coleman hot water heaters

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 20:52
ThreadID: 61173 Views:3423 Replies:6 FollowUps:10

Kmart has coleman water heaters on special. I would be interested to hear opinions on them. Are they very hard to use with a shower? Are their any drawbacks with them?

thanks Kc

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 21:11

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 21:11
Hiya kcandco

Go for it mate,I changed the showerhead with one from bunnings!

Fantastic Unit

AnswerID: 322728

Follow Up By: kcandco - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 21:16

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 21:16
Hi Warfer

How do you set it up for showers? pump in bucket and shower nozzle connected to outlet i ask? can you turn water on and off as you shower to conserve water? can you attach seperate gas bottle? Can flow rate be adjusted?

thanks Kc
FollowupID: 589769

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 21:32

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 21:32
Gee kcandco i thought the missus asks too many questions lol...

Here we go...

*How do you set it up for showers? pump in bucket and shower nozzle connected to outlet i ask**

You get a 20 litre collapsible container,the pump screws to that after you fill er up with the precious stuff...

**can you turn water on and off as you shower to conserve water?**

Yes you can it all works off a dial.....That adjusts the hot/cold combination

**can you attach separate gas bottle?**

Yes you can connect an LPG with another connection method

**Can flow rate be adjusted?**

No

AnswerID: 322731

Follow Up By: kcandco - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 08:31

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 08:31
Hi Warfer

Thanks for the effort. Looks like it could be a goer.

Kc
FollowupID: 589830

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 16:12

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 16:12
No worries mate !

FollowupID: 589891

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 08:53

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 08:53
It is a definate leg spreader.
We bought ours just before the gathering in Innamincka and SWMBO loves it.

AnswerID: 322775

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 09:21

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 09:21
LOL.

My Old Man always reckoned Gin worked pretty well.

FollowupID: 589837

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 09:36

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 09:36
She doesn't drink very often so I have to improvise ;)

FollowupID: 589842

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 12:10

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 12:10
If sam reads this Kev, Your DEAD

Vince
FollowupID: 589855

Follow Up By: Krakka - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 12:27

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 12:27
Hey Kev, is that why Sam was wearing those pyjama pants all weekend? !!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOL
FollowupID: 589859

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 15:43

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 15:43
Vince and Krakka

Yes hahahahahaha

FollowupID: 589884

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Aug 30, 2008 at 10:21

Saturday, Aug 30, 2008 at 10:21
Not Pyjamas Krakka ! Passion Killers !!!
Mrs Roach wears them too Hahahaha

Oh no, the in trouble again Pesty Hahaha
FollowupID: 590015

Reply By: CartyDJ - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 12:22

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 12:22
kcandco,

I have had a coleman for 5 years. They are great. A few tips.

Charge it after every return trip, my battery has finally died. Also they only operate on battery power, will not operate on 240v. Run some diluted citrix acid from the supermarket once a year through the system.
The 650g gas bottles last a very very long time. The water is not hot enough to make a cuppa. If you try to recycle water through a bucket to heat it over 70 degrees the system turns off. Good for washing up water.
The pump needs to lay down it has a this side up label. Water in a bucket is better in winter that the 20lt container supplied. as you can recycle it to heat it quickly. Be careful of human hair and other items in the bucket as they will block the pump, causing it to burn out (experience).
Don't lengthen the shower or pump hoses this will also cause the pump to burn out. If it needs height place it on some milk crates. The shower head supplied is average I changed mine. The shower is similar to a $30 turbo 12v shower, only a lot quicker to set up, hot water in 5 seconds, and $269 a good price.

Enjoy you camping, Carty.
AnswerID: 322804

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 13:36

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 13:36
Practice before you head off. We waisted a fair bit of water trying ours out for the first time while camping with only limited water. We are careful of the water quality that goes in as well. stockings are very handy to put over intake.
FollowupID: 589868

Reply By: Member - Mudduck (NSW) - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 21:44

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 21:44
We've only had ours a short time but bloody brilliant.

definitely go for it.
Cheers Steve VK2UD
Dents are like scratches but with better stories

AnswerID: 322901

Reply By: Neil & Lynne - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 16:36

Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 16:36
I love mine, wouldn't bush camp without it.

I always use a 10L bucket for the supply, heaps for a shower.

There is a filter screen fitted in the pupp on pickup side, keep this clean.

Neil.
AnswerID: 323275