tv reception at yulara

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 13:11
ThreadID: 61005 Views:5745 Replies:4 FollowUps:28
going to stay in yulara camping ground in our van. like to know please whats the tv recption like,we DONT have satellite...cheers.. Rod

Reply By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 13:56

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 13:56
rredbeak
Forget the TV mate, get out there and see the place.

Go for great walks around Uluru (the ROCK), out of respect for the locals & your own heart dont climb it, see the sunrise & sunsets, Get out to Kata Tjuta (the Olga's) and walk the "Valley of the winds" take in the Aboriginal cultural centre, go ballooning, feel & breath the desert air, be amazed by the wildflowers that will abound this year due to some useful rain recently.

Forget "Dancing with the Stars", amaze yourself with a Billion real stars.

JMHO, cheers Colin.
AnswerID: 321831

Follow Up By: rredbeak - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 18:54

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 18:54
weve already seen the rock,we stayed there for 3 weeks a few months back,now,we're flying our daughter over to show her around and love my night time tv..cheers TY.. Rod
FollowupID: 588799

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:15

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:15
Perhaps you could see it a second time... from a different personal perspective or... I dunno... something else? It just seems a shame to travel to such a place and watch TV.

FollowupID: 588818

Follow Up By: rredbeak - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:27

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:27
hello mike,im talking about night time tv,the days will be spent walking the valley of the winds etc. im not fit enough to climb the rock,but,weather permitting,my daughter will attempt it. she has been to the rock once but the climb was closed do to high winds...cheers.. Rod
FollowupID: 588823

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:38

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:38
Why do people have to justify how they spend their leisure time?

Why do others judge?

FollowupID: 588825

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:54

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:54
>Why do people have to justify how they spend their leisure time?

They don't; however some choose to do so.

>Why do others judge?

Because... when you post to these sort of sites on the internet, which are public forum, you should, indeed must, expect your post to be commented upon by others.

FollowupID: 588827

Follow Up By: rredbeak - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:56

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:56
Mikes post was genuine and taken in the right attitude.. i think i should have made it clear its night time tv,weve depleted our collection of dvds here,tv make a good change...rod
FollowupID: 588828

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 10:40

Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 10:40
If you want to climb it, climb it as it is yours as well.

But make sure you are FIT !!!!

FollowupID: 588858

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 19:49

Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 19:49
Oh dear, Colin

You make me laugh > out of respect for the locals <

Uluru is owned by the Locals. Remember? Gough Whitlam gave it back to the Mutijulu mob waaay back inthe '70's. If they didn't want you to climb it they would just say NO!

But there too much money involved so they go with the flow of the cash register.

FollowupID: 588954

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 20:42

Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 20:42
> out of respect for the locals < LOL
Willem, that's my euphemism for not wanting to climb it, and possibly bring on a heart attack, I don't want my name on a plaque at the walk start at the base of the rock. ;-)

But the walk around the base is possibly more interesting any way, hell last time we did that a Gerry tourist slipped on the wet rock (the rock is fantastic during rain despite ill prepared tourists) and landed not far from us, the poor soul.
Colin.
FollowupID: 588973

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 09:56

Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 09:56
Willem, although i agree with you most of the way....it is FREE to climb the rock so that part of your argument is null and void.

It only cost $25 to get into the Park.

FollowupID: 589030

Follow Up By: rredbeak - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 14:05

Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 14:05
if youre a NT living resident its free to enter the park...but for trhe rest of us its 25 per head [lasts 2 days] or the weekly pass but i dont know nhow much...
FollowupID: 589084

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 14:23

Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 14:23
Yes but Dunco how many people would visit the rock if you couldnt climb it? I know I wouldnt have paid to go in or stayed if you couldnt climb it. I woud have just used my GCR permits to swing by and have a look before shooting off.
As said there is NOTHING stopping the climb to be closed if they wanted to.
FollowupID: 589086

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 14:31

Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 14:31
You have to be kidding mate ?

