Offer for members - Garmin nuvi 310 for $228

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 01:25
ThreadID: 61242 Views:4110 Replies:10 FollowUps:17
Dick Smith and Everyday Rewards have a super deal for members at the moment. DSE is offering members a Garmin nuvi 310 for only $228. I checked and the store price is $478...crazy!

Check it out...
http://everydayrewards.dse.com.au

You will need to enter a valid Everyday Rewards member number.

If yo udont have one then mine is 9344440000000

Reply By: Steve - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 09:36

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 09:36
No idea what the unit does, need one that tells the street name, not just turn at so many metres .. does it run in a truck ?..i.e 24 volts? Can you tell me any of the above ?
AnswerID: 323079

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 09:42

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 09:42
GPS Receiver: Sirf III Chipset to compute and update your position every second.

Acquisition times:
Warm: < 1 second.
Cold: < 38 seconds.
AutoLocate®: < 45 seconds.
Update rate: 1/second, continuous.

GPS Accuracy:
Position: < 10 metres typical.
Velocity: 0.5 metres/sec steady state.

Interfaces: Supports USB, USB mass sotrage, and plug-and-play.
Moving Map Features:
Pre-loaded with detailed City Navigator Australia 2008 mapping. Additional MapSource products can be loaded to the unit, by CD/DVD transfer, or by using a pre-loaded Garmin mapping card.

Map Scale: Automatic, and manual map scales.

Routes: Automatically calculated with turn-by-turn instructions; custom road preference allows user to prioritize choice of back roads or major highways; automatic offroute recalc shows how to get back on track if you miss a turn or exit; a detour function enables routing around traffic problems or road construction.

Voice: Navigation instructions and warnings. Text-to-speech identifies turns by street name.

Waypoints: 500 with name and graphic symbol.

Trip computer: Resettable odometers, timers, average and maximum speeds.

Phone/Bluetooth Connectivity: Dial and receive calls with a compatible Bluetooth mobile phone.

Antenna: Built-in patch antenna, with mcx connector for optional external antenna.

Physical and technical:
Size (H x W x D): 7.39cm x 9.83cm x 2.21cm.
Weight: 144.6g.
Display (H x W): 5.40cm x 7.20cm, 320 x 240 pixels. Bright, sunlight-readable, anti-glare touchscreen.
Case: Not waterproof.
Temp. range: 0°C to 60°C.
Headphone jack: 3.5mm.
Battery Life: 4 -8 hours depending on uage.
Power Input: 12-24VDC
Usage: 15 watts maximum @ 13.8VDC.
FollowupID: 590134

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 10:51

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 10:51
Hey Kevin, i work for dse atm, and i can say that when they put the delivery address in it would look very sus?

Also to a different name, so you might end up with the police come a knocking.

or are you staff like me???
AnswerID: 323097

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 12:17

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 12:17
Yeh Chris,
i had a look at that site and thought the number would be associated with one customer only, if suddenly 200 units are ordered to be sent to various addresses there could be alarm bells ringing at tricky dicky's.
FollowupID: 590170

Follow Up By: Kevinjohnson - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 12:19

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 12:19
A buddy of mine went into a Woolies and picked up an Everyday Rewards card (avail at register) and bought one. Not dse jus spreading the word to my exploring pals n gals
FollowupID: 590171

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 12:26

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 12:26
Its a great offer i may take it up....for father's day.
Are they as good as the NavMan, my wife argues with hers all the time hehehheeheheheheh....I changed it to the female voice because she wouldn't listen to the male one....she reckons she hardly gets lost at all now
FollowupID: 590174

Follow Up By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 12:37

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 12:37
Hmmm,
Bit of a pity we don't have the Everyday Rewards card in Tassie. So it means we can't take part in this offer.
FollowupID: 590179

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 12:44

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 12:44
Yeh well that's what you get for living in God's other Country.
If you moved to Australia you would be fine LOL
FollowupID: 590180

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 16:59

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 16:59
have you tried to apply for it online, Nev? as far as i know they are australia wide if not let me know????
FollowupID: 590216

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 17:01

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 17:01
doesn't say you can't do it, it would be unfair to woolies staff if it wasn't down in tassie????
FollowupID: 590217

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 17:01

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 17:01
https://www.everydayrewards.com.au/CLCS-Web/faces/pages/fixed/stores.jsp

Participating Supermarkets

Australian Capital Territory
New South Wales
Northern Territory
Queensland
South Australia
Victoria
Western Australia

Participating BIG W Stores

New South Wales
Northern Territory
Queensland
South Australia
Victoria
Western Australia

Participating Fuel Outlets

New South Wales
Northern Territory
Queensland
South Australia
Tasmania
Victoria
Western Australia
FollowupID: 590218

Follow Up By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 18:43

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 18:43
looks like we do miss out. Below is from their FAQs

4. How can I find out which supermarkets and fuel outlets are participating in Everyday Rewards ?

Click here for a list of participating Woolworths and Safeway supermarkets and click here for participating CALTEX WOOLWORTHS/SAFEWAY co-branded fuel outlets. The Everyday Rewards program will not operate in Tasmania.

