Home from Innamincka National Gathering
Submitted: Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 08:33
Member - Russnic [NZ]
Hi all. Arrived back home last night. I was the last to get there, wonder if I am the last to get home as
well.
The Troopy is not quite so new now and had 13500ks on the clock when we put it on the jack stands in the shed.
What a fantastic time I have had, met some great people and have seen and visited some great sites.
Already looking forward to getting back and seeing some more.
When I get some photos organised I will post a report of the trip.
Russ
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 10:19
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 10:19
Hi Russ. Did the locals give you heaps at the gathering? I'm sure that the favour would have been returned had the meeting been in NZ :))
You know the sort of thing I mean.
There's a girl I know called Baaarbra. Not related, are you ? LOL
PS. I'll probably be in Nuu Zealand next year for a quick 4wd tour...and I KNOW what to expect in the way of Ozzie sheep jokes from the locals. :))
Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:20
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:20
Hi Footy At the last Count Aus 80 million sheep
NZ 20 million sheep
Baaaarbra would have been one of ewes in central Qld. that I drove past. I am afraid old chap the milk cows have taken over here in Gods Own, sheep jokes are on Ozzies now.LOL
I hope you get to enjoy your tour as much as i have enjoyed the last couple of months.
Russ
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:23
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:23
Russ,
The only reason Kiwi's have moved to milk cows cause they don't have to get down to kiss em LOL
Was good to meet you at
Innamincka and hope to catch up for a bit longer in the future.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:47
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:47
Yeh. I always enjoyed working cattle on horse back, never been a great one for playing with their tits, then again I would not have been touring out there if it wasn't for Dairy Farmers buying land.
See you all next gathering, have you a date set yet?
Russ
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:52
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:52
Russ,
St George is set for Sept 2009 and at the moment we have 29 attendee's listed.
But the next gathering of a reasonable size is in November at
the Pyrenees in Vic. I am still battling the Boss at home to attend this one and may need a co pilot to do the trip with.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) The O - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 13:06
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 13:06
Good to meet you at
Innamincka, even if it was only brief.
Glad you had a good trip and how did the new (opps!! old) landcruiser go?
Are you coming to the next EO gathering.
Regards Richard
Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:32
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:32
The troopy went as great as one would expect, only one minor problem, the one and only flat tyre at Ruby Gap resulting in a trip back to Alice to get repaired before going on through the Plenty, the cause was a poorly fitted tube with a crease about 400mm long, the tube completely shot. One new tube and another spare tube just in case.
No good leaving the vehicle up on blocks too long so will be looking forward to the next gathering, might have to go a bit further than
St George as
well though.
Russ
Reply By: Willem - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 17:48
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 17:48
G'day Russ
Its almost a shame to put such a new vehicle up on blocks....lol
Glad to hear you had a good trip and it was good to meet you at
Innamincka.
Might see you at the next gathering?
Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:40
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:40
Hi Willem.
Believe me the Troopy won't stay up on blocks for too long. It will definitely be down and out of the shed for, if not before the next gathering.
I might get a chance to see some of the other members in the light of Day!
Russ