New Hilux Tyres
Submitted: Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 11:17
Member - John F (NSW)
Just wanted to report on the new tyres we put on the current model SR5. We wanted A/Ts. It takes 255 x 70 x 15 and had thought to go BFG after various reports on here. Turns out BFG don't make them in a 15 - and this is, or was, in June/July I believe, the biggest selling "car" in Australia! What are they thinking? I believe the SR model has different tyres, so maybe they are catered to.
Went with the Bridgestone D694 and have to report they are a vast improvement over the standard Bridgestones fitted from new. They ride heaps better, are quieter and of course look better! We aren't really into vehicular flagellation so cannot report on how they handle 1000km of razor sharp rocks or 45 degree slopes but imagine on the average dirt track they are ok.
Regards, John.
Reply By: neilbis - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 16:12
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 16:12
i have the D694 on my 'lux and i live in the
pilbara (lots of dirt, mud and sharp rocks) and find them great
mate has the 693's on his patrol and has had a few issues (i think ive seen similar posts)
Follow Up By: Member - John F (NSW) - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 17:20
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 17:20
Neilbis that's good to know. See some highly opinionated posts on here from townies who run 40 psi plus on their overladen vehicles at high speed on rough roads and then blue about tyre damage.
Have you got any advice on pressures? I found 40 good for general sealed roads with the basic standard tyres from new. The wear was even and probably could have got another 5k before getting close to the wear indicators.
Surprised at how much better the ride is with the 694s.
Regards, John.
Reply By: Member - Axle - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 17:43
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 17:43
G/Day John, Next time its pouring rain, i know a little spot at Berkeley Vale that will test their ability to get you thru a mud heap!!......Lol. New concrete drive in there now , What a difference!.
Follow Up By: Member - John F (NSW) - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 18:17
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 18:17
Hey Axle, you're braver than me!! I am the first to acknowledge that my Hilux is not a "real" 4wd like yours, but that backyard was treacherous!
Regards, John.
Reply By: neilbis - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 20:15
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 20:15
my lux is a 99 3L diesel (only 225's). I generally run 35 psi (40 in the rear if canopy is full) on the black top. Off road most trips i pretty much leave them at 30-35. Personally i think especially with the utes unloaded, they are a bit jumpy in the back with over 40 psi.
Been running the 694's for the last 4 yrs. Been to karjini national
park (7 times),
gibb river road (wolfe
creek, bungles,
mitchell plateau),
marble bar,
coral bay and most offroad hideaways up here. Also regulary fish/mud crab across mud flats etc and havent had any real issues . I wouldnt claim they ae the best but are certainly good value and i see no need to try anything else
The mt's up here get "scratched/scored" alot on the sharp rocks. I want them cos they mkae the car look "better" but id reather be sensible
Might i note all bhp work cars either run standard dunlops or the bridgestone 694's. probably something to do with a discount deal or something, but these cars run up and down the access lines (rocky tracks) all day long without issues
Follow Up By: Member - John F (NSW) - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 20:41
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 20:41
Thanks for that Neilbis. Nothing like real experience from locals, much appreciated.
Regards, John.