wireless internet theift
Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 08:09
Member - Peter D M
Over the last month i have been using my monthly allowance rather quickly and ran out a week short. i started a new month yesterday and have used 12% of my allowance in 8 hours. I can only presume one of my neighbours has tapped in. I did lock it when i put the router in 2 years ago and haven't had any problems. How secure is a wireless connection?
regards peter
Reply By: Mainey (wa) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 08:18
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 08:18
Who do you use as the ISP ???
Mainey . . . (wireless internet user too)
Follow Up By: Member - Peter D M - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 08:21
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 08:21
mainey, i use optus
peter
Follow Up By: Mainey (wa) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 08:42
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 08:42
Peter,
I imagine you have contacted Optus ?
I use Westnet and can contact them 24/7 and get any information on anything relevant to the workings of the Wireless Router, including the speed and connectivity.
They can check the security of the connection, so I can only assume Optus will be able to do all that for you also.
Ask them to check the times you have been connected, check these times with your actual internet sessions that you are aware of.
Is there anyone else (at home) using your computer while your 'at work etc' with-out your knowledge.
Mainey . . .
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 10:32
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 10:32
Mainey
Westnet don't have Wireless , , they have ADSL, Dial up, and Sat'
Follow Up By: Mainey (wa) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 10:59
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 10:59
Umm,
Maybe you should tell Westnet that, because my" iconnect 625W" modem is supplied by them and this is a pic of it working as I type this post
I assure you there are NO WIRES between the Notebook and the Modem, the 'aerial' sends the signal to the computer.
I believe that is called wireless connectivity?
Mainey . . .
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 11:07
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 11:07
I think Doug means they don't have wireless broadband as in utilizing the mobile phone network.
That is a wireless home router for your home network and connects to your ADSL / Phone line.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 11:08
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 11:08
Mainey
That's not wireless internet, it's as you said "wireless connectivity" just between the Modem and the pc ,
You wouldn't pull up in a
rest area and connect to the internet with that,
Follow Up By: Mainey (wa) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 11:22
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 11:22
My gf does use my internet connection to download her emails on her laptop from outside when we are having a bbq etc, so I have to disagree with your thoughts as this is exactly how some people 'borrow' other peoples internet connection as is outlined in the original post.
I now have added a password to the "wireless network connection"
Mainey . . .
Follow Up By: Mainey (wa) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 11:34
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 11:34
This post is about the security of local wireless connections, not wireless broadband way out in the bush or at "rest areas" out in the boonies.
The original question was:-> "I can only presume one of my NEIGHBOURS has tapped in.
I did lock it when I put the ROUTER in 2 years ago and haven't had any problems.
How secure is a wireless connection"
Just attempting to maintain the thread integrity, said nicely :-))
Mainey . . .
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 13:16
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 13:16
Mainey
Very sorry .... but you did state you had wireless internet from Westnet , And I knew very
well that they didn't, now if you don't like being corrected then too bad.
Follow Up By: Mainey (wa) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 19:06
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 19:06
Doug,
I don't mind being corrected - when I'm wrong - but the facts are:
I've NOT typed the words "wireless internet from Westnet" as your inferring !!
Yes, I have a wire-less internet connection from my modem, exactly as the picture shows!!
I've Westnet as my ISP and the Modem is connected to the computer with-out wires, the Modem aerial sends the signal to the computer - with no wires between modem and computer.
Mainey . . .
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 19:15
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 19:15
Mainey
Yeh ok I get what you mean but you made 2 statements and I just seen Westnet and wireless in your post,and I do understand your modem is working wireless as can a printer , or speakers etc, anyhow I can say your with the best ISP in the country , I had ADSL in Mt Isa &
Perth with Westnet and service is 2nd to none, I just wished the had wireless Broadband like Bigpond, Oh and how in hell have you managed to draw such interest in this post, seems like it will never end.... good luck.
Doug
Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 08:40
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 08:40
PETER
is you wireless encrypted? if so maybe time to change the code if you suspect someone is thieving it,cheers.
Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 08:57
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 08:57
I assume you are talking about a wireless network in your house and using ADSL rather than picking up the internet via wireless.
In the software with your router you can setup the IP adresses that are allowed to access the router.
Sounds like you should review your router setup to make it more secure.
Reply By: Ozboc - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:02
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:02
HI there , as peter above me stated .. is your connection encrypted?
I have netgear router and the software has a built in feature that allows you to easily set up the encryption - it also MAKES you change your code every 30 days( on all computers)
Via my laptop - you can see the connections in the area that have wireless going ..... they usually show if that connection is secure or unsecure .. i am guessing yours is showing unsecured , hence the easy access to your computer
best bet would be to get the install disk that came with your router - and read it from beginning to end -- it will have in it, how to make your connection secure.... this is how i worked it out ...
Boc
Reply By: Garbutt - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:07
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:07
We have had cases locally where people drive the streets searching for a wireless connection, and will
park outside someones house using their ISP, if not password protected. Several backpackers have been sprung in this area lately doing just that.
Follow Up By: Mainey (wa) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:16
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:16
Yes, but we have to get the connectivity we need when traveling, just to stay in touch with the
forum and even collecting emails :-))
If a person is on a low use plan it will drain him quickly, however, those that are on a high use plan will use unlimited usage plans and don't have the hassle and generally don't even have any security either.
Gamers are the best targets!
Mainey . . .
Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:25
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:25
Is using someones internet that is not secured an illegal activity?
I only ask out of curiosity. I know my Wifi PDA alerts me to wireless internet connections and its surprising how many unsecured locations are around.
One that it doesn't register funnily enough is my own. LOL
The local library is a freeaccess point if you hold a library card and you have it set up before you go away on a trip, many libraries can be connected to.
Follow Up By: Garbutt - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:29
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:29
Yes Desmond
There was a German backpacker charged recently with doing that in
Renmark. Somebody rang in about a suspicious person parked outside their house. he was charged with some sort of electronic theft, I forget what exactly, it's not my area of expertise.
Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 10:14
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 10:14
I have been known to jump onto an unsecured server just to check emails and very light internet use. Although it has been unknowing to me until last week when an internet nerd mate of
mine told me.
I just suspected there were someplaces that offered free internet when u bought a coffee.
Follow Up By: Garbutt - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 10:54
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 10:54
There are
places that offer that service such as Cafes and airports, the offence would be committed when you obtain a benefit by deception, ie the person paying for the ISP doesn't approve of your use.
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:12
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:12
And I blame the likes of Hardly Normal.
They sell wireless routers to clueless customers (i mean that in a nice way) and all it takes is less than 5 minutes to show them how to secure it.
Hardly Normal don't care they've got their money.
Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 10:59
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 10:59
When it comes to computers and connectivity a great number of people are clueless, possibly myself included.
This business of jumping into someone elses wireless network is a sort of computer game to some. They drive the streets looking for open unsecured networks and jump right in. They are called road warriers.
Gazal
| At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: Member - Toolman (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:23
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:23
Peter,
Unless you are downloading copious amounts of data (movies etc) or doing a lot of Google map stuff.(especially looking at satellite images a great deal) then someone may be tapping in to your wireless connection. I can only assume then, that although you may think you set your modem up correctly ie securely, in fact you have not.
Make sure your modem is set up to WPA-PSK standard or higher. If you are not confident then seek help from people in the know.
Your ISP (internet Service Provider) may help you set it up although with my ISP, I was on my own as they did not take responsibility for wireless security of my wireless modem at that time as the security set up is at the user end and is set up by the user on their PC and therefore out of ISP's control. I was told this before I went ahead with my contract with them.
Toolman
Reply By: moorez - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:26
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:26
Your wireless network is NOT secure unless you use the latest encryption and wpa2 security.
Reply By: Aussie.Nomad - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:28
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:28
We had a similar episode after we got a new wireless router to run our laptops from at
home.
