extractors V6 4Runner

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 22, 2003 at 19:31
ThreadID: 6117 Views:3985 Replies:4 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
Are there any owners, or people with knowledge of, V6 4runners fitted with extractors. I have a 1994 model and I am looking a fitting a set to my unit with a 2 1/2 system. So far from speaking with the exhaust people around town, I have had conflicting views about the gains in performance etc.

Any advice or experince with the fitting would be most appreciated.

cheers for now

PS this is my first time in the forum and am finding some good info on a lot of topics.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2003 at 20:33

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2003 at 20:33
Gary,
In my opinion anything that allows your engine breath better is a bonus, I think you will notice a difference, it may only be slight but there will be a difference, my economy improved slightly maybe a kilometer a K. I don't have a 4runner but fitting extractors will have a similar effect on the majority of engines, again this is all my opinion from my own experience, hope it helps. Keep the shiny side up
AnswerID: 25627

Reply By: Andrew - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2003 at 21:22

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2003 at 21:22
Gary

I use to own a V6 4runner and went through the same problem.

I'm not sure now why I didn't end up fitting them but I think the reason was, at the time, they just were'nt available for that motor.

Have you been able to find any???

As stated in the other reply, I too always believed extractors to be a good thing and have fitted them to many other cars in the past. Its been about 8 years since I had the 4runner but the reason I didn't get them would have been either 1. I couldn't get them or 2. All reports were not to get them on that motor.

One thing I do remember though was someone who had put a larger exhaust on from the standard pipe which comes down from the manifolds(where the manifolds join into one pipe)