Submitted: Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 17:37
VH-GU4
Does anybody us the super rod?? from electric bug in
Adelaide for their HF?? Is this a one only frequency or is it tuneable to use multiple frequencies??
Reply By: DIO - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:16
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:16
Perhaps you could ask Electric Bug and then let the rest of us know.
Follow Up By: Member - Dick (Int) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:35
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:35
Another useful reply from DIO
Follow Up By: VH-GU4 - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 19:34
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 19:34
Forget i asked! If anyone else has any USEFULL info please post.
Follow Up By: Member - Dick (Int) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 20:19
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 20:19
Hi VH-GU4
My apologies for only having a dig at DIO and not answering your question.
There was a good post on here not that far back about the Super Rod. If you search the
forum it should come up.
Phil G (SA) has one and swears by it. I am sure Phil will see this post and reply to you. From what I know from Phil, it is a very long antenna and is only practical to use when you are stopped. I think it mounts beside the autotune and you connect it to the autotune.
Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 20:21
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 20:21
Hey VH
Dont let iDIOt above get to ya mate, he's just being his usual wanker self...
Cheers.....Borgy
Reply By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 20:21
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 20:21
Sounds like the beginning of, yet another, pack beat up on DIO to me.
If you have purchased a product from X supplier then ask X supplier what it can do - does that not sound reasonable?
This
forum is developing a very unhealthy mentality of pack/gang behaviour and needs a few more people, than just me, to reject it.
mike_harding@fastmail.fm
Follow Up By: Member - Dick (Int) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:28
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:28
Sorry Mike
I won't post any more about DIO
Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 23:57
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 23:57
If you feel so sorry for the wanker then perhaps you might like to give him a cuddle....or maybe you could do with one yourself!!
Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 23:59
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 23:59
G'day Dick
I should have made myself a bit clearer , im not refering to you in my comment above...
Cheers......Borgy
Follow Up By: Member - Dick (Int) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 00:59
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 00:59
Thanks Borgy
Reply By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 20:23
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 20:23
Sounds like the beginning of, yet another, pack beat up on DIO to me.
If you have purchased a product from X supplier then ask X supplier what it can do - does that not sound reasonable?
This
forum is developing a very unhealthy mentality of pack/gang behaviour and needs a few more people, than just me, to reject it.
mike_harding@fastmail.fm
Reply By: a convict - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 20:37
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 20:37
..off topic
After a previous post I scoured the the 'electric bug' site but could not find any reference on site to the amazing 'super rod'.
Are 'we' all sure they actually still sell ..'said item?
Hello hello ..testing.
Reply By: blue one - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 22:45
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 22:45
Electric bug have a very good stainless steel whip which can tune across the HF spectrum.
I use one on the 9350 with great results.
This maybe what you are after.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 00:09
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 00:09
I've been using one for about 4 years now. Quite a few friends have them too, and the improvement in performance is quite noticeable - base operators usually comment. The blurb from Electric Bug tells most of the story:
It takes about a minute to set up, and a couple of minutes to pack up. I hook
mine onto the autotune on the back of my vehicle so can use it for any frequency. But if you skip the autotune, and connect it directly to the set, its the right length for 8.022 MHz. But it still works pretty
well on other frequencies.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 01:59
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 01:59
Phil How much are they?
And how do they pack up?? Telescopic or other??
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 09:25
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 09:25
Haven't priced them for a couple of years, but they used to be just under $300.
They are a telescopic fibreglass fishing rod, with a wire up the middle. When folded, they are about a metre long, and about 50mm diameter, and doesn't weigh much.
Follow Up By: Tony MD - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 17:17
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 17:17
You can easily make your own using a giant squid pole and a bit of light duty insulated cable.
The cable could run on the outside of the pole just as easily as in the centre.
The closer the antenna is to a full sized 1/4 wave length, the more efficient & better radiator it will be.
The Codan 9350 will not tune a wire that is longer than a 1/4 wave length.
Wave length =300 divided by frequency in mHz (free space measurement - practically, subtract around 5%)
Cheers, Tony.