Landcruiser rear leaft springs
Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 13:05
Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124
I got a 94 mod HJZ75 Ute and replaced the heavy steel tray with a nice aluminium tray. Now the rear springs are that hard I bounce all over the place. Should I take a leaf out of my springs or get a new set or better set.
The rear springs are only 12 month old but way to hard.
If it is smart to remove a leaf which one?
Reiner
Reply By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 13:56
Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 13:56
Hi Reiner, My 130 trayback landy has a alluminium tray and is coil sprung on the rear, it dances all over the place without weight on, I am surprised you replaced the steel tray with a alloy one, I'm thinking of going the other way for extra strength and weight..lol. Keeping the rear tyre pressure down a bit helps somewhat , but if you want to tow or carry something you can't really do that..
Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 16:23
Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 16:23
As far as I understand leaf springs they have a soft setting in the first 3 or 4 leafs for travelling empty. If loaded they settle down on the bottom part of
the springs and work there under load.
My Steel tray was ex mines and twisted badly plus I don't want to carry all this weight if I don't need it.
The alu tray is good enough for me and those days all I carry is woodships and gardensoil :-)
Reiner
Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 17:47
Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 17:47
Crickey
A wooden ship on your tray!!! :)
NOW THAT I HAVE TO SEE :)
Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 20:48
Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 20:48
Are you one of those spelling Nazis or just trying to be funny??? If you're trying to be funny that is ok :-)
but.............
Reiner
Reply By: Kroozer - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 23:53
Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 23:53
Had the same problem with
mine for years mate, just accepted it as a 75 series trademark. Tried many different brands, have recently just transferred to a full Ironman kit, and its heaps better though i steel have the steel tray and with more weight in there it just gets better. Could probably just try taking out a leaf or two, should soften up a bit. I carry 2 spare tyres on
mine and usually keep the auxilary
tank around half full which enables a lovely ride all round. Try just taking a leaf out maybe first see how that feels.
Reply By: Dunedigger - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 07:19
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 07:19
My 2003 79 series has an aluminium tray. I just keep the tyre pressures down when unloaded. You can aways throw on a few sandbags on to load it up when necessary. I see no point having a heavy tray just to take the bounce out.
You could remove a leaf and replace it with air bags. They need to be air bags that take a lot more pressure than the 30 PSi ones though.
Dunedigger
Reply By: ross - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 09:30
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 09:30
I did the same thing on my 75 series but I have left them like that as I need to carry a slide on camper.
The rest of the time I have 2 spares stapped at the back of the tray.
I would remove a leaf if you dont need the HD springs.
I thought you sold the 75 and bought a new Nissan or am I confiusing you with someone else??
Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 11:40
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 11:40
Ross
You are paying attention mate :-)
Yes I did buy a Nissan Ute but kept my Landcruiser. The Nissan is going up for sale soon .
I was going to post a story Nissan ver Toyota but thought there has been enough of that. In short I like the Landcruiser better without knowing for sure why.
Reiner