Member - Jeff H (QLD)
Original diesel use: 10.6L/100km
Over the last 7266km, with gas fitted;
diesel use: 8.82L/100km,
gas use: 1.58L/100km.
Based on fuel prices in (mainly) Qld, this = 9% cost saving. (gas is roughly half the price of diesel). So 50,000km to break even.
Range for 150L diesel increases from1400 to 1700km, using approximately exactly (eh?)the full 27L of the gas cylinder.
Unexpectedly, the ute,(a 2001 3L Rodeo, 155,000km) is far more driver friendly.Hills and overtaking are a relative breeze. (See Mainey's [I think] comments).
The system is Diesel Gas Technologies (google SEQUENT DIESEL GAS).
Bundaberg, ph 41543994.
Note that a 2.625"
Beaudesert exhaust and "Morepower" chip have been fitted.
Would I do it again? You bet. But if money was tight, I'd chip it first.
Rough costs, at time of fitting:
Exhaust...$850 supply only
Gas.........$4600, less GST less$2000 rebate
Chip........$1300, (less $300 'cause I'm incredibly good-looking).
Obviously I can't comment on other systems, but if their level of performance and service approach that of DGT, then their customers will be very, very happy.
Enough!!
Jeff H.
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 16:52
Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 16:52
Error! Not Mainey - Royce. (I think/hope).
Arrhhgh: stuff the old-timers.
All my love,
Louise.
Reply By: Gazal Champion - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 17:13
Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 17:13
Hi Jeff,
Despite the power benefits, which from every thing I see in these pages is substantial, the cost savings alone seem to be worth the effort.
Gazal
| At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 22:02
Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 22:02
Gazal,
I stuffedup mate.
See below.
Sorry to mislead.
Jeff H.
Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 17:23
Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 17:23
That 50,000km seems low....i somehow work it out to be 3-4 times that number with a quick sanity check. (50,000km == 5000L == $8000 (160cpl).....9% of $8000 = $720)
Maybe i'm missing the concept of how this works and saves that much fuel/money. (i'm not having a go at you, just trying to get my head around it....i'm interested though)
BTW, Does the "Morepower" chip increase fuel consumption any?
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 22:12
Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 22:12
Andrew,
I reckon you're pretty close to the mark. I probly zigged when I should have zagged.
120000km would cover the gas install I reckon.(Unless I've stuffed the arithmetic again).
Can't answer the chip question, as that was fitted subsequent to the gas. Will keep it in mind when next I see the mechanic.
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 07:14
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 07:14
Thanks, not that 120,000km is that much either to break even, if you want to justify the financial sides of thing. The other benefits seem to be worth it.
Another quick question, was the exhaust mod a requirement of the DG install, or just an extra that was bought at the same time with the chip?
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 08:30
Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 08:30
Andrew it was recommended rather than mandatory, so in for a penny, in for a pound.
Besides, it was spend the savings on something usefull, or blow it all on the Princesse's wedding.......... . What priority?
Jeff.
ps. It looked like I'd have to re-route the exhaust to accommodate the cylinder, so that was done first, as far as the tailpipe, which was fitted post gas. Then the
young feller suggested the chip, so it was sort of a crazy, unplanned sequence.End result is very satisfying. JH.
Reply By: greybeard - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 18:11
Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 18:11
my maths doesn't add up either.
from your figures ~ 15% less diesel used.
i used avergae metro WA figures for fuel
diesel @$1.78/l and lpg @ $0.65/l
so diesel 8.82 * $1.78 + 1.58 * $0.65 = $16.73/100k
diesel 10.6 * $1.78 = $18.87/100k
saving $2.14/100k
costs $850 + ( $4600-$2000 ) + ( $1300 -$300 ) = $4450
($4450/$2.14) * 100k = ~ 207,944km to break even
even recovering just the gas conversion is ~121,000km
not sure what i've missed :(
Follow Up By: mowing - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 18:51
Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 18:51
Greybeard, You haven't missed anything, the 50,000km to breakeven is wrong. Your figures are correct.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 22:16
Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 22:16
Agree with you greybeard. My error.
Man, I could use mowing as a mate - he doesn't waste words.And, as we all know, we're all born with a set allocation of words, and when we use'em up, we die.
Jeff H.
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 18:50
Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 18:50
Yes, when I last did the number on this, it stacks up finacnially if you convince yourself you no longer need that long range
tank.
Or, due to claimed power improvement, you no longer need the power chip and / or larger exhaust.
But sometimes, it comes down to 'I just want one'. To get power improvement, increased range reduced ongoing fuel expense and having something on the 4B that most others don't are all worth something; though different amounts to different people.
Jeff's outlay for this change is chicken chit in the big scale given what most of us spend upgrading our 4Bs. If we only made decisions on the basis of a financial 'business case', most of us wouldn't own a 4B, let alone spend a fortune on mods.