I visited there and I had no intention of climbing it due to crook knees and a bad back. There were HUNDREDS of people out there when i was there and not too many of them climbed the bugger.

Why the hell would you just swing by and have a look...gees, it is a thing that we must check out as Australians. I suppose you just swing by and have a look at everything else in this great country ?

Be real old mate and don't talk drivel :-)

FollowupID: 589089

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 14:32

Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 14:32
The entry fee is for every one over 16 it doesn't matter what part of the planet you come from, I was happy to pay it in January for the second time.

The reason the aboriginal people don't want you to climb the rock is because, every time someone gets hurt or worse they feel personally responsible, therefore they ask you not to, there are parts of the rock that are sacred sites, but the track to the top and the top are not. there is no reason you can't climb it.

As for TV reception I have no idea.

Cheers Steve.

FollowupID: 589090

Follow Up By: rredbeak - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 15:07

Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 15:07
they close the due to weather ,it was a beautifull calm day the last time we were there BUT it [the climb] was closed due to high winds at the summit...

it doesnt take much for them to close the climb believe me lol...they do notify you at the gate with a sign saying if the climb is open or not,and they tell you verbally before you part with your money....

still,if youre planning to see the rock and the olgas dont let this put you off. its MUCH bigger,larger,steeper than ANYTHING youve seen on tv about it...Seriously it IS the worlds largest rock and when you see it you will be awestruck...Rod
FollowupID: 589094

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 15:13

Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 15:13
rredbeak,

"Seriously it IS the worlds largest rock and when you see it you will be awestruck..."

Agree about awestruck - not too sure about it being the largests rock. I thought that honour went to Mt. Augustus in Western Australia.

FollowupID: 589097

Follow Up By: rredbeak - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 20:50

Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 20:50
i was under the impression its the worlds largest single rock,the americans claim theirs is the biggest single rock [theirs is carved walls of horse mounted war heroes,very impressive] but ayres rock takes the crown.its probable mt augustus is a series or rocks not one solid object.. mt conner at curtain springs is also larger than ayers rock but is not one single rock...thats what i was led to believe.. cheers.. Rod
FollowupID: 589158

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 21:33

Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 21:33
Hope this sheds some light on the subject. In essence nether is proven to be the largest monolith.

Mount Augustus

Mount AugustusMount Augustus stands 1105 m above sea level, or approximately 860 m above the surrounding plain, and covers an area of 47.95 km². It has a central ridge which is almost 8 km long. Mount Augustus is widely claimed to be the “world's largest monolith”,[2] but the claim does not originate from the geological literature, nor appears to be substantiated by any other scholarly research. The claim appears to have arisen out of long standing rivalry with Uluru, another unsubstantiated claimant for the title.

Geology
Mount Augustus is composed of sandstone and conglomerate, a formation known to geologists as the Mount Augustus Sandstone, which overlies older granite near its northern end.[3] The Mount Augustus Sandstone was deposited by ancient river systems and is somewhat younger than the 1.65 billion year old granite beneath. The originally horizontal sediments have been folded into an asymmetric anticline by later earth movements.

European history
Francis Thomas Gregory reached the summit on 3 June 1858 during his epic 107-day journey through the Gascoyne region, becoming the first recorded European to climb the mountain[citation needed]. Some weeks later he named the peak after his brother, Sir Augustus Charles Gregory (1819-1905). At the time Augustus was on his last expedition, an unsuccessful foray into western Queensland in an attempt to discover the whereabouts of Ludwig Leichhardt.[citation needed]

References
^ Naturebase WA Department of Environment and Conservation (accessed 10 April 2007)
^ "Mount Augustus - The largest monolith in the world" at www.smh.com.au (accessed 10 April 2007)
^ Muhling P.C. & Brakel A.T. 1985. Geology of the Bangemall Group — The evolution of an intracratonic Proterozoic basin. Western Australia Geological Survey, Bulletin 128, 266 p. GSWA download search

