 15:06
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 15:06
Ok i need the serial number of the unit to be able to help you any further.
Matt
Follow Up By: fester2au - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 21:18
Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 21:18
Sorry Matt been a little preoccupied. If you mean the codes on the box it comes in then it has written on it:
DP34 T\A 365A Toyota L/C 100 Series.
I know it says 100 series but I confirmed before purchase with the DP people that it will work with the ute as
well.
Like I said I have everything including the insructions for for wagon and ute but just can't identify the plug due to the DIY conversion.
Reply By: Member - Matthew C - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 21:31
Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 21:31
Ok mate no worries,so that is all the info that you have,no other numbers etc.
Matt
Follow Up By: fester2au - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 21:37
Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 21:37
No I had a look at the unit itself and there does not appear to be any serial number or any reference on it so all I've got is the code on the packing box. Least I didn't see anything obvious on the unit and I'm sure I'm not that blind yet.