NATMAPS

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 22, 2003 at 23:17
ThreadID: 6119 Views:3190 Replies:6 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
A question on NATMAPS.

I like the idea of being able to plan a trip on my computer and have been looking at NATMAPS as source for MAPS.

I do not have a GPS (can't afford one yet) and I do not have OZIEXPLORER (but probably could afford if it is worth it).

My question : is it worth getting the NATMAPS (and OZIEXPLORER) to help plan trips if you do not have a GPS.

The type of trips I am referring to do not include going into remote locations (I am not experienced) but I would like to get off the road a bit.

Is it worth the investiment.

Thanks in advance,
Richard

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Robyn - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2003 at 08:03

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2003 at 08:03
Oziexplorer is magic and definitely worth the investment
Oziexplorer would be ideal for planning trips
When you can afford a basic GPS you will be well ahead already having learnt to use Oziexplorer
AnswerID: 25660

Reply By: Robyn McNamara - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2003 at 08:04

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2003 at 08:04
Oziexplorer is magic and definitely worth the investment
Oziexplorer would be ideal for planning trips
When you can afford a basic GPS you will be well ahead already having learnt to use Oziexplorer
AnswerID: 25661

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2003 at 09:06

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2003 at 09:06
Richard,

The NATMAPS on their own would certainly be a useful aid with trip planning. However, add OziExplorer, and it starts to make life easier. For example, the built in Place Name search database tool allows you to type in the name of a place, select it from the list and it automatically lists each of the maps you have installed that contain that particular location. When you open the map, it then takes you directly to the place on the map you initially searched for.