I'll just crawl back into my corner and sulk....lol
FollowupID: 590233

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 20:22

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 20:22
Arrrrgh but they have quote"Participating Fuel Outlets " unquote!!!!

so i'm thinking if you all write to woolies h/o they will probaly re-think there decision, unless there's no money down there for it to work, but then they have national pricing????? ummmm worth thinking about???
FollowupID: 590249

Follow Up By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 20:31

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 20:31
Good point. I will chase up Woollies tomorrow and see what the story is. They run a Frequent Shopper card down here. May be a leftover from the days that Woollies down here was was represented by someone else, I think it was Purity and Roelf Voss.
Thanks for your help.
FollowupID: 590252

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 20:37

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 20:37
No Probs mate thats why we are all here to help and be helped!!
Let me know whats going on and i'll try to dig something up from this end???
FollowupID: 590255

Follow Up By: Member - SKI er (NSW) - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 11:38

Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 11:38
Hi Member Nev (Tas)

Ordered one today on line. See my post, t was not easy. See your member mail. I have some unvalidated everydayrewards cards. Give me a bell. I will give you the cards number and you can validate it with your Tas details and put your order in with your Tas address on the order

Remember I still have the card... it is the card that gets you the 40cents a litre off. If you don't have Woolworths Caltex in Tas, I can fill up on your card, and get the 40cents a litre off of my purchase, around 80lites (ay $30) and send you cheque down to Tas with a copy of the petrol sales docket... I will also send the (your) card

SKI'er
FollowupID: 590321

Follow Up By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 18:15

Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 18:15
Thanks SKI'er,
You are a champ and yours is a kind offer. I went to one of the Caltex/Woolies garages today but the only thing they had was everydaymoney some sort of credit card thingamajig. I would be keen to buy one of these Garmin units at this cheap price as they seem to be a decent brand. I rang their Tassie office and gave up after waiting for 15 odd minutes. I will ring you tonight when I get home. Thanks again.

Rgds
Nev
FollowupID: 590377

Reply By: Shaker - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 12:25

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 12:25
I recently bought one for $287.00 less $100.00 cash back = $187.00
AnswerID: 323109

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 12:28

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 12:28
40c off the next purchase of 150 litres of fuel isn't too shabby either.

That's $60.

AnswerID: 323110

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 16:34

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 16:34
Well I did it, went to the local Woolies and got a card over the ciggy counter, been a while since i stood in that line thank god.... Anyway filled out the form, and came home and ordered one online. It going to cost about $244 delivered, not bad......Thanks for the heads up Kev.
AnswerID: 323137

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 16:37

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 16:37
Meant to say that the new plastic card is meant to replace the Woolies petrol dockets. I think you swipe it when you make your purchases and it holds the discount info to let you get your discount on fuel.
FollowupID: 590210

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 17:08

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 17:08
Perhaps Doug T can tell us if these things will run Oziexploer as well
AnswerID: 323144

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 20:40

Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 20:40
Reading the fine print, there is a maximum of 2 purchases per member number
AnswerID: 323183

Reply By: Member - SKI er (NSW) - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 11:26

Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 11:26
Thanks Kevinjohnsn for the heads up.

Tried to order one today. The evrday reward site is confusing if you haven't ordered from everyday rewards dse before and don't have a pasword.

Ended up calling a number in th tabTerms & Conditions 1300 and didn't make a selection from 1,2,3 or 4. Their system went to real person answer.

Nice person. Veronica, explained that the dse web site is not working today but she took the order manuly. You will need an activated everday reward card... tey are radily available from Woolies.

Hope this helps others

Thanks again
SKI'er
AnswerID: 323240

Reply By: Mainey (wa) - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 22:04

Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 22:04
I've just looked at a Garmin "review" and information site and put it here for your information only;

Garmin Nuvi 310 link

The bottom line they claim is: A feature packed portable GPS device that's ideal for traveling, but is let down by poor route calculations and very high price.
The price they are quoting is $1,199 ??

Mainey . . .

AnswerID: 323366

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 23:06

Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 23:06
Do any of them pick good routes?
I have tried Garmin, Mio, Generic, Tom Tom, & Destinator, to be honest none of them pick the routes that I would pick.
As far as I am concerned they are only really useful if you are lost, as they will eventually get you out of trouble, but certainly not by the best route.
FollowupID: 590459

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 06:27

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 06:27
Got mine, only took 3 days.

If you register it on the Garmin site and check you may get a free map upgrade.
I have got the upgraded software and a free map off there overnight.
Makes it an even better buy as the maps are over $100 to buy.

In playing with it I find the voice a bit irritating and the maps are not of a very high resolution in comparison to my Tom Tom on the Nokia phone.
Also the demo mode of a route is very slow whereas the Tom Tom will run a demo at 500 times speed
AnswerID: 323736