Jacks
Submitted: Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 17:25
Member - Bevan (QLD)
just wondering witch sort of jack i should get a high lift jack or an exaust jack. and if anyone knows any pro's or con that i should know about.
Reply By: Member - Doug T NT - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 17:39
Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 17:39
Kings Cross would be a good place for a starter, but no my choice would be the Exhaust Jack , it has no steel handle that's going to smack you in the chops,
Had a salesman in a TJM store say to me when I was enquiring about one .... he said a high lift would be better,what if the engine won't start , I just told him ...
well if the bloody engine won't start why would you want to jack it up. No answer .....lol.
Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 17:43
Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 17:43
What's wrong with the normal hydraulic jack? Add a base plate to stop it sinking in the mire and you'll avoid all the pitfalls of both the exhaust and the hi-lift....
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 18:35
Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 18:35
Provided you've got some aftermarket barwork (which I know you're about to get BTW), then I would definitely go the high lift. They are much more versatile and robust.
The few times I've been in a group and the bullbag was produced for a recovery, it was either already holed and useless, or became holed during the recovery (due to the fact that many 4bys have sharp bits underneath (ok if you've got a VW Toureg etc with a flat bottom). Even on the one occasion when I was watching a driver trainer demonstrate the use of one of these things (he'd used old bits of carpet above and below to avoid holes etc), the damn thing just wanted to skew out to one side.....to me they are a most ungainly bit of kit.
The high lift can be used in a number of different ways.... if needed, you can even turn a 4by 180 degrees on it's own axis (but you'd have to be desparate...hahaha). You can also use it as a come-along/hand winch and lever posts out of the ground etc.
Having said all that, I sold
mine a year or so ago, because the type of travelling I do means that I only used it once in the 15 years I owned it. Typically, since selling it, there have been a few occasions when I've regretted the decision.
Reply By: Member - Jack - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:23
Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:23
I have a high lift jack and have used it in anger.
I also bought a hydraulic truck jack a few years ago. Lifts higher than a normal car jack, and, with a base plate, have found it capable of giving me sufficient height to pack rubble under
wheels when it has been bogged. I usually carry both (plus my standard car jack).
Jack (no pun intended).
Reply By: P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:29
Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:29
For tyre changing... neither. Use your bottle jack, in the location recommended by your vehicle's manufacturer, take allong some hardwood pieces as a base plate, and you are in business...
for un-bog-ifying, if you really, really feel that you must, AND if you have jacking points, then get the hilift. Don't buy it to use as a handwinch, there are better options that won't see the handle break your jaw!
be sure to wrap it with something, we have ours in a half bag, on the wheel carrier, and even with the reasonably regular use that ours gets, it is still always caked with dirt and needs work before it can be used.
I'm not a fan of either, but If i had to choose, I'd take a hi-lift.
Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:34
Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:34
G'day Bevan
I have both as they each have their own pros and cons.
As other responses have stated the exhaust jack tends to wobble about a bit and despite the best preventive measures they do get damaged...but under the perfect recovery / jacking situation they are a breeze to use (however do we ever get the perfect situation is real life uses ?)
Having said that the hi lift can be dangerous if not used correctly...but an excllent jack when used for the purpose for which it was designed......it can also be used in the horizintal position as a hand winch.... steady and slow but feasible........ and most importantly of all you need to know in advance what / where your jacking points will be......no point in heading bush without having ensured you have the preparation and knowledge of where it will be placed on the vehicle in the time of need
If you click on my display photo you be able to see a purpose built jacking point I have cut and welded into the bull bar on both sides just to the rear of the fog lights....there is a also a point welded at the rear of the tray on both sides.........so when I go to use the hi lift I know where I am going to use it and secure in the knowledge that it is a safe lifting point....there are also commercial webbing straps available for hooking into wheel rims and free wheeling hubs...pretty versatile jack
Having said i have both I have stopped carrying the exhaust jack in recent years and rely on the hi lift and a good quality 10t hydraulic
cheers bungarra
Follow Up By: Member - Bevan (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 19:49
Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 19:49
that look good the jack holes, what size steal did you use for it ? my mate just got a mig that needs to be tested out, so i could make something similar for my Nissan
Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 21:58
Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 21:58
nothing special. I used an offcut of 100 mm x 50 mm x 4 mm RHS. 3.2 or even 2.5 would have been Ok in the front bull bar as it was inserted into the bull frame and therefore its strength is in the insert and the welds surrounding it....
at the rear the RHS is suspended down from the tray frame and therefore it and the bracing needs to be more substantive as it is a "stand alone" bracket. The whole point of the insert / bracket is that the jack cannot shift sideways, and is
well supported all round. Also it needs to be positioned on the vehicle so that the hi lift is operating vertical at all times and not positioned on any sort of lean or angle
Reply By: Rossco td105 - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 21:37
Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 21:37
G'day Bevan,
I haven't used an exhaust jack so can't give any advice there.