Cheers, Colin.
FollowupID: 589173

Follow Up By: rredbeak - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 22:39

Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 22:39
thats very impressive... ill do a google on the worlds largest monolith rock,there should be some very interresting results and claims LOL. I KNOW ive had many a discussion with my friend in Alabama over his claim his is the largest single rock.be interresting reading i bet.. cheers guys.. Rod
FollowupID: 589192

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 23:00

Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 23:00
Sigh Duncs
you obvosly wernt paying attention while you were there then.
It is along a transit route to western Australia.
Iwould have swung past and had a look because I was going that way. The permit alows you passage through the park for free. The climb was closed when i got there so I paid entry fee to hang around (prob still didnt have to) till it opened.
You admit to not climbng it so you obviosly didnt see what i saw which was many peple climbing it ................. and enjoying it.
Climbing the rock is a huge drawcard and certainly less people would bother to visit if they coudlnt
FollowupID: 589195

Reply By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 15:31

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 15:31
Rod,
The reception is good, UHF from a local transmitter.
From memory, ABC and Imparja.

AnswerID: 321847

Follow Up By: rredbeak - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 18:58

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 18:58
TY Dennis,because of its location we cant expect more than that. At Curtain Springs [one hour down the road] theres NO tv and im told NO radio. but free camping lol... Our Daughter is house sitting for us while we travel,what better way to thank her ,show her the best known attraction we have... Cheers.. Rod
FollowupID: 588801

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 19:08

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 19:08
No worries Rod,
Just thinking back on it, they might have four channels. Very expensive place to stay but.
The 'atmosphere' at Curtain Springs bar and the meals make up for the lack of TV/Radio. I wonder if 'Uncle' is still there?
They also used to do tours of some sort to the top of Mount Conner.

FollowupID: 588803

Follow Up By: rredbeak - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:07

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:07
yes,the tours are still going strong but Uncle i dont know im sorry...Rod
FollowupID: 588816

Reply By: Holden4th - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 19:07

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 19:07
I stayed at Curtin Springs 2 years ago and there was TV available at the place. How they received I didn 't ask about.
AnswerID: 321876

Follow Up By: rredbeak - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:14

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:14
they have one channel tv and a internet connection in the bar but other than that theres no provision,atleast in 2008...i loved the outdoor eating area where the Emu would reach over your shoulder and help you eat your meal LOL. That bird loved everything on offer,it would even harass coach passengers outside in the petrol bowser area LOL..The Owner who took over the buisness in 1952 might be Uncle that Dennis is referring to.if so YES hes still there and still full of good stories.curtin springs is the only resturant where youre encouraged to sit and eat with the workers of the station,share in their stories and tell them something of yourself...
FollowupID: 588817

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 23:47

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 23:47
couldnt get any reception there............................. My 12v TV is VHF only
AnswerID: 321910

Follow Up By: rredbeak - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 13:29

Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 13:29
gidday Davoe,i bought the new winegard,its round and flat just like a dinner plate,its masthead preamped [makes a big difference].i assume youre refering to yulara ??? ill let ppl know after we get there,we're currently still in alice springs waiting for the henley on todd this coming saturday then we're off to the rock...cheers Rod
FollowupID: 588884

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 14:55

Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 14:55
my post was a bit tongue in cheek. my TV is VHF only and as stated yulara repeater is UHF
my TV was at least 25 years old bu still worked alot of other places such as daly river
FollowupID: 588900

Follow Up By: Cupie - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 09:24

Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 09:24
G'day ..

Might be a bit late with this reply .. but here it is anyway ...

Details of all Aussie TV transmitters are available on this web site ...

www.acma.gov.au/WEB?STANDARD/pc+PC_9150

If that's too long just go to the acma.gov.au site & navigate thru.

cheers .. G
FollowupID: 589024

Follow Up By: rredbeak - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 14:06

Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 14:06
good one cupie.. ty
FollowupID: 589085