towing vehicle

Hi People,
I wondering if anyone could advise me on which vehicle would be better for towing a caravan as my dad is going to join the lucky grey army and tour our great land. We are looking at either a Toyota landcruiser 100 series turbo diesel, V8 with gas conversion or a patrol turbo diesel. Your advise and experience would be much appreciated.

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 02:07

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 02:07

I am no expert in towing but the guys are going to want to know what your Dad will be towing....how heavy etc etc
AnswerID: 321649

Follow Up By: lennygxl - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 02:16

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 02:16
thanks Troll
Just as I thought he really should pick the caravan he wants then work around that hey.

lennygxl
FollowupID: 588512

Reply By: Member - Doug T NT - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 03:55

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 03:55
lennygxl
From what I've seen and heard what the owners had to say is this,
amd in my opinion there are many options , Up to 18 Ft a Hyundai Santa Fe TD or a Landcruiser Troopcarrier V8-TD,
Over 18Ft a Landcruiser Troopcarrier V8-TD,, I have also spoken to Owners of Pajero's , Nissans, Dodge Ram, Landrover Discovery, and Ford Ranger, and they all seem happy with what they have , When one lives in Caravan Parks you get to see all types of combinations ,

AnswerID: 321650

Reply By: Towie - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 08:36

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 08:36
Yeh it depends how much your towing? How comfy you want to be? Do you want a wagon or ute? If the weight is less than 2000kg they will all tow ok once you set it all up especially with HR hitch sysytem...
For my mind there is no substitute for cubes! However i believe a V8 is overkill with modern fuel costs..
We have a 79 Series Tray back thats been chipped and i doubt and standard V8 would be much better.
Remember a large engine working easy at lower revs is going to be better than a smaller one reving alot higher....
Good luck & happy trails...Towie
AnswerID: 321665

Reply By: ingo57 - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 09:04

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 09:04
Gday lennygxl

4.8 Patrol on gas is the best tow vehicle ever, however If diesel is preferred and not doing any extreme 4wding the TD100 series would be the pick.
My 2 cents worth coming from a Nissan enthusiast.

AnswerID: 321673

Reply By: Neil & Lynne - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 09:05

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 09:05
Hi there.
We have an 18' Paramount full height van weighing in at around 2100kg and were towing with an 80 series petrol/gas vehicle. It did the job well but was very thirsty at up to 30 l/100km.
In February we changed to a Mitzy Triton TD common rail deisel.
Different as chalk to cheese, now getting 13 - 15 l/100km with the van on & around 8 - 9 without and much more power for hills etc.
As stated above though, he needs to know what van he wants as the Triton is only rated for 2500kg towed mass.

Neil.
AnswerID: 321674

Reply By: Member - David R (QLD) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 11:08

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 11:08
If they are towing on paved roads, which is 99% of most people's needs, there is NO NEED to get a 4WD! A Falcon / Commodore will tow as well as a 4WD and be easier to drive around and park etc when not towing. Of course if they want to explore off road on their travels then yes a 4WD will be the go.
AnswerID: 321694

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 13:50

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 13:50
Even on bitumen, you'll have a different set of limits.

VE Commodore has 2100kg tow limit; 16.0 l/100k (official figure with factory LPG) and 73 litre fuel tank (range will only be maybe 300km when towing).

100series TD has 3500kg tow limit; 11.5 l/100k and 145l fuel, so maybe a 800km range when towing.
FollowupID: 588582

Follow Up By: Member - David R (QLD) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 16:42

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 16:42
Horses for courses Phil. Respect your point of view but a sedan will be cheaper to buy, easier to maintain etc. My main point was that many people mistakenly think they need to have a 4WD for towing a caravan and that is not always the case.
FollowupID: 588609

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 18:52

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 18:52
David,
I couldn't agree more when it comes to cost - second hand Commodores and Falcons are amazing cheap.
phil
FollowupID: 588642

Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 12:57

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 12:57
Diesel is by far the best for towing, petrol uses a lot more fuel (up to double). You could go lpg but many places out bush don't have lpg and he would be forced to stick with petrol which if done often enough would negate any savings made by using lpg! Using 30l/100km would make an 80l lpg tank last only 250km before having to fill up again or switch to petrol!

Personally I think the 3.0 turbo diesel Patrol is a piece of crap. Unloaded on the highway it cruises but loaded at low revs it's useless. But then with a small van on bitumen it may be fine.

Out of the examples you give the 100 series turbo diesel would be the best but also look at the Pajero, s/hand 4.2 diesel (turbo or non-turbo) Patrol or also dual cabs may also suit depending on load and conditions and actually how much towing will be done.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 321719

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 17:03

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 17:03
I agree..... I wouldn't touch a 3 litre Patrol for a heavy towing application. Hey, you could be lucky and never have a problem....but the balance of probabilities are stacked against you.

I'm from the old school that believes you can't beat cubes.....

My 6.5 V8 diesel Chev powered Patrol is a great tow vehicle (when the chassis is straight...hahaha).

I'd imagine the Toyota 4.5 TD V8 diesel would be a great tow vehicle.

FollowupID: 588613

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 22:26

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 22:26
According to our mate Macka his mighty 3l outperforms all the big guns. haha. lol Sorry guys could not help myself
FollowupID: 588684