Firewall Cracking
Submitted: Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:16
reedo
I have a 1998 2 door holden Frontera (i know). The clutch has always been an issue but lately it has become almost undrivable. Took it in to get repaired thinking it would be a clutch/gearbox problem only to find the firewall is cracked and gives out under the weight of my foot, hence not giving much pedal action. I need to get this repaired somehow in order to fix the clutch itself. Does anyone know of this happening before and how/where/who it was rectified.
Cheers guys, Adam
Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 20:12
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 20:12
G'day Adam
I have seen it happen before, not on a Frontera though, I fixed the prob myself with a bit of mig welding and reinforcement, any good crash repairer should be able to fix it for you.....Where abouts are you??
Cheers.....Borgy
Reply By: Splits - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:53
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:53
Adam
This maybe a bit of a long shot but before you do anything, check with a Holden dealer to see if this is a common problem with your model. In my days in the motor industry many years ago, I was involved with two factory recalls by Ford and Toyota to fix cracks in Cortinas and Taragos.
There is always the possibility that the Frontera has been the subject of a recall and yours has missed being repaired and modified. If not then the dealer may have seen your problem once or twice before and knows the best way to fix it.
Reply By: reedo - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:55
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:55
Hey.. Yeh thats good to know its been done before. It definately doesn't need much weld, just enough to hold the clutch plate. Im in
Adelaide. Cheers
Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 23:47
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 23:47
Adam
If you dont have any luck , drop me an email and i'll give you my Number and see what i can do.....
borgy5@optusnet.com.au
Cheers.....Borgy
Reply By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 22:02
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 22:02
Hi Adam,
I owned a 1990 Rodeo (basically the same front end as the Frontera) and at the 180,000km (~1998) mark I had the exact same thing happen to
mine.
Well and truely out of warrenty. I was shocked and thought this is going to cost me heaps.
I rang the local Holden dealer (who I'd never been too) and explained what was wrong with it. He said "oh yeah its a pretty common problem". Without me asking he said Holden will pay for half the repairs. I nearly fell off my chair. I think it cost me about $160 in the end.
Worth a few phone calls mate - they can only say no.
Follow Up By: donks1 - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 09:50
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 09:50
Yeh definately an Isuzu problem... Rodeos are known for the same problem.
Depending on how bad/big the crackis you can normally weld a plate to repair..
Donks