The high lift is a very versatile item as said above. Use it safely and it can achieve many tasks. It can also severely slap stupidity.
I have straightened bar work, lifted the vehicle high enough to put on chassis stands and winched with it (slow and painful but good in an emergency).
Is easy to store on the back of one of the spare
wheels (I always travel with a can of WD40 so easy to blast out the mechanism for smooth operation, don't have a cover for it).
Ross.
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 22:25
Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 22:25
I've thought about getting an exhaust jack, I can see where they would be useful, and have added up the pro's and con's with them and I happy to have a High lift jack,I believe it will serve me better.
I've never had to use my High Lift in anger yet, 'touch wood'.
I guess having said that , next time I get stuck, is the time I am going to need one.
I think it's got something to do with Murphy's Law.
Which ever you choose, the trick is to use it to the best of your ability in the circumstance that you find yourself in.
This where I mounted my
High Lift Jack
I have checked and double checked with the RTA that it is legal. It is behind the Bullbar Although they will not give written approval for it.
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 22:31
Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 22:31
nice jack...................
good to see ya got that link thingy worked out!!
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 14:32
Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 14:32
Hey Mark,
It's not so much posting a link, it's putting a picture in the reply or the post.
I'll get it worked out one day ;-)
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 14:34
Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 14:34
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 14:41
Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 14:41
Bugger me, I worked it out,
When I went to insert a Picture, the window that opens wasn't opened up bigger enough for me to see the upload and file name buttons. Hmm
It's like riding a bike.
Roflmao
Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 17:39
Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 17:39
“Although they will not give written approval for it.”
Authorities indeed desired to be hated. Once it came to money collection they more then happy to ”serve” you, but they never like to be responsible for anything.
Though nice job, I declined mounting my highlift on bulbar. I reckon it a bit dangerous and create unnecessarily anti4WD brigade arguments. I have more conventional mounting on the back of spare wheel, but do not like it really – too much weight overhang. Also I can tide it to roof rack but also dislike this place for weight distribution consideration. So I keep it inside as long as space permits.
Serg
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 19:06
Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 19:06
Hi Serg,
Unfortunately My garage doors aren't high enough(didn't have a 4by when I built it, their only 2100mm high) to put a roof rack on top, otherwise I would put it up there. Also I haven't got the cash to by a spare wheel carrier yet, It is on my wish list :-) Might end making one.
Living in a rural area with a lot of pig hunters and such it really doesn't look out of place, I agree if I was to go to the bigger towns on the coast I would squeeze it inside somewhere to stop anti4WD brigade blowing their trumperts
Darn tree hugging, happy clappers.
Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 22:32
Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 22:32
Bevan
Not quite sure what your question is, because there's not too much detail.
Exhaust jacks are totally bloody useless in my experience.
A Hi lift jack is good to have, provided the car is set up with anchor points. Meaning that you’ll need a suitable bull bar at the front and, aftermarket rear step to attach
the neck to.
Hi lift jacks are very unstable in a lot of situations, so you need to be careful.
If your question relates to jacking up the car to remove the tyre, then I’d recommend a good quality hydraulic jack, which will cost you around $100-150 depending on the weight of the car.
In my case, I carry two hydraulic jacks and three 75mm wood blocks.
If you’re worried about getting bogged, then I’d recommend MAXTRAX. Not cheap, but they work very
well.
Kim
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 23:43
Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 23:43
I see alot of people advocating the need or acking points on the bullbar/rear bar for hi lift.
My experience with bar mounted points on live axle coil sprung vehicles is that the hight of barwork mounted jacking points combied with the
suspension travel means you will be working at the very top of the jack - if its long enough even.
Hublifters are a far better proposition for use with a high lift
Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 10:57
Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 10:57
Bevan
I carry a Hilift Jack mainly for use with the trailer (i.e. joickey wheel problems)
I carry a 1.8T Trolley Jack for changing
wheels. I also carry the normal Nissan wind-up Jack
I have an Exhaust Jack as
well but haven't used it in anger yet and seldom carry it with me.
Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 12:59
Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 12:59
I have OE bottle jack but have been caught out with it because when the tyre is deflated and the track surface is anything but perfectly flat the bottle jack will not fit between the road and the banjo housing.
I also have a hi-lift sling accessory for my Hi-lift that hooks on to the alloy spokes or the slots of a steel wheel. It is very safe and simple to use. Jack the wheel until the flat tyre clears the ground wind out the bottle jack to the appropriate height and place it under the banjo. let the hilift down on it change the wheel then wind the bottle down. Covers all bases.
Pinko
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 15:00
Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 15:00
why would you place the jack under the banjo? Suggest you get the owners manual out or look on the instrucionson the sticker of the jack - when you follow them I tink you will find all is
well
Follow Up By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 15:24
Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 15:24
No silly, I would not place the jack directly under the diff housing it would be placed between the U bolts wouldn't it ? (I do have leaf springs)
Next time you get the chance have a look under a GXL seventy series and you find on the rear
suspension Toyota have fitted a gusset on both sides of the diff housing through to the backing plates it is about 50mm deep and my jack barely fits under it with a flat tyre.
These gussets also made life difficult to fit firestone air bags. A special kit is required with longer offset 'U' bolts to accommodate the increased diameter
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 15:36
Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 15:36
Hmm I do not have a GXL 70 series to look at.
previosmodels were jacked up by placing the jack under the axle just on the inner part of the axle where the spring pack is or if at the fron on the special tab desighned to takethe jack.
I have seen far too many people strggle with trying to jackup a 70 series ute bcause they didn know how. At work we actually have trolley jacks in the utes because no one knew how to use the bottle jacks.
seriosly though get your manual out and see what it says
Reply By: Member - Bevan (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 20:05
Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 20:05
i think i might invest it both, i was asking more for recovery purposes, in the snowy i was bogged for 6hrs and everything i put under my bottle jack sunk and finely someone came past and pulled me out. i was thinking that the exhaust jack would have been perfect for that, i have seen people use high lift jacks and almost lose there heads, have had no experience with either. normally travel in a group or 2-4 vehicles. that was until i moved up to Mackay and have no one to go out with. thanks for all your help guys. will just practice with both on the front lawn before trying under pressure.
Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 17:01
Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 17:01
I do not have much experience with exhaust jack, but idea in whole does not switch me on even a bit. Think how you position one under vehicle when it already sunk to belly in mud or snow. And what you going to do with HUGE wet dirty bag once you finish. Also hot (i.e. exhaust pipe) and sharp (name it) stuff under car a big consideration. In my opinion too much trouble. High-Lift is magnificent device as long as you have proper jacking points. I had bogged myself and car was totally laid on belly. Putting bottle one under car would require way too much excavation and would be too bl00dy dangerous. With HighLift it took about 15 min. Plus in emergency you can use one as a winch – not as good as proper dedicated winch, but far better then nothing. All comments about “they are dangerous” are rubbish – ANY recovery involves some dangerous activity thus common sense and caution ALWAYS must be exercised. Under jack plate is very useful (sometimes indispensable) and bottle jack a must. In questionable
places I curry two – stock mechanical one (never fails) and hydraulic one – works much faster.
But does not matter what you decide, do not forget most important recovery equipment – good sturdy shovel.
Serg
Reply By: Steve63 - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 13:24
Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 13:24
They are different pieces of kit. I have used both and for changing a tyre I would use the factory jack. The exhaust jack can be a problem as you usually need some sort of protection on the ground and on the car end. I have been told they should not be used on turbo vehicles. Do not know if this is true through. There is meant to be a new exhaust jack coming out that has the end protection built in and can be operated by either exhaust or compressor. The biggest problem I had was that when loaded it would not lift the vehicle. When the vehicle was empty it was a breeze to use.
Hilift jack has many uses. I have used
mine as a bead breaker, jack and winch. This is potentialy a dangerous bit of kit and needs to be used with caution. It also usually needs a bit of WD40 to get it working correctly.
Reply By: Nic I (NSW) - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 16:16
Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 16:16
After reading this thread - anyone wanna buy a perfectly good, unused exhaust jack ?
Cheap. Real cheap.
Reply By: Member - Peter G (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 12:43
Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 12:43
Bevan
I have owned and used my air jack a number of times they are great when stuck in soft sand or mud. Since buying my camper trailer I have invested in a high lift jack and as stated earlier they are great when you have a problem with the jockey wheel, leveling the trailer or changing a wheel.If you do buy one don't go for the half size one get the 5ft.one.