Firewood Carrier

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 18:59
ThreadID: 61165 Views:6914 Replies:9 FollowUps:4
Have a bloke in the Caravan Pk at Adelaide River, from Brisbane and he has this idea for carrying firewood to a cap sight when in the bush,

Willem would like to have one I bet.

Reply By: Member - GREENDOG - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 19:17

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 19:17
Thats different Dougie.cheer's GREENDOG
AnswerID: 322690

Reply By: Member - Jack - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 19:44

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 19:44
I use a simpler method of just using tie downs looped over the bullbar and that carries the wood. Not good for short bits, however.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 322700

Reply By: TD100 - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 19:51

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 19:51
Doug,

ingenious i say but i will stick to my 6x4 tarp occy strapped to the bullbar for weight savings. cheers Paul
AnswerID: 322701

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 19:54

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 19:54
Your tarp and okky straps would be about the same weight as those 2 pieces of Alloy

FollowupID: 589734

Follow Up By: TD100 - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 20:57

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 20:57
hahaha i didnt look closely enough at it to pick that its ally, yep would weigh about the same LOL Paul
FollowupID: 589758

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 20:29

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 20:29
Very interesting Doug. Reckon I could do with that from time to time. Looks like a pretty smart rig all round. cheers
AnswerID: 322708

Reply By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 20:36

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 20:36
It's a pedestrian killer.

Scruby would have a field day with it.

It should immediately be banned.

AnswerID: 322711

Follow Up By: Tippa - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 21:37

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 21:37
Ha ha, first thing i thought of... with people saying bullbars and even 4WDs should be banned from cities, imagine what they'd say about this bit of gear! Would take their attention off rod holders i guess...
Still, it looks strong and practical (although it wouldnt carry the short timber and unless it was strapped down it would bounce/slide/fall out), but all you would have to do is lift them out and throw 'em in the back driving to and from your campsite and its all good.
FollowupID: 589784

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 22:58

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 22:58
Thanks for that Doug. It makes me almost ashamed that I signed your name to a lecherous post to Mick O. Expect a call from him soon.
Ahh well, what's done is done.

Alloy welding, locking bolt = all good. Of course, if one can only afford a mongrel ute, one simply chucks the wood on the back: and fights off the assorted wildlife later. hahahaha.

No mate, I can adapt that man's brains for a quick canopy. I've been pondering the problem for some time. Tellim thanks from me eh.
gramps.
AnswerID: 322743

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 08:44

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 08:44
A fine piece of lateral thinking. It'd be great for those big sleepers along the Oodnadatta track!! Now for the winch to lift them in.....uuum!!
AnswerID: 322773

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 19:47

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 19:47
Yerrr Doug

It is a good idea but I have rarely stopped at a place with no firewood...and when that has happened I cook with gas and go to bed early..........

Hmm doesn't look like they have been used yet...LOL
AnswerID: 323172

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 21:54

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 21:54
Willem
Yes...it's been used ,

FollowupID: 590261

Reply By: julia - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 20:32

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 20:32
Exelent. very simple and extremly pratical. Well done.
AnswerID: 323843