Valve adjustment
Submitted: Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 20:23
Member - Leigh (Vic)
The 1HDE-FTE valve arrangement in the diesel toyota was a real surprise to see once I had spent the best part of an hour just removing all the gear to get to it. Wow!! Now I have some experience from a couple of decades ago with very simple, perhaps traditional set ups, but this level of engineering was a very different kettle of fish. I have finished the job, all back together and running quite nicely. Having done this however I have a few reflections to share:
1. I now understand why my local Yota bloke described this as a "buggar of a job" and tend not to do them if they can avoid it.
2. The Yota service manual suggests a feeler gauage be inserted first to check clearances. THIS IS IMPOSSIBLE given the design of the rocker and the nature of the cap that sits between it and the bridge sitting across the top of the two valves.
3. The Yota service manual is a little confusing and requires a couple of re-reads to make sure you fully understand the sequence of adjustments on each rocker.
4. Whilst I'll do them again at 80K (40K this time) I don't expect there'll be much change in tollerances.
5. I was surprised at the amount of soot that lies coated within the inlet manifold, compliments of the EGR system.
6. This stuff is so over engineered (rollers everywhere) it should be bullet proof. I will not be reserved in applying RPM in future, and
7. finally, as a desk jockey, I have the satisfaction of having done the task and learn't a little bit more about why I should get others to do this work for me!!
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:11
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:11
Good to hear you had ago Leigh, years ago I used to work on earthmoving equipment, and a part of the warranty service would have to do Valve Clearances. spend hours removing all the gear above the rocker cover just to remove it. pita, just to fined nothing needed to be adjusted.
Nowadays seeing how I'm a desk jockey I pay someone else to do it for me.. LOL
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 23:34
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 23:34
Gday Leigh,
Getting a feeler gauge in there is not quite impossible although I admit its a bugger of a job - just file a sharp edge on
the tip of your feeler gauge, and it may go in easier.
Theres a fix for all that carbon in the intake - can simply disable the EGR. I cleaned
mine out 2 years ago, disabled the EGR and haven't looked back. Details
here.
I adjust
mine every 40, but they don't change much at all.
Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 20:25
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 20:25
Many thanks Phil for your tips ...both are very gratefully received and will be applied soon. Thanks again mate. Cheers Leigh
Reply By: Worm73 - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 06:43
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 06:43
Thanks for the info Leigh I will be doing
mine shortly as
well. As a diesel mechanic by trade I just can't justify paying a dealership $1200 to do the log book service for me. Did you buy the genuine engine manual or something after market? How was the clearances and did you have to make any adjustments? I actualy havent looked under the rocker cover yet but I was under the impression that they are shim udjusted is that correct?
Cheers Brad.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 10:32
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 10:32
Brad,
They are a bridge with two valves operated by one rocker. Looks like this:
Getting the feeler in here is the hard bit, because that cup sucks downwards:
And when adjusting (I need to read the manual on this every time), you hold the bridge steady with a shifter to prevent damage, as andrew mentioned below:
Follow Up By: Worm73 - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 17:21
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 17:21
Thanks for that Phil.. I swear when I rang and had a quote for the service the service advisor told me they were a bucket shim arrangement. Thank god I am not sending it to them hey! Have been a Diesel Mechanic for 20 years and by the looks of your photos I wont be having any troubles adjusting those I am used to doing engines with 400 plus hosepower and Engine brakes. Bloody amazing how clean these engines are nowadays I reckon I can see the green tinge of the oil in those photos are you running the Toyota genuine oil?
Cheers Brad
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 19:54
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 19:54
I'm not surprised that the service advisor got it wrong. I'm sure the dealer mechanics know better!
Being direct injection, it runs fairly clean - the photos were taken at 80,000k, and it had had 5k changes since new. These days, it gets 8-10k changes because the oil's not black enough at 5k. I've used Fuchs 15W40 and more recently Gulf Western TopDog 15W40, and genuine filters. Done 135,000 now.
I don't think theres any such thing as a Toyota genuine oil. The stuff in the parts dept comes out of a local refinery, and is 20W50, so I won't use it.
Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 20:42
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 20:42
Hi Brad. Phil is really on the money here so I won't comment except that I'm happy to provide copies of relevant pages out of the manual. If you have two sets of hands that would also be an advantage...lots of syncronised activity! Cheers Leigh
Follow Up By: Worm73 - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 07:49
Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 07:49
Thanks for the follow up Leigh and Phil. As for the offer of sending the pages through I think I will take you up on that if thats okay. I will be getting myself an engine manual shortly as I think it will come in handy over the coming years especialy when we are doing our around Oz trip.
Cheers Brad
Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 08:25
Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 08:25
Hi Brad. If you can give me an email address I'll make a pdf copy and email it to you on Monday. Cheers Leigh
Follow Up By: Worm73 - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 10:02
Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 10:02
Graetly appreciated Leigh. brad_worthington@bigpond.com
Cheers Brad
Follow Up By: Member - jay D (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 17:09
Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 17:09
Hi Leigh
Would it be possible to get a copy of the manual pages re valve adjustment please. Im about to check
mine.
jay
Reply By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 09:19
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 09:19
The hdft and the hdfte are manual adjustable. It is very important you hold the bridge while tightening or loosening the adjustment locknuts, as the bridge guide can twist and result in breaking the motor. That said, they dont usually go out of adjustment. People have stated elsewhere they stretch out the schedule to double and still get minimal variation...
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 17:33
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 17:33
$hit Leigh that must have been a shock to the system actually getting your hands dirty :-)
I bet you wore gloves so the oil didn't get under the finger nails LOL.
Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 20:38
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 20:38
Luv ya John! Yeah I bought the Toyota engine manual due to curiosity and thought I'd give it a go last Sunday. A bit brave for me but stready as she goes and I gradually worked my way through it. If you are wanting to do yours I'd be happy to copy the relevant pages and send over as a PDF. Now got two Yotas to service and thought I'd better get a bit more active in their scheduled maintenance and gain a bit more knowledge. Just bought a 3l TD Prado for when I get really old and incapable of climbing up into the troopy. Nice and comfortable but prefer troopy. Catch you soon. Cheers Leigh
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 20:46
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 20:46
Copy the pages and send em over for me to do????
Hmmmm!!!! I thought now you know how to do it you would be just busting to come over and do
mine for me whilst I watched and kept my hands clean :-))
Reply By: mechpete - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 21:06
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 21:06
by yourself a good nissan mate.
fig