Bros 1
G'day all,
Heading off 01/09 for our periodic trip to
Bathurst Bay area. This year going to call in to Ninian Bay either on the way up or way back.
The question is has anyone been to either of these
places this year and if so conditions of the tracks please.
Been to Ninian Bay a couple of times but not for 8 years or so.
Three vehicles and six blokes.
Bros
Reply By: Towie - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 08:47
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 08:47
Not been in there recently but have been through the Cape and there has been no rain for months so its dry as buggery......
Should pose no probs at all...... as for road surface quality i dont know anyone thats been in there lately... cheers & have fun
Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 08:59
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 08:59
G'day Towie,
Thanks for your input bloke.
Will certainly have fun as long as we can avoid becoming croc chit.
Bros
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 08:50
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 08:50
G'day Bros,
Didn't make it there myself, as you know but a mate went to Ninian Bay last year and said the track was pretty overgrown. He is a novice traveller and I reckon that if he can get there anyone can. He also was travelling a little earlier in the year (early August) he drives an 80 series diesel ans was heavily loaded. Said that there were a group of other campers there when he was there and he only did a day trip.
Have a great trip and let us know how it goes.
Theo
Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 08:57
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 08:57
G'day Theo,
Yeah the two times i have been to Ninian Bay the mulga was scraping both sides of the vehicle in
places.
Will certainly let you know about the trip.
Bros.
Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 13:25
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 13:25
Hi there Bros, if you get into the Bay o.k. and you come to the headstone of my rellies who were lost in the big monsoon of 1901 say a few kind words for me please? Their name is Outridge(my Grandmother's brother and nephew).
Have a good trip - keep out of the way of the nasties.
Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 15:07
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 15:07
G'day Ruth,
Good to hear from you. Been up to
the monument several times without knowing your rellies were remembered there. I don't know if it is appropriate or not but i will put a picture of
the monument on this thread or in my profile if it is ok by you, so others can see.
Bities are on your mind fairly constantly up there.
Bros.
Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 17:20
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 17:20
That would be terrific - thanks, Bros - have a good trip. I'll get there one day to see it for myself. Mum went in by boat one time and took a photo for me and gathered a few shells from there. Keep the lot with a story of the whole saga written by one of the family.
Reply By: Bros 1 - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 23:37
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 23:37
Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 23:43
Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 23:43
There you go Ruth.
The story goes that
the monument is situated at the height the
water went during the cyclonic tidal surge. When you stand and look across the valley there was a hell of aq lot of
water.
BrosImage Could Not Be Found