But of course, one of the selling points of diesel / gas is $ savings, so it is worth getting a handle on what they are (or are not) before leaping in.
Norm C
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 20:35
Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 20:35
"If we only made decisions on the basis of a financial 'business case', most of us wouldn't own a 4B, let alone spend a fortune on mods."
Well said and very true!
I pick up our next 4by tomorrow and put the
heritage listed paj out to pasture.
A sensible decision would have seen me driving a crummydore or similar.
Pete
Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 23:03
Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 23:03
Sorry off topic guys, but what did you end up buying Pete?
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 16:15
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 16:15
2001 Jackaroo TD.
Just drove it away from the yard.
Pete
Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 18:51
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 18:51
Hope it serves you
well Pete. Since I have fixed the intake gasket problem on
mine I cannot believe how much grunt it has.
Reply By: mowing - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 18:53
Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 18:53
Hi Jeff, You mention less GST for the gas fit but you can only claim back GST if you are registered for GST. That being the case you can't claim the rebate as it is only for private vehicles.
Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 22:09
Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 22:09
It's about the ownership of the vehicle. If it is privately registered (and thus qualifying) he can still have an ABN and be registered for GST and claim back the GST.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 22:32
Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 22:32
Mowing,
The tax office was consulted prior to claiming GST exemption for both the gas and chip install. If you'd like more detail, please MM me.
Jeff H.
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 19:48
Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 19:48
Jeff,
did you have it dyno'd as standard, then with the chip and then chip and gas. I'd be more interested in the power gains and attendant economy than overall savings. I mean if you drive a 4x4, you do it for a purpose whether it's pushing the beast across the roughest terrain available to explore the outback or dragging the 17'6" mobile Taj to
Broome each year. If it means an effortless cruise at 90 kph and minimal effort to climb hills towing the trailer rather than the pedal flat to the floor at 80 kph and the EGT saying 560C on the climb, it's got to be worth it. What do you reckon in those situations. Has it been a great improvement.
Mick
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 23:16
Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 23:16
Mick,
No I didn't have it dynoed step by step, and I admit to being a bit disappointed with economy gains, as extended range in isolated areas can be pretty damn handy.
The ute certainly pulls much better, and feels totally different to drive. Sorry to be subjective, 'cause that's worth diddly squat unless you know the base from which one is speaking.
Mick we have no tow ball fitted, nor are we rough'ntough. The old trayback looks stock standard: no big spotties (In my dotage,I detest night driving) or big fatties. And as for a lift! Sheesh, I'm flatout dragging the bones into the Ole Girl as it is.
No, the thirst for torque came last time over Big Red, 2 years ago.
W to E crossing, with easterly winds.We just (JUST) crawled over the lip at the top. Next mob sent up a Hilux. He fell a bit short. Next came his smart-arse team leader in a Cruiser. Simply not a problem: very impressive. Except he didn't help his [less experienced] mate out, did he?
HELLO TASMANIAN BUSHTRACKERS! ARE YOUR EARS BURNING??
Mate, I've lusted after a tad more grunt since that day. Money is tight, and to chuck $4000 at an upgrade weighs heavy, and is most certainly not done for the sake of bravado.
I reckon I'm done eh.
Any further errors or omissions, feel free to front'n centre.
Safe travels you mob.
Jeff H.
ps. sorry Mick. Re sealed road driving; can now overtake without engaging 'over the horizion' radar. Life is indeed good. jh.
Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 10:49
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 10:49
Those figures show the savings are minimal and you have to fill 2 tanks for your trouble. I presume fill the diesel, start her up and drive her over to the gas tank and do it again.? If she drives much much better and you like that it's been worth it , but not really from fuel savings , at 9% it's gunna take you years to get your $4,000 dollars back..With the chip and exhaust and diesel gas do you have figures before and after..?
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 08:58
Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 08:58
I agree TerraFirma. 9% equates to around 15c discount @ $1.70/L
(PLEASE god, let my arithmathingy be right this time), which is probably insignificant: yet I'll be amongst the loudest to bleat when the price jumps up to $1.85 again.Human nature, I guess.
And yes, I'm disappointed that cost saving isn't greater.
But, a range extension of 20% is a very handy gain.
And as others have said, the unit is far more pleasant to drive - something that is difficult to appreciate until you've tried it.
Filling up CAN be amusing or embarrassing. Some staff become quite alarmed when they detect a possible 'drive-off', and if anyone can offer a viable solution, please, I'm listening.
Sorry, the only figures are those at the head of the thread.
Jeff.
Reply By: Member - Philip Donald M (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 30, 2008 at 14:35
Saturday, Aug 30, 2008 at 14:35
Hi Jeff thanks for your help I booked my beast into mr spanners
in
brisbane to have the same system fitted.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 30, 2008 at 16:40
Saturday, Aug 30, 2008 at 16:40
I look forward to your experience. Let's know, please, either
Forum or mm.
Jeff H.