The old one didn't have a very strong signal and we never had an issue, but the new one wanted to hook up with the rest of the world. I'm guessing that the neighbours didn't even realise it happened, our modem just went looking for all punters within range.
We've fixed it by putting password access on our modem. Don't ask me how, my son did it and told me about it after the event, but I believe it was a simple excersise executed from one of our own machines. Your ip, or it adviser - or grandchild - should be able to give you the good oil.
Reply By: chisel - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:46
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:46
Any chance you've recently installed some p2p software such as bittorrent which is (in the background) sharing some data?
Reply By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 10:14
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 10:14
do you use limewire
if not shut down correctly, you may be still be uploading unknowingly.
I believe the password system in wireless routers etc etc is very good....try changing your password
Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 16:30
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 16:30
it would only download the files he set,if i'm correct, uploads are not counted toward your limit
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 17:06
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 17:06
doesnt cable and ADSL count both ways?
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 18:53
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 18:53
Some ISP's don't.
Exetel don't for example. Any files I want to upload to my Webspace aren't counted either.
$45 a month for 8GB Counted between 12 noon till 12 midnight.
48GB 12 midnight till 12 noon. 1500/256 plan.
Gotta be happy with that.
Reply By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 12:07
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 12:07
Peter,
No wireless network secure enough. Any encryption just postponing break-in. Best method is setup your router in such way that it can talk only to certain computers base on unique NIC number. Most modern routers have such facility. If your router has not then ditch it and get those one that has. Setup routine differs from brand to brand and it is difficult to give universal advice. Ask your (grand)kids or someone with computer background to help.
I am IT supporter and my router and laptop wireless enabled. But I use, prefer and recommend old trusted cable.
Serg
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 12:57
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 12:57
Gday Peter
I have a brother who is a good christian, he wanders around in his car and steals other peoples internet time.He told me once that people don't mind. I told him that it was theft. He stawed at our house for three months, and the computer bill hit heights that have never been seen by Kath and I, even with the kids at
home.
Any way , lock it up.
Murray
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 12:59
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 12:59
He didnt staw at our house, he stayed....get it rite muz
Reply By: Steve63 - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 14:17
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 14:17
It could be an accidental thing also. The brother in law was at my mum's place, connected to the phone line (he had dial up at the time) as he had done many times before. Was downloading some updates and was surprised by the speed. The laptop had detected next doors new unsecured wireless network and used it. The wireless network card was active on the pc by default and the pc picks the fastest connection.
If you are using wireless you need a strong password on the router, a white list (access control list of accepted IP's) and WPA with a strong key. Even then with persistance an intruder will likely gain access eventually.
You should
check for malware on the PC. If your PC is on all the time someone may be routing data through the PC to avoid detection. Also SocNet and other sites have been used to recruit PC's as part of a netbot group. Security of an actual SocNet site is usually ok but there is not much protection for a user of the site.
Think of the internet as a battle zone and you will not go to far wrong. The
tools and information are out there for anyone to use. You no longer need to be an experienced hacker. Some
tools are deliberately distibuted to disrupt targeted internet sites. Think I'm wrong, google defcon or black hat.
Reply By: Tony MD - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 16:00
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 16:00
With the wireless router setup you should do the following.
Not broadcast the SSID. Change the SSID from default setup.
Change the default IP address and log in password.
If using the routers DHCP server facility, limit the amount of available addresses to the number that you require.
Use MAC filtering to only enable your equipment to access the network.
If possible, reserve the specific IP addresses issued by the router to your specific equipment by use of their MAC addresses.
You can set it up without the DHCP server but I found this way more simple & quicker to set up a network.
With all this, encryption is not really necessary unless you are concerned about someone "sniffing" the packet data being sent out.
Encryption will slow down the data rate as some of the bits in the data packet are used for encryption hand shaking rather than general data.
Cheers, Tony.
Follow Up By: Chaz - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 19:03
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 19:03
I agree that this is the best solution. Turn on your SSID and tell your router to find all available networks PC’s and their MAC address. Then only allow the MAC addresses of those you wish to connect to. Then turn off your SSID and you won’t be seen by the outside world.
Too easy!
This is what I have done and never had any problems.
Reply By: Holden4th - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 18:05
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 18:05
Nobody here has looked at another obvious solution - your PC has been hijacked by some sort of bot or trojan which is happily using up your download/upload for nefarious purposes. Before you try to work out who is 'stealing' from you via wireless networking, run some
test to make sure you don't have some malware that is using your PC as one of its conduits to spread it's own spam/viruses/trojans/etc to the world.
Has your PC slowed up lately?
Does your DSL light flash continuously when you are reading (not downloading) a web page?
Has your PC changed it's behaviour when you are on the 'net'?
It's worth investigating.
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 19:14
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 19:14
Very good point Holden4th.
Didn't cross my mind, It should of.
Wouldn't hurt to run some Spyware finders, eg: Spybot Search&Destroy.
Follow Up By: Holden4th - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 20:31
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 20:31
Can I suggest that you download and try this program
MalwareBytes Anti Malware
http://www.malwarebytes.org/
Then try Spybot after that. I'd also try and run either/both programs in safe mode with System Restore turned off to make sure you get at any hidden nasties.
Both programs are free.
Follow Up By: Mainey (wa) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 15:31
Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 15:31
Can you successfully use two different 'anti virus' systems together?
I use McAfee and when I installed AVG and they conflicted in some areas.
Mainey . . .
Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 15:42
Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 15:42
No Mainey,
Only use one.
My choice would be AVG out of those two.
Reply By: Member - Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 19:37
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 19:37
In Singapore they flogged a kid for using his neighbour's wireless internet connection.
I take the view that if a wireless network is not secure then it isn't theft. Its like reading by the light thrown through an uncurtained window. Is that theft of electricity?
When we had an apartment I didn't
check to see which network I logged onto with the laptop - assuming it was my own secure connection. Only to find on many occasions that I was inadvertently using someone else's insecure network. Tough titties.
So the bottom line is if they flog someone in Singapore it must be OK to do it here.
Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 20:29
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 20:29
Hi Bob,
Hope you live by that ethos. So if your cars unlocked someone knocks it off then it's ok. You leave your phone or sun glasses at a cafe,
well it's ok for someone to say, "not secure then it isn't theft"
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 23:31
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 23:31
ditto aus, bob thats self justification if I ever heard it. Mind you if you say it enough times while covering your eyes and ears, it is possible for someone who is ethically challenged to believe it to be true and a worthy justification
Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 22:39
Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 22:39
Until you sort the problem - switch off your modem whilst you are not accessing the internet.
Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 13:54
Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 13:54
Do you use Skype?
The Skype peer to peer network can use your computer as a node to transfer calls between users you may not know. It is banned from our corporate network for that reason.
This link is worth a read:
Site Link
Pete
Reply By: Flywest - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 00:35
Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 00:35
Firewall
I was once caught out and it was someone in England using my PC and account to UPLOAd abut 20 gigs a month!
Once I installed a firewall, I tracked his ISP and complained - they warned the kid and he attempted to do it again and they disconnected him from the net.
A few days later the same attempts were made to access my ports and the forewall stopped it - I tracked the ISp - this time to a university in England in the same town as this Kid.
I emailed the dean of the university with all the fcatual dats - the kids
home ISP no and the ISP no from the unversity being used.
Dean had someone investigate at their end and expelled the computer sciences student.
Problem solvered......
Until recently..
Had Telstra send out a contractor to install a wireless Aerial on the roof to tap into the mobile network for internet becauseit was 2 times as fast as our old sat network.
By 2nd months bill we had 15 - 20 gigs of useage (historically mine was only ever about 1.2 gigs a month for many years).
I have no idea how they did it - we have firewall on all our computers - my kids had their own accounts, but the new co account was HUGE (quite a few $1000s) as we only had a 3 Gig plan / account and the extra 12 gigs for two months added up very quickly.
Somehow someone was using our wireless network - don't ask me who or how.
Cable is probably more secure IMHO