My Feedback on Cooper STs Light Truck 245/75/R16

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 17:42
ThreadID: 60924 Views:4589 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
Hi all! Finished the 6 week treck around Australia - Bummer. For all that are looking for tyres though I would post about how our new Coopers performed. I looked at a lot of posts before I brought and chose a tyre, so here is another unbias opinion. Excellent all round performance on all surfaces. No punctures or cuts and we did 95% of our trip on Road pressures of 36psi all round (except for the Simpson Desert Big Red Dune, put them down to 18psi for that) Travelled good distances on all road surfaces and we stayed off the bitumen as far as possible, completed 12600kms. They still look as good as new. Regards Tony

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:16

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:16
Thanks Tony,

timing it to see how long it takes to get a reply from the ACL (anti-cooper league). I had a good run out of ST's but have moved to Dick Cepek FC2's to try something different. Nothing polarises people on this forum more than the old Cooper/BFG debate! (Except of course the Engle/Waeco, Toyota/Nissan, Garmin/Magellan, trackranger/ozi, scotch/bourbon, dog/cat debates lol).

Mick

AnswerID: 321431

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) The O - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:33

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:33
It wont be long, we have the same size tyre as Tony but in the ST/C compound and have not had any real problems except they have gone out of balance.

I think you will find Coopers have the same problems as every other tyre but it is more obvious with them as they sell a lot more then the other brands.

Some people will destroy what every tyre they put on the vehicle.

FollowupID: 588272

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:34

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:34
You can stop the clock Mick! The anti Cooper brigade are here ;-)
Just like it's important for people like Tony to report on his success with his tyres it's equally important for the others who don't have a good run to report the failures thereby giving an overall view of how they perform in different conditions on different vehicles. Unfortunately for Cooper there are alot of bad reports :-( Always good to hear though on an improvement with a product that has such a chequered history.
Cheers Craig.............
FollowupID: 588273

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 20:05

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 20:05
52 minutes Craig. Everyone must be on holidays...or mellowing heaven forbid! Cheers. Mick.

FollowupID: 588296

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:33

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:33
Hi Tony, if you managed to do your trek around Australia in six weeks did the tyres come into contact with the road surface!! LOL & glad to hear you are happy with your purchase. Cheers
AnswerID: 321432

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 20:06

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 20:06
Barry. I see your point, but it is suprising how far you get in six weeks, there was a lot of relaxing in between long drives, so it was all good. Next time it will be good to put the tread on the road to give the tyres a real test. LOL. Regards
FollowupID: 588297

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:54

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:54
gday all

i have the ATR's on my navara, absolutly more than happy with them. mud, sand or tar they have performed very well.

i will be definatly buying another set again,cheers.
AnswerID: 321436

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 23:43

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 23:43
Well I don't know how long the time is BUT ........ I have been a Coopers supporter since I purchased them in 05 to do the Cape on that trip they did some 7000 klms no biggie and no real damage some cuts and lugs missing pressures 26 on dirt.

Apart from that I have done a few smaller trips off road and a couple of coopers have really started to get cut up and lots of lugs have been ripped off.

I put two new Goodrich on the front for my Flinders trip for the a EO gathering and they have not chipped at all (on front) still have not, coopers on back no increase in damage.

From MY view on MY vehicle the coopers seem to damage MUCH more on the front and very little on the back.

Why this is so, beats me. I'm about to do a rotation but not sure how to do this, figure I will just put the coopers on the front and get my spares(coopers) on the back while on the black stuff until I'm ready to go off road again or I put two more Goodrich tyres on.

Everyone and respective vehicle are different and what suits one does not suit the other for ME I figure I work and drive to the conditions. At the moment after approximately 40000 klm the coopers are holding up but are only on the back of my vehicle.

My spares at the moment did some 15000 klms and are cut and lugs missing all over these were the original one on the front.

I will not be getting Coopers again but will use what I have till they are stuffed fully.

I'm pleased you have done well and hope this stays the case.

AnswerID: 321477

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 09:17

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 09:17
Brian. Which ones did you buy? I gave my STS a hard time, but saying that took great effort to miss all the large rocks on the road and travelled at a slower speeds when required. Would be good to get to the bottom of the problems with tyres to see what may be the cause of the failures. Regards Tony
FollowupID: 588375

Reply By: Kroozer - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 03:15

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 03:15
Personally im a Bridgestone Dueler A/T 693 man. Have never had any trouble out of them, taken me everywhere i want to go and no signs of chipping or anything. But, thats my choice and its the type of tyre i feel confident is best for what i do and am very happy with them. I reckon if anything gives you good service and you are confident in it, no matter what it is, then you are going to stick to it. So be it Coopers, BFG, Mickey T's, Simex, Bridgestone whatever, if they do what you want them to do and best of all they save you money then stick with them. Really it comes down to driving style, terrain, vehicle type and tyre maintenance. So if ya mate or someone ya know with identical car, who does same type of driving as you and looks after there tyres gets good service from a certain brand then i reckon give them a go. Cause really everyones opinion is different.
AnswerID: 321486

Reply By: curious - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 16:39

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 16:39
Tony, I did similar kms to you in a six- week trip (13,000 kms) across Australia and didn't spend all the time driving. I also run Coopers, just put a brand new set on after 85,000 kms from the old Cooper STs. Krooser summed it up pretty well; it does largely depend on terrain, driving style and tyre maintenance. I'm rotating the tyres every 5000 kms and measuring tread depth at each rotation so it will be interesting to see if there's more wear/damage in front or rear use. I used to run truck fleets so I guess the old habits of tyre monitoring have followed me into 4x4.

AnswerID